Posting your rating...

7.2/10(83 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
4
4
13
17
33
11

Rate Rhum JM XO

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

83 Rhum JM XO ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Rave13 from Italy with 12 ratings

One of my favourite rums. Very spicy but in equilibrium with the fruit tastes.
Meravigioso!

Small 067776ec 7856 49b2 8c45 07afe364fe9d

Posted 8 months ago by VikingXO from Denmark with 147 ratings

It has a typical Martinique nose with a strong taste. Good Agricole

Small 403c5f11 2f48 4dea 8823 9856dfa4a809

Posted almost 3 years ago by Stefan Persson (PREMIUM) from Sweden with 209 ratings

Rhum J.M. XO tastes like many other Agricole but less aggressive, so that’s why I think it’s a good agricole to start with. The flavour are very elegant and you can for example smell citrus, salvia and exotic fruits. In your mouth you will recognise pepper, musqot, cinnamon and a lot of oak.
If you want to test Agricole, try this one!
Picture: My Rhum J.M shelf.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2698 ratings

If you really like Rhum Agricole's, then add 3 to my score. Otherwise, if you enjoy sweet aged rums, the Rhum J.M. XO is super dry, like a desert. The flavor profile is very strong, but unmemorable. There is surprisingly strong burn at the end, and you will only remember the alcohol burn.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Craig from United Kingdom with 35 ratings

Not my usual kind of rum of choice but this was a very pleasant surprise. Anything with a bourbon ageing process usually puts me off but I found this rather subtle which pleased me. Nice flavours of honey and something else maybe sage? One I would try again without hesitation

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 467 ratings

I compared this side by side with the JM VSOP Rhum. Although this is more expensive, I prefer the VSOP. This was stronger at 45% (vs 43% for the VSOP), but the VSOP seemed to have more flavor to it. I enjoy strong rums if they're really good. But I didn't find this to be really good.

Smells and tastes of bourbon, charred oak, pepper, and a little cinnamon. This seemed harsh to me, and lacked a sweet rum flavor (too dry for my liking). Again, at 45%, I found this strong for what it is. Strong rums need to be great (like the 47% Diplomatico Ambassador Rum).

Small profile 1

Posted over 5 years ago by Andy (PREMIUM) from United States with 111 ratings

Great nose but very sour initial agricole hit with almost no spice. Woodsy finish that improves the taste slightly but still not great.

Small 20210117 180423

Posted 1 day ago by Majrad from Czech Republic with 10 ratings

Bought on recommendation from someone on this site, and never regreted it. A tasting pleasure, some oak, less bourbony than MGXO and smoother. Lasts for a nice while. I may be finding my fave here. Thank got this one is stable production, not a rarity. Affordable, too. A nine.

Small 310ba019 0ca0 4200 8756 cbdeaeddc8f5

Posted 7 days ago by Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) from United States with 252 ratings

What a great agricole. Smooth aged and slightly sweet, yet maintaining the nice vegetal base. Easy on the nose and finish. Try it neat. Nice evening sipper, especially if you like agricoles

Small minha orix%c3%a1

Posted 8 days ago by BigChief17 (TASTING CLUB) from United States with 41 ratings

This one deserves a sample. It serves as a great ambassador for Rhum Agricoles.

Nose - Pear, Apple, Honey
Palate - Pepper, Earth, Spice

Mild burn that is slightly prolonged.

Small 20210227 173716

Posted 21 days ago by Mr. Rumantic from Germany with 83 ratings

The JM Rhum Agricole XO from Martinique was produced in column style and was allowed to store in Ex Bourbon barrels for at least 10 years. The Rhum, which has won several gold medals, is bottled with a pleasant 45% alcohol. The Rhum comes in a green bottle which looks classy and valuable overall.

The dark brown rhum is wonderfully spicy in the nose. Grassy fresh, many aromas come to the fore. Lime, vanilla, baking spices, some mint, but also fruit are clearly recognizable. Absolutely fantastic. On the palate, the rhum is never sharp. The alcohol perfectly carries the aromas. Floral notes, bourbon and some burnt caramel harmonize wonderful. The sweetness is subtle but never in the foreground. The rhum is rather spicy. But never bitter. Full-bodied, the aromas remain standing for a very long time and the rhum remains surprisingly long with a clear taste profile in the mouth.

The JM XO is absolutely top class and a great Agricole. It reminds me a lot of the HSE XO, which is even more complex. The 45% is on point and the JM scratches the 10. I can only recomand this rhum. Also very well suited to enter the world of Agricoles.

Der JM Rhum Agricole XO aus Martinique wurde im Column Stil hergestellt und durfte mindestens 10 Jahre in Ex Bourbon Fässern lagern. Der mehrfach mit Gold Medaillen ausgezeichnete Rhum wird mit angenehmen 45% Alkohol abgefüllt. Der Rhum kommt in einer grünen Flasche, welche insgesamt edel und wertig aussieht.

Der dunkel braune Rhum ist in der Nase herrlich würzig. Grasig frisch kommen viele Aromen zur Geltung. Limette, Vanille, Backgewürze, etwas Minze, aber auch Frucht sind deutlich erkennbar. Absolut fantastisch. Am Gaumen ist der Rhum nie scharf. Der Alkohol trägt wunderbar die Aromen. Florale Noten, Bourbon und etwas gebranntes Karamel sind wunderbar am harmonieren. Die Süße ist dezent aber nie im Vordergrund. Der Rhum is eher würzig. Aber nie bitter. Vollmundig bleiben die Aromen sehr lange stehen und der Rhum bleibt überraschend lange mit einem deutlichen Geschmacksprofil im Mund erhalten.

Der JM XO ist absolute Spitzenklasse und ein toller Agricole. Er erinnert mich schon sehr an den HSE XO, welcher aber noch einen ticken komplexer ist. Die 45% sind hier genau richtig und der JM kratz an der 10. Ich kann den Rhum nur empfehlen. Auch sehr gut geeignet um in die Welt des Agricoles einzusteigen.