Posting your rating...
Bacardi 151 rum

Bacardi 151 rum is one of the most well known overproof rums on the market. 151 tends to be the most common overproof strength because in pot stills this is the natural dillilation proof, but overproof rums in generally can range from 100-170+.

Rate Bacardi 151

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


133 Bacardi 151 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted almost 3 years ago by ChameleonSkin from United States with 18 ratings

Yeah, you've all been there. You know what I'm talking about. This one will remind you of the delicate scent of the bowl of a freshly-scrubbed toilet inside some no-name dive bar in your home town. I don't know how you take a liquor and make it taste even more alcoholic than it already is, so I guess mad props to Bacardi for figuring *that* one out.

In case you're one of the few, the proud, the sheltered who managed to avoid this in your salad days, please do yourself a favor and keep avoiding it. The only reason to get a good 151 rum is for tiki drinks, and this ain't a good 151 rum. These days you can order pretty much any alcohol you want online, so there's no reason to suffer through the pain of ruining your carefully concocted zombie with an amazingly bad overproof float. Do yourself a favor and order a $35-ish bottle of the amazing Hamilton 151 online. It'll get you just as messed up if that's what you're after, and you'll enjoy the process a lot more.

Posted about 6 years ago by Bill Gaylor from United States with 51 ratings

This is the nastiest stuff i have ever had in my mouth. I have siphoned gasoline that had better flavor. If you are making Hurricanes at least find a better over proof rum to use. This stuff should be banned.

Posted over 4 years ago by Peanut from United States with 1 rating

Pretty harsh and not great tasting at all but I felt like I was sent to another dimension after drinking a few shots. Would recommend if you only care about results rather than taste

Posted over 4 years ago by Soweek from Czech Republic with 71 ratings

Bit disapointed with low scores over here. 151 has 75% of alcohol and you have to approach it that way. Of course the taste is strongly alcoholic, but unlike his other competitor Stroh, 151 is very enjoyable to drink and despite high alcohol % it manages to keep rum flavour. Don't drink this unmixed, it was never meant to be.

Posted over 4 years ago by Nicoakr from France with 99 ratings

Horrible stuff, from beginning to end. Nothing to get out of it. I would use it as a chemical cleaner, for nothing else and certainly not for drinking.

Posted about 5 years ago by Cezary from United States with 20 ratings

Very strong, very harsh, very bad. It must be doing more damage than good for the Bacardi portfolio. I would NOT recommend it to my drinking buddies. It's a waste of time.

Posted over 5 years ago by Poppy from United States with 7 ratings

Super hot will burn you right down to yer liver. Not for the faint hearted. Or young drinkers. Will most likely end the night early for them in a dizzy crumpled mass clutching the porcelain seat Don't like never did Seen a bar catch fire with it one time while consuming flaming shots in my younger days.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Bob from United States with 72 ratings

Used for lighting drinks on fire, literally. Can't even mix it cuz it's so harsh. Gave me serious acid issues last time I had it uggghhh. Maybe I'm getting old but I cant handle this crap anymore .

Posted about 3 years ago by Michael Huff from United States with 81 ratings

This rum is for being overproof. Use it for fire fuel or to strengthen unnecessary drinks.

Posted over 3 years ago by Jay Rogers from United States with 10 ratings

OK folks, how can someone really rate this rum for the purpose of comparison with other rums. It has one purpose, "to get your somewhere really quick". I have it, tried it, and will keep it in the cabinet for those moments that I want to relive my college days of spiking a watermelon on game day. To be fair though, it does blend-blend-blend well as a mixer only. Go light on it, or you will be light quickly.

Posted 11 months ago by Engwild from United States with 153 ratings

Might be a bit more than the usual bottle of Bacardi, but a flask of this and you're mixing cocktails under the table because you can't afford drinks at Applebee's let alone something nicer.

