Posting your rating...

7.1/10 (76 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
4
4
13
16
31
7

Rate Rhum JM XO

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

76 Rhum JM XO ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by JackOrion from United States with 61 ratings

Out the door for .49 shy of $70 this bottle sits in a lofty position. Options a plenty around this price point but was extremely pleased with my choice.
It's refined focused and to the point. A recognizable quality is embedded into each sniff and sip and it's hard to put down. Bottled at a generous 45% a little acclamation happens thus so the profiles are numerous. It's the Bees Knees if....
You like oak bourbon and dry!
You may have buyers remorse if you like sweet sugary molasses.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Pirate from Greece with 29 ratings

Searching for something to grab and store for the second quarantine, i thought about trying something different. Noticed this brand being mentioned under "no sugar added"; check! Fatrumpirate rates it 5 stars; check! It being a genuine extra old (french style); check! Result = instabuy. Obviously, i immediately sank in, right now at the very moment that i am typing. The smell is heavy but sensational, even though i cannot describe or decode. The texture is smooth, the burn almost nonexistent, the taste is grassy, reminding me of my herbal tinctures but way better, the aftertaste is like chewing herbs and the lingering grassy sensation was extremely welcome... It's as if you took a sip out of a herbal tea, after some time passes from the moment you gulped. This stuff is lovely, even though expensive. And the total absence of sugar, makes it a great, natural treat!

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Tomy from Romania with 422 ratings

It's a complex rum, great notes, great finish, very persistance, a lot of fruits in my nose.

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by BerodeQuentin from France with 40 ratings

Color : amber
Flavour : toasted nut, lemon & sage, mango, passion fruit, finish of spice like white pepper, cinnamon and nutmeg
Palate : mid-bodied, long lasting, sweet finish

Aged 100% in re-charred Bourbon barrels, it's an elegant rhum that suits any palate. Very nice paired with dark chocolat or exotic fruits

Ffffff

Posted 1 day ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 358 ratings

This one has been sitting on the shelf of a favorite liquor store for about a year. Having been very disappointed with Clement 10 Year for absorbing way too much charred oak flavor, I was hesitant to try any more agricoles aged more than 3 years. Thanks to Stefan Persson's recommendation, I finally took a chance on this one today for only $60 US. I am so glad that I did!

The aroma is very floral, but six years of aging in specially charred barrels has removed all of the grassy taste without adding any charred oak taste. No easy feat. My bottle came in a gift box and it states that they char the barrels by lighting overproof rum inside. Then they scrape the surface char away before placing the rhum inside these barrels. Ah ha! So that is the secret. They go on to say how the sugar cane is grown on volcanic mountain slopes and the pure water that they use comes from the ground. They also give credit to the sea breezes. The cane juice is fermented after only one hour. This is probably the most important step. There is no mention about the yeast that they use, which I assume is their trade secret.

There are some reviews on here that state that it is too woody or tastes like bourbon. This is not even close to these descriptions for my bottle.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by A1Lexo from United States with 9 ratings

I love this rhum, and find it to be a singular experience. A fresh sugarcane note mixed with wood and ash is what I experience here, and it is wonderful, but also pungent and intense. It's an amazing rhum, but not something I'd sip on every day, or keep around as my only option. I like drinking it alongside (alternating) a more traditional style rum. The contrast is always enjoyable. This is a must try, though, and truly special.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Sink from Switzerland with 20 ratings

A solid choice, very different from the JM white (but in a good way). It has subtle and complex flavors and a persistent finish.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Mr.D from Italy with 6 ratings

Harmonious and fragrant, it still retains vigor and fruity scents of sugar cane

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Taster from Switzerland with 114 ratings

Nose: Warm, pleasant, classy. Some hints of spices, wood and caramel
Palate: The first sip was very harsh, got better after the second sip: hints of very old wood, spices, some chili maybe.

Small 067776ec 7856 49b2 8c45 07afe364fe9d

Posted 7 months ago by VikingXO from Denmark with 127 ratings

It has a typical Martinique nose with a strong taste. Good Agricole

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2661 ratings

If you really like Rhum Agricole's, then add 3 to my score. Otherwise, if you enjoy sweet aged rums, the Rhum J.M. XO is super dry, like a desert. The flavor profile is very strong, but unmemorable. There is surprisingly strong burn at the end, and you will only remember the alcohol burn.