Posting your rating...
RL Seale 10-Year rum

RL Seales 10 Year is a premium rum produced and bottled in Barbados by Foursquare Distillery. It is aged in oak barrels for a minimum of ten years prior to blending.

Rate RL Seale 10-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


206 RL Seale 10-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 4 years ago by Mark from Canada with 59 ratings

This rum comes in a nice fancy bottle, although I prefer to see the colour of the rum I'm buying. The rum actually has a nice golden colour, and a hint of caramel and smoke in it's smell. The minor caramel and smoke can be tasted as well, although it doesn't last long as the harsh burn kicks in. The way it warms you up, it's kinda more like a scotch than a rum (to me).

Posted about 6 years ago by Steven James from United Kingdom with 33 ratings

Dry, oaky, nutty, fruity. An amazingly good rum.....excellent bottle, excellent liquid. Every collection NEEDS this!

Posted almost 7 years ago by Dai from United Kingdom with 15 ratings

One smooth mother of a rum. Absolutely gorgeous stuff just as good if not better than Mount Gay XO.

Posted 4 months ago by Mujuru from United States with 35 ratings

So after reading the reviews and getting a better feel for the rum world I popped the cork on this fascinatingly designed bottle wondering what the hoopla around some of the reviews here was. This is an interesting rum...I think that is the best way to describe it. It is very clearly an RL Seale rum, and it has all the hallmarks of his no nonsense, no sugar added style. That said it has a very interesting and complex profile that is just different. The nose is delightful but perhaps a bit muddled together because it first comes across as like an aromatic game of Clue - as in you feel like you should know it but you can't quite place it. It took a couple different whiffs to make out Chocolate, Caramel, Bananas Foster, and Black Currant. Upon first sip those flavors immediately disappear and are replaced by strong notes of Oak, Sour Cherry, Caramel, and a faint smokiness. Once the liquid leaves your mouth, the profile changes yet again leaving a long lasting aftertaste of Bananas fading into Beet sour with a quite a bit of a kick - an odd combination to be sure but it is not unpleasant. Mainly this rum just strikes me as fascinating and neutrally complex. All of the flavors and experiences are fairly intense and some I like (the the faint smokiness fading into Bananas) and others I don't (the intense Sour Cherry and Beet sour notes). When it comes to this style and price I personally prefer Doorly's 12-year to this one but if I were holding a blind tasting I would definitely use this one just to throw everyone for loop. I think all rum ratings mostly come down to aroma, flavor, and aftertaste experiences and while this is for sure a high quality rum, and there is no doubt about that, this rum's precise flavor profile and the intensity of the more earthy notes is not really my cup of tea - or glass of rum as the case may be.

All of that said, this rum is so complex I am still trying to figure it out, so stay tuned because this review might change.

Posted over 2 years ago by Ken from United States with 71 ratings

While in my local adult beverage supermarket, I was looking for some new rums to try. I have a champagne taste but have a beer budget. Based on reviews by Rum Ratings fans, I chose Doorly’s and RLS 10-year, which fit my budget. Tried the Doorly’s first, which I really like, and have already rated. But when I took my first sip of RLS I said “now that is nice!” Nice deep, mature taste that boarders on good Scotch. Great for sipping on the rocks. Easily one of my favorites, especially at this price point.

Posted over 2 years ago by boyblueau from Australia with 47 ratings

The bottle actually tells the story. This is a well thought out and perfectly executed rum. On the nose it's very sweet and you think you're going to be drowned by a Plantation style syrup bomb but then you taste it and you start speaking Richard Seale's name quietly under your breath. You build a small shrine to him and buy exclusively four square products from then on. Two more things. If you like them sweet or you are new to rum, try some other things first. Secondly, if you are coming from the Whisky World this will let you in to how rum is so different from whisky but just as good.

Posted almost 3 years ago by ienmdb from United States with 4 ratings

This is probably my favorite sipping rum I've had. Not too sweet and has a moderate alcohol burn (nothing too harsh, like a perfect spicy dish for me). This premium rum also comes at an excellent price ($21 GA) and goes excellent into a Cuba Libre. The only downside was it's exclusive availability at Total Wine and More, at least where I live. If you are not a fan of sweet liquor, this is your rum. Cheers to RL Seale!

