Posting your rating...
Rhum JM XO rum

Rate Rhum JM XO

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


64 Rhum JM XO ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 3 years ago by Tomy from Romania with 388 ratings

It's a complex rum, great notes, great finish, very persistance, a lot of fruits in my nose.

Posted over 6 years ago by BerodeQuentin from France with 40 ratings

Color : amber
Flavour : toasted nut, lemon & sage, mango, passion fruit, finish of spice like white pepper, cinnamon and nutmeg
Palate : mid-bodied, long lasting, sweet finish

Aged 100% in re-charred Bourbon barrels, it's an elegant rhum that suits any palate. Very nice paired with dark chocolat or exotic fruits

Posted over 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

If you really like Rhum Agricole's, then add 3 to my score. Otherwise, if you enjoy sweet aged rums, the Rhum J.M. XO is super dry, like a desert. The flavor profile is very strong, but unmemorable. There is surprisingly strong burn at the end, and you will only remember the alcohol burn.

Posted over 3 years ago by Craig from United Kingdom with 35 ratings

Not my usual kind of rum of choice but this was a very pleasant surprise. Anything with a bourbon ageing process usually puts me off but I found this rather subtle which pleased me. Nice flavours of honey and something else maybe sage? One I would try again without hesitation

Posted over 3 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 424 ratings

I compared this side by side with the JM VSOP Rhum. Although this is more expensive, I prefer the VSOP. This was stronger at 45% (vs 43% for the VSOP), but the VSOP seemed to have more flavor to it. I enjoy strong rums if they're really good. But I didn't find this to be really good.

Smells and tastes of bourbon, charred oak, pepper, and a little cinnamon. This seemed harsh to me, and lacked a sweet rum flavor (too dry for my liking). Again, at 45%, I found this strong for what it is. Strong rums need to be great (like the 47% Diplomatico Ambassador Rum).

Posted over 4 years ago by Patarum from France with 37 ratings

Taste is still on spices. Alcohol is a bit more melted than the VSOP one (but still present even in the aftertaste). I would expect it a bit less harsh...

Posted almost 5 years ago by Andy from United Kingdom with 136 ratings

Great nose but very sour initial agricole hit with almost no spice. Woodsy finish that improves the taste slightly but still not great.

Posted 21 days ago by srosener from United States with 6 ratings

I get a lot of grass, citrus, apricot from this rum. I wanted to try a rhum agricole to see the variety from the typical distilled molasses based rums. I have come to the conclusion that I am a molasses fan. While I can appreciate the difference now and I'm sure this is an excellent rhum, it is just not for me. It was not cheap ($75, I think), but some lessons are not cheap. Now I know.....

Posted 3 months ago by Alkin from Latvia with 28 ratings

This one is so dry that I can't catch up the notes. Definitely will return to this one once will get more experience rom this segment.

Posted 4 months ago by Michelud972 from Martinique with 4 ratings

JM XO est un rhum qui m'a agressé la bouche ce qui fait que je lui attribut la note de 7,4/10. En revanche, en nez très fruité et en bouche une fois la langue apaisé, une explosion de saveur épicé ! Tres intéressant. A suivre avec le temps et les dégustations

Posted 4 months ago by Surfer_66 from Italy with 4 ratings

Ottimo retrogusto dolce. Sentori di tabacco, affumicato

Posted 10 months ago by Martin Kennedy from Australia with 194 ratings

45% Golden colour in the glass , gentle alcohol smell. Very fruity and flowery aroma's to the nose plus a sandelwood or peppery note ? Sips nicely with white fruits in the mix with a spicey pepper hint.
Enjoyable unsweetened , unflavoured agricole.

Posted 10 months ago by Dan-Fix from Sweden with 113 ratings

I am in the learningprocess to drink agricole. This one is ok with fruity flavours and not to sweet.

Posted 12 months ago by AlexMo from Russian Federation with 129 ratings

Весь такой натуральный, без сахара, упаковка скромная и стильная, аромат лёгкий с пряностями и кожей, вкус сладковатый, маслянистый, терпкий, вишнёвый, и при этом сухой. Не располагает к длительному приёму, видимо из-за крепости 45 и сильного характера, и это мне нравится!

Posted about 1 year ago by Gravy from United Kingdom with 22 ratings

This was reccommended to me by a bloke in Martinique who made the bold claim that it was the favourite of the island. A bold claim, which I accepted with a pinch of salt, given that he was trying to sell me a bottle. I didn't buy one that day, but got one from Amazon a few months later.
Yes, there is a bit of burn, but once you have had a few sips, it is easily forgiven.
It has spices, and a dryness which isn't unpleasant, even for a lover of sweeter rums, like me.
I think I paid about £45 for it and was sorry to see the last drop fall out of the bottle.
If you haven't tried agricole rum (rhum) yet, this is a very good place to start.

Posted about 1 year ago by Jab from Czech Republic with 40 ratings

I am not a great fan of aggricole rhums. This one was not bad though. A little bit too much of alcohol odour even if you let it rest. A little woody taste but not much else. It is a smooth drink though. I will stick with Mount Gay as my preferred XO.

Posted about 1 year ago by Rei from Germany with 98 ratings

Good rhum agricole which has matured for at least 6 years in oak barrels. Nosing reveals nice spicy, flowery and grassy notes. Palate adds notes of oak and this is continued into the finish, which is quite long, firstly fading away with sweet flowery notes which later turn into oak and smoke. Overall this rhum is relatively powerful and has a stronger burn, e.g. compared to the Montebello 10years.

Posted about 1 year ago by Frederick Lussier from Canada with 121 ratings

Nez assez faible. Gout original qui sort des terrains battus. Un petit pineau Charente. Pas trop sur l’alcool

Posted about 1 year ago by Reeb Barbill from Isle of Man with 30 ratings

Delicious aged Agricole. Loads of body so I’d guess it’s been aged a decent amount, caramel and grass and nuts. I really want to give it a 7.5 but I’m not allowed.

Posted about 1 year ago by kasper Svendsen from Denmark with 17 ratings

Intense high alcohol nose, with banana, caramel, woood, nutmeg and vanilla. Powerful smooth pallet. Earthy, nutmeg, pepper, sweet citrus and toffee. A very nice and intense rum.

Posted over 1 year ago by Case from United Kingdom with 14 ratings

Dry agricole with lots of wood. Good, but I fail to find anything memorable about it.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Robert Ferron from United Kingdom with 166 ratings

Rum festival cardiff! Smoky and firy decent aged agricole rhum from martinique

Posted almost 2 years ago by Cuisine from France with 20 ratings

Nous avons eu la chance de le déguster sur place.
Au nez il semble rond et laisse présager de la douceur. On sent la vanille et le caramel.
En bouche, c'est rond et cela tient ses promesses
Pas sucré mais juste ce qu'il faut de douceur.
On sent les fruits cuits
A déguster.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Jerem from France with 1 rating

I love it. This is kind of stuff. Go Go get it now.




#