Posting your rating...
RL Seale 10-Year rum

RL Seale 10-Year

Barbados | Aged

RL Seales 10 Year is a premium rum produced and bottled in Barbados by Foursquare Distillery. It is aged in oak barrels for a minimum of ten years prior to blending.

7.6/10 (230 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
5
16
67
94
36
8

Rate RL Seale 10-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


230 RL Seale 10-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Alex Birch from United States with 12 ratings

God hints of vanilla, smooth start, and bold finish. This rum has a very dry, yet complex character. I would suggest this for anyone looking for a different type of rum. This is not your molasses Ron Zaya or Ron Zacapa. Dry, bold, smooth, and plentiful flavor.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Cory Wid from United States with 87 ratings

The fact this is $22 blows me away... What a cool bottle too
The whole range of FourSquare rums are premium, no sugar or additives, no bullshit, honest labeling, and honestly good. This one and his Doorly's range are available at Total Wine (they can be hard to find) for ridiculously low prices.
Its Bajan style, and executed very well. I see why they call it the "Single Malt" of rum - Its nutty, fruity, biscuity... It has a lightness to it while maintaining complexity and richness. A little water helps things evolve...
This is a rum for having neat, or in an old-fashioned. Buy it when you can, and enjoy it to your heart's content - Its only $22 a bottle.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Scott from United States with 16 ratings

I don't know if there is a better deal in the wide world of rum...or in liquor. Pure, unadulterated goodness, in a unique bottle.

This is deceivingly light in color, and easy to drink from the first moment, but the layers sneak up on you. Smooth butter and nuttiness, followed by a minor warming. Easy neat, or over ice, or as a mixer. At this price, should be a standard in every cabinet.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by nomad from United States with 125 ratings

I can't believe this is $22! I wish it was available at more places than just Total Wine, as the closest one for me is 500 miles and no shipping to my state; required a three man maneuver to get some! Excellent dry fruity spirit with just the right punch.

Sugar test results- >3

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Marty from United States with 103 ratings

At the time I am reviewing this, the majority of raters give an 8. I go back and forth on this from a 7 to an 8, but as I'm sitting here tonight with a drink of it in my hand, it feels like an 8. Funky bottle add a little diversity to the bar.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by LD from Italy with 34 ratings

I bought an "Olde Brigant" version, but is the same.
Delicate rum, sweet, no tannic, smooth coffee flavour. Highly recommended.

Ffffff

Posted almost 8 years ago by Don Tucker from United States with 194 ratings

I found R.L. Seale in DE before we ever visited Foursquare. I really enjoyed sipping this rum. I love Barbados rums and this is one of my favorites.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by Mujuru from United States with 52 ratings

So after reading the reviews and getting a better feel for the rum world I popped the cork on this fascinatingly designed bottle wondering what the hoopla around some of the reviews here was. This is an interesting rum...I think that is the best way to describe it. It is very clearly an RL Seale rum, and it has all the hallmarks of his no nonsense, no sugar added style. That said it has a very interesting and complex profile that is just different. The nose is delightful but perhaps a bit muddled together because it first comes across as like an aromatic game of Clue - as in you feel like you should know it but you can't quite place it. It took a couple different whiffs to make out Chocolate, Caramel, Bananas Foster, and Black Currant. Upon first sip those flavors immediately disappear and are replaced by strong notes of Oak, Sour Cherry, Caramel, and a faint smokiness. Once the liquid leaves your mouth, the profile changes yet again leaving a long lasting aftertaste of Bananas fading into Beet sour with a quite a bit of a kick - an odd combination to be sure but it is not unpleasant. Mainly this rum just strikes me as fascinating and neutrally complex. All of the flavors and experiences are fairly intense and some I like (the the faint smokiness fading into Bananas) and others I don't (the intense Sour Cherry and Beet sour notes). When it comes to this style and price I personally prefer Doorly's 12-year to this one but if I were holding a blind tasting I would definitely use this one just to throw everyone for loop. I think all rum ratings mostly come down to aroma, flavor, and aftertaste experiences and while this is for sure a high quality rum, and there is no doubt about that, this rum's precise flavor profile and the intensity of the more earthy notes is not really my cup of tea - or glass of rum as the case may be.

All of that said, this rum is so complex I am still trying to figure it out, so stay tuned because this review might change.

Nose: 8
Palate: 6
Aftertaste: 6
Smoothness: 7
Versatility: 7
Price: 9

Total: 7.1

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Nathan from United Kingdom with 35 ratings

I've read other ratings on various rums and have seen how people say the sweeter rums are good for beginners. As a newby I'd agree as I've found Diplomatico RE and El Dorado 12 very tasty and easy to sip, so when it came to Seale's I wasn't as keen. However, having tried again and giving this more time in the glass, I've discovered extra levels and a very floral bouquet, a sweet perfume that makes me wish I knew how to separate the different aromas..I first rated this at 7 but it's since gone up to 8.5.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Johannes from Germany with 62 ratings

A rum that taste like RUM ! If you are looking for a baseline rum to compare other rums to ...choose this one !

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Derek Harris from United States with 31 ratings

This was a spur-of-the-moment purchase when I was at a Total Wine in Delaware. Living in Pennsylvania, my rum selection is fairly limited (though they are getting better), I had never seen nor heard of this brand. Naturally, the bottle design drew me in, and then I saw the 22$ price tag for a 10 year aged rum and figured it was worth a shot. Very good flavors and aroma. On the rocks is where it shines. Let it air out for about 10 minutes and then add ice. Really helps it open up and show its true colors. Excellent choice for the price. I can't think of a better aged rum at the price point.