Posted about 3 years ago by Alan from United States with 83 ratings

Being such a fan of Foursquare, I thought I would try some of the other rums produced by Foursquare Distilleries. I picked up R.L. Seal 10-year for a great price and poured myself a little taste, neat. After sitting a moment or two, I was surprised how sweet this rum presents on first taste. Knowing that this distillery is known for pure rums, I'm amazed at the perceived sweetness that comes across with no additives. This really is a beautiful expression of pure Barbados rum.

Posted over 3 years ago by Hans-Durstig from United Kingdom with 43 ratings

Wacky bottle, a touch cheesy, but good for a laugh .
In line with other Bajan rums, this is a dry one.
Besides Doorley's, Foursquare does a whole range of specialist rums for local abbeys and plantation houses.
This is their mainstream supermarket issue, which is where you can get it cheaply.
It is a middle of the road blend, but does that extremely well.
Round, pleasant, without the woody/tarry nots of the Doorley XO it has a reasonable aroma of fruit and subtle spices and a moderate burn.
I drank it with a friend in a tropical down pour on a pontoon 50m off shore. Unforgettable.
As it was relatively cheap, I tried it with Coke and it was the best Cuba Libre I have had. The only rum good enough for sipping I would do that with.

Posted over 3 years ago by piratejabez from United States with 314 ratings

At first I thought the bottle was a little gimmicky (well, I still do). It certainly stands out on the shelf. But it's also lovely and ergonomic—one of the most pourable designs out there. So no qualms there!

As for the rum: So much has been said about master distiller Richard Seale, I hardly need to go into it here. (If you're unfamiliar, Google him.) He and Foursquare simply do not make bad rum, nor do they ever adulterate it with additives, obfuscating labels, or slippery marketing. /Everything/ they produce is "the real McCoy."

I think if if I had to limit my bar to just one rum, this would be it. Smooth, balanced sweetness (again, not from added sugar), and complex, it's among the very best sipping rums I've ever tried. IMO this would be the perfect rum introduction for the uninitiated. And at around $25, it's also perfectly serviceable in a wide range of cocktails.

There are better rums out there, but you'll be paying about twice as much for them, and even them you may not know what's actually in the bottle. This is some top-shelf stuff, at a lower-mid-shelf price, which makes for an unbeatable value.

In truth this is probably an 8.5 rum, but I'm rounding up the score based on value and quality. Thank you, Mr. Seale!

Update 11/17 - re-tried. It's very good. Not quite "among the very best sipping rums I've ever tried" any longer, nor as "smooth" as I remember, but still highly recommended.

8+

Posted over 3 years ago by Bob from United States with 72 ratings

Dominant Flavors: vanilla bean, salt water, leather, mild oak,

You get an initial oak and bourbon Barrel flavor that is similar to MGXO and just when you'd expect some kind of sweet finish... nope. That's where it's similarity to MGXO ends. What's interesting is that with the lack of sweetness you might expect a bitter or some kind of off-putting finish, but this rum just sorta smooths itself out. No lingering bitterness or anything that might keep one from continuing to drink it. It has all the good of the dry side of MGXO. Definitely SMOOTH stuff. I like it as a complex dry sipper, but I don't prefer it bc I do enjoy some sweetness. Drinking it side by side with Don Q Gran Añejo, the sweetness in the Puerto Rican rum is fantastic and I never appreciated it more. Overall R L Seale's 10 year is solid unadulterated Bajan rum, but I don't like it as much as his Doorly's 12 yr.
Update: its growing on me and I can begin to taste a tiny bit of sweetness when neat. Before I got this I was drinking Ron Zacapa 23 Solera and Doorly's 12 yr hence my initial review saying too "unsweet". I still say if sweet is what you like then this rum isn't for you, however it's very well made and has nothing bad tasting about it. update: got my second bottle and I've been drinking u sugared rums lately, it's a great natural rum with vanilla and oak flavor that isn't that fruity and isn't very sweet, I would prefer it over a bourbon any day tho and it's a lot like Doorly's 8 year with less bite and maybe less fruit.

Posted over 3 years ago by NutterSipper from United States with 20 ratings

On the nose, raisins and almonds. On the palate, wood, varnish and same raisins and almonds. Pretty strong stuff, seems comparable to Doorly's XO, just the next step up.

