Posting your rating...
RL Seale 10-Year rum

RL Seale 10-Year

Barbados | Aged

RL Seales 10 Year is a premium rum produced and bottled in Barbados by Foursquare Distillery. It is aged in oak barrels for a minimum of ten years prior to blending.

7.6/10
258 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
4
5
17
75
104
41
11

Rate RL Seale 10-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

258 RL Seale 10-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Aiden from United States with 14 ratings

This is the Jedi among rums. Honest, stoic, stylish, clean and good to a fault. No overaging, no overcharging, no blending with lower quality rums. Refreshing nose, almost no burn, excellent flavor somewhat reminiscent of a good whiskey, just super mellow and smooth all round. As far as I know, they don't add sugar after distillation. I haven't tested this, but this rum is certainly not too sweet. Great on the rocks or straight.

It won't break the bank either, being one of the cheapest high quality aged rums which can be purchased for as little as $22.99 in Georgia. The only downside is that it can be hard to find in certain places.

That said, if you enjoy very sweet rums, say, Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva, then this rum might not be for you.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Mujuru from United States with 80 ratings

So after reading the reviews and getting a better feel for the rum world I popped the cork on this fascinatingly designed bottle wondering what the hoopla around some of the reviews here was. This is an interesting rum...I think that is the best way to describe it. It is very clearly an RL Seale rum, and it has all the hallmarks of his no nonsense, no sugar added style. That said it has a very interesting and complex profile that is just different. The nose is delightful but perhaps a bit muddled together because it first comes across as like an aromatic game of Clue - as in you feel like you should know it but you can't quite place it. It took a couple different whiffs to make out Chocolate, Caramel, Bananas Foster, and Black Currant. Upon first sip those flavors immediately disappear and are replaced by strong notes of Oak, Sour Cherry, Caramel, and a faint smokiness. Once the liquid leaves your mouth, the profile changes yet again leaving a long lasting aftertaste of Bananas fading into Beet sour with a quite a bit of a kick - an odd combination to be sure but it is not unpleasant. Mainly this rum just strikes me as fascinating and neutrally complex. All of the flavors and experiences are fairly intense and some I like (the the faint smokiness fading into Bananas) and others I don't (the intense Sour Cherry and Beet sour notes). When it comes to this style and price I personally prefer Doorly's 12-year to this one but if I were holding a blind tasting I would definitely use this one just to throw everyone for loop. I think all rum ratings mostly come down to aroma, flavor, and aftertaste experiences and while this is for sure a high quality rum, and there is no doubt about that, this rum's precise flavor profile and the intensity of the more earthy notes is not really my cup of tea - or glass of rum as the case may be.

All of that said, this rum is so complex I am still trying to figure it out, so stay tuned because this review might change.

Nose: 8
Palate: 6
Aftertaste: 6
Smoothness: 6
Versatility: 7
Price: 8

Total: 6.8

Small 12195918 1195749710440925 824266838056684870 n

Posted 3 years ago by Cory Wid from United States with 87 ratings

The fact this is $22 blows me away... What a cool bottle too
The whole range of FourSquare rums are premium, no sugar or additives, no bullshit, honest labeling, and honestly good. This one and his Doorly's range are available at Total Wine (they can be hard to find) for ridiculously low prices.
Its Bajan style, and executed very well. I see why they call it the "Single Malt" of rum - Its nutty, fruity, biscuity... It has a lightness to it while maintaining complexity and richness. A little water helps things evolve...
This is a rum for having neat, or in an old-fashioned. Buy it when you can, and enjoy it to your heart's content - Its only $22 a bottle.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Scott from United States with 16 ratings

I don't know if there is a better deal in the wide world of rum...or in liquor. Pure, unadulterated goodness, in a unique bottle.

This is deceivingly light in color, and easy to drink from the first moment, but the layers sneak up on you. Smooth butter and nuttiness, followed by a minor warming. Easy neat, or over ice, or as a mixer. At this price, should be a standard in every cabinet.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by nomad from United States with 131 ratings

I can't believe this is $22! I wish it was available at more places than just Total Wine, as the closest one for me is 500 miles and no shipping to my state; required a three man maneuver to get some! Excellent dry fruity spirit with just the right punch.

Sugar test results- >3

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Marty from United States with 103 ratings

At the time I am reviewing this, the majority of raters give an 8. I go back and forth on this from a 7 to an 8, but as I'm sitting here tonight with a drink of it in my hand, it feels like an 8. Funky bottle add a little diversity to the bar.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by LD from Italy with 34 ratings

I bought an "Olde Brigant" version, but is the same.
Delicate rum, sweet, no tannic, smooth coffee flavour. Highly recommended.

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by Don Tucker from United States with 193 ratings

I found R.L. Seale in DE before we ever visited Foursquare. I really enjoyed sipping this rum. I love Barbados rums and this is one of my favorites.

Small 10zpkh

Posted 26 days ago by Limsn from Poland with 22 ratings

I've read lots of info regarding how Foursquare Distillery is commited to achieve their rum flavor only by art of fermenation, distillation and aging, without involving chemistry lab to mess with the final product and finally I decided to go for RL Seale 10-year old.

I expected some heavy taste to hit my tongue, more than that, I was quite sure I am not yet ready to fully appreciate the work of people from this Barbados distillery - and I could not be more wrong! Pour yourself this 46% ABV magic into the glass and you will witness how wonderfully smooth and complex it is. Pure pleasure for sipping, for such a low price. Moreover, you know what you are buying, as clear statement of age comes on the bottle - this fella will not deceive you with misleading information just to put its hand on your wallet.

Second time I sipped RL Seale along with Zacapa XO - although XO is also definitely worth trying, question appeared in my mind: will I spend so much money for it again, when a true rum, with clear age statement and no additives can be purchased for much smaller price? For me, the answer is NO.

If you are on a stage, when sweetness in rum is your thing (so you enjoy the sugar added), try RL Seale 10 year - for me it was a game changer.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by butWHYistherumgone from United States with 17 ratings

It would take a few bottles of these to convince me that there is a better rum for value anywhere. It could easily be double the price.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Nathan from United Kingdom with 35 ratings

I've read other ratings on various rums and have seen how people say the sweeter rums are good for beginners. As a newby I'd agree as I've found Diplomatico RE and El Dorado 12 very tasty and easy to sip, so when it came to Seale's I wasn't as keen. However, having tried again and giving this more time in the glass, I've discovered extra levels and a very floral bouquet, a sweet perfume that makes me wish I knew how to separate the different aromas..I first rated this at 7 but it's since gone up to 8.5.