Posted 12 months ago by ReclaimedCedar from United States with 10 ratings

When I’m adding a 151 to anything, it’s normally not for the flavor. But, I will say that the Bacardi 151 still maintains a caramel and vanilla tone through the fire and flames. I like it better than Goslings 151, for example, which I feel like forces a more artificial rum flavoring on top of the high proof.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Jardel from United States with 4 ratings

Bad bad rum .....,,..............xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx c

Posted almost 4 years ago by Ackman from United States with 11 ratings

This rum burns and not just because you can set it on fire. Tongue searing heat combined with fusels does not make this a rum you can drink neat. This has to be mixed with something.

Posted about 4 years ago by Russ from United States with 85 ratings

This rum was based on a dare! It tastes like fuel and when used even to float in drinks it just ruins them with its lingering gasoline taste and smell.

Posted over 4 years ago by Clint from United States with 12 ratings

B151 should be a staple of every man's supply. Mixed drinks are always welcomed with this bottle.

Posted over 4 years ago by Joel from United States with 9 ratings

Shoot this on a dare, yes, but not for sipping. I use this in jungle juice instead of Everclear since it's close to the same proof with that additional rum taste. I see this like Malibu. This isn't a rum to be taken seriously, but it will add some dimensions to your gatherings, and mess up everyone. Try cutting up a whole pineapple, add a can of maraschino cherries (and the liquid), a 2L of 7up, a gallon of OJ, a half gallon of Cranberry juice, and a couple bottles of this stuff. Serve chilled in a paint bucket or kiddy pool.

Posted over 4 years ago by venlafax from United States with 1 rating

I bought a bottle of this stuff for a camping party and had the best time ever being drunk. Yeah it tastes like it should be an industrial solvent with a subtle spicy vanilla aftertaste; but it doesn't take much to feel damn good; didn't make me puke my ass off like when I similarly get blasted on other drinks; and no hang over at all. Kinda like tequila, this stuff makes you feel more high and not so much a chilled out buzz. Almost like a psychoactive mescal. It made us kinda manic. We set all sorts of things on fire. But all in all it was the best time drinking I have had. I still had about half of the bottle left and it lasted a week of daily cocktail experiments. I think it blends well with almost anything really, but it will knock your dick into the dirt if you are not careful. So for the super low price, great euphoria with no sickness, and how long it lasted, 151 gets a 10 for me. As long as you respect it, expect a sweet time :)

Posted over 4 years ago by Rrrrrrex from US with 1 rating

Pretty much everyone has consumed this rum.
I remember taking shots of this (then we chased it with tequila) when I was a kid. It has a very warm place in my heart. There was 151 , everclear , and of corse White Lightning. Love even the idea of this stuff!

Posted almost 5 years ago by cK from Canada with 60 ratings

This may be good for stripping paint, but definitely not for drinking. Tried sipping this and nearly threw it up. It would have been better if I did.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Tommy from Australia with 15 ratings

This is the definition of fire water. Great for parties - horrible to your sense of self worth.

Posted almost 5 years ago by MnChuck from United States with 14 ratings

This is the reason that i forgot a lot of things from my college classes. Harsh as hell with a burn like a devil. Pass on this and just drink some gas its cheaper.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Dustin R. Newton from United States with 33 ratings

It sounds exotic, and will get you drunk quicker than regular Bacardi rums, but that's the limit of its abilities.

Posted about 5 years ago by Charles M from United Kingdom with 126 ratings

Can't really see the point of this. Take a very average rum and keep it average. At least if you bottle at 40% you can try and hide how average it is. Will not be featuring in my drinks cupboard - ever. If I did have some, then I might use it as a cleaner for my computer keyboard or something similar. Best to be avoided. Maybe I am biased as I had a really bad evening having had too much of it!

Posted about 6 years ago by Tikihead from United States with 23 ratings

I just poured it down my drain. It achieved a 2 only because it is alcohol. Tasted like lighter fluid. I've had dark 151's that were amazing. This stuff was terrible.