Posted over 3 years ago by Blue_Dog_Man from United States with 34 ratings

This rum is excellent! I cannot believe the price point of $20. The aroma is of fruit, oak and nuts. The flavor does not disappoint as all of the flavors nosed come through in a good way. I highly recommend this rum and I am enjoying it by itself and would not mix it.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Adam from United States with 2 ratings

New to the rum game, just recently burnt out of the beer market and expanding my horions. This is the 4th rum I have tried and without the vocabulary or tasting ability of a sommelier, this rum is great quality for what it cost. Probably going to be my go-to daily drinker. Very smooth, great finish, and I don't feel like I just sipped a mouthful of sugar!

Posted almost 4 years ago by Mihai from Romania with 206 ratings

Intersant.. Un pic amarui, spirtos și usor acid. Crd ca in mixuri se primește mai bine decât "on the rocks". Arome de ciocolata neagra persistentă și pe aftertaste.

Posted about 4 years ago by JU04 from France with 45 ratings

Tastes of pepper and caramel without a lot of sugar.
A very good rum to drink !

Posted about 4 years ago by Stabby from Canada with 68 ratings

I purchased this rum solely on the ratings i have seen on this website and was very pleased with it. Nice flavour upfront with nothing taking over. Hints of caramel and oak, with almost a peaty flavour as well. Enjoyed it with ginger ale as well because it is not overly sweet. Well worth the purchase.

Posted over 4 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 424 ratings

This rum is good for the money. It's a little on the dry side for my liking, but has lots of flavors.

Pepper, vanilla, oak, butterscotch, and a little smokiness. A little hot at 43% (I only like 40%+ abv with the best of rums).

A little dry for my liking, but still good.

Posted over 4 years ago by Gary from United States with 33 ratings

I purchased a bottle of this rum after reading the ratings and I was not disappointed. This rum as a very nice taste over ice. I don't get the strange bottle, but the contents are very good.

Posted over 4 years ago by Kieron wood from United Kingdom with 382 ratings

A really decent rum that you can drink any way all evening... Has depths of dark flavour and excellent value for money

Posted over 4 years ago by laurent from France with 40 ratings

Aged "only" 10y. this rum shows complexity, sweetness and is perfectly balanced. Aromas seems to be quite typical from Barbados or at least it compares to the others Barbaos rums I tasted so far. Only the reduction at 43% is a bit disappointing (but remember it is a low-medium priced rum). Thanks to M. Seale this rum is not wasted with sugar and is very affordable : I really enjoy it and will recommand it with no hesitation for any beginers who wants to know what is a true rum.

Avec "seulement" 10 ans ce rhum possède déjà une bonne complexité. Je le trouve très équilibré et assez doux (malgré l'absence de sucre : Merci à vous Monsieur Seale !). J'ai retrouvé pas mal d'arômes similaires aux autres rhums de la Barbade que j'ai testé donc je suppose qu'il est assez typique de cette région. En tout cas j'aime beaucoup et tout ça à un prix très raisonnable. Mon seul regret serait la réduction à 43° qui est un peu tristoune mais à ce prix c'est normal. Un vrai rhum à découvrir quand on débute !

Posted over 4 years ago by Mr.B from United Kingdom with 70 ratings

A no nonsense rum. RL Seale is setting the standard on how to create a delicious rum with no additives, correct age statement and all for a reasonable price, around £30 in the uk.

I love the bottle. Love the rum.

Posted over 4 years ago by Martin Kennedy from Australia with 194 ratings

Im about to see the New Year in with my new friend R.L.Seale. A true , honest well crafted Bajan rum. No added extras etc but not quite a sipper for me. Maybe we all get used to sweeter rums and think there normal ? Me too ! Quite a dry rum with a bit of a bite , no noticeable outstanding flavours but excellent as a quality mixer , worth 7.5 , excellent bottle.

Posted over 4 years ago by YMHC from Netherlands with 160 ratings

Herkomst : Barbados
Producent : Foursquare Distillery
Kleur : Amber
Abv : 43%vol.
Fles : 70cl, vorm van een leren drinkzak, met kurk.
Prijs : ca. €30.

Op dit moment is dit mijn favoriete rum met een uitstekende prijs/kwaliteit verhouding en uitstraling.
Op zeker geen suiker, kleurstoffen en/of ander spul toegevoegd want dat is het motto van de distilleerderij.

Ik proef karamel, eikenhout, anijs, zoethout, rozijn, specerijen en een kleine alcohol burn, mag ook wel voor een drank die begon als "Kill Devil"
Lange nasmaak met een droge finish.

Posted over 4 years ago by Haden from United Kingdom with 9 ratings

Great bottle, nice and smooth on the way down with just a little lick of fire on the throat.