Posting your rating...
Transcontinental Rum Line 2014 Fiji 4-Year rum

Transcontinental Rum Line 2014 Fiji 4-Year

France | Aged

7.2/10 (16 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
1
2
6
3
2

Rate Transcontinental Rum Line 2014 Fiji 4-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


16 Transcontinental Rum Line 2014 Fiji 4-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 17 days ago by Ngordon87 from United States with 40 ratings

This rum was not dark or amber color at all. The smell was very different than other rums. The taste was great. Very different kinda funky. Complex but mellows out. Bot rough burn either.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 month ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 212 ratings

I was searching for a cheap Fiji pot still rum. And I finally found a perfect one.
Already when I opened the bottle, I already knew that a great rum is waiting for me in this bottle.
You immediately get the typical Fiji pot still aromas in your nose. Pickled tomatoes, plastic, melon, some pepper. Exactly what I expect. Great stuff.

The first sip is also not a disappointment. You get exactly the same aromas on your palet that your nose promised you. This rum is quite young and this fact can not be hidden on your palet. But it's fresh and tasty. I would say it's the best 4y Fiji rum that I can imagine.
There is just a small point of criticism. The dilution to 48% is not bad but I think 51-55% would be better. The taste is a little bit thin, the 19y Fiji TRC is much more complex and smoother, but it's also IMHO the worlds best Fiji pot still rum.
Would give this one 83 points.

Because I read so many reviews where was mentioned that this is a high ester rum. Nope, this has notging to do with high ester. It's very shy to be a high ester rum.

Nose: Pickled tomatoes, plastic, white fruits (melon/prune), plants, some pepper, some young wood and vanilla.
Taste initial: watery start, pickled tomatoes, salt, plastic
Middle: pepper, melon, some acacia honey (light and fresh honey)
Finish: spice, pepper, wood, dark fruit
Aftertaste: pepper, melon

Sweetness: 1.5/5
Fruits: 2.5/5
Spice: 3/5
Mildness: 3.5/5
Compexity: 3/5
Expert level: professional
Value: 4.5/5

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by JGiralt from United States with 67 ratings

Not what I was expecting out of a high eater/pot still rum. Very mellow on the pallet. Strong nose. A little thin tasting but still delicious.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by chuck from United States with 25 ratings

Very tasty rum with a complex flavor and slow burn. We enjoy this rum neat and like to break it out on special occasions

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by CSG from United States with 25 ratings

This is my first high ester rum and it’s not like anything I’ve tried before. The funk is very strong, and it also exhibits subtle characteristics of traditional molasses rum, some oak, and some dryer sugar cane style. It was like a party in my mouth with popping complexity, but it went down heavily. Definitely only a shipper, just difficult to have a lot in one sitting, and doesn’t pair well with anything besides itself.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Smovens from United States with 93 ratings

It's hard to get good, ester filled rum from Fiji and this is an excellent example. Oak is present but not dominating, glue, esters, maple, chocolate. Its a great blend between the sweeter notes and the Ester funk

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by laurent from France with 42 ratings

Nose : heavy, "dirty" (remember the glue for children ? with typical benzaldéhyde "almonds" flavour ahah), slighthy acid fruits and zesty. Somewhat reminiscent of big jamaican rums but not a copycat, these Fiji rums seems to have their own character. Behind these typical potstill features there is a more rounded part too which develops slowly. The first 5-10mn are a bit "too much", it deserves to breathe for some time to enjoy the deep aromas. Mouth : same league. Heavy rum, thick texture, slighty acid, more zests. Tons of aromas. Alcohol is well integrated and 48° seems a good choice.
Very good rum if you are into this style but you'll find it a bit harsh if you only know heavily sugared light rons from South America. For well informed audience, I may say.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Alkin from Latvia with 43 ratings

Quite okay, but there is a better in same price range.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Dan-Fix from Sweden with 113 ratings

Taste and smells like an good funky jamaican rum with a plum finish. Supprised is the word.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Joola69 from United States with 2654 ratings

Rum tasting in New York City continued with Transcontinental Rum Line Fiji 2014. Unique bottle and label design. Light golden color. No added sugars at all. Typical Jamaican glue straight to your nose and palate when neat sipped. Might be rotten banana peels, or might be a weird copper still method, but trust me, the nose test is simply nasty. Dry burn and more glue at the end.