Posting your rating...
Rhum JM 1999 rum

Rhum JM 1999

Martinique | Aged

8.8/10 (12 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
1
7
2

Rate Rhum JM 1999

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


12 Rhum JM 1999 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by Nouette from France with 12 ratings

I was finally able to visit the distillery in 2009 and this millesime was one of the greatest old rhum that I have tasted

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by inupiko from France with 15 ratings

Fantastic rum finely balanced. Too much rum today look like syrup or liquor. This one shows that it is possible to get a tasty and fabulous elixir without artifice and additives. For purists.

Ffffff

Posted about 4 years ago by gaflick57 from United States with 5 ratings

To date, this has been the finest rum I've experienced. Very sophisticated. Purchased a bottle in NOLA and brought it home. Had been saving and savoring over a few years. New Year's Eve 2014, I had friends over and they polished it off without my realizing they'd done so. Am writing this several years after my last sip, so have forgotten its nuances, but I do recall a wonderful aroma and a very well-balanced, pleasantly warm feel on the tongue that lingered for a while.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Alaska Joe from United States with 34 ratings

I purchased this bottle about a year back and finally decided to check out the contents. A strong and traditional JM bouquet greeted me with a warm golden hued liquid that was just begging to be sampled. I gave the glass 5 minutes or so to breath and took my first sip. I was greeted with a sudden burst of alcohol that quickly melted away leaving hints of white fruit, oak, vanilla,caramel and coffee...... not only delicious but very elegant and interesting. Not a sweet agricole like La Filibuste, but a smooth, mature version of JM, 1845. Very clean finish that hangs on a bit. I’d recommend this Rhum to agricole lovers, it’s on the high end, but a nice show off Rhum that won’t let you down.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 year ago by Antonio666 from Italy with 6 ratings

Powerful on the alcolic side and gentle on mouth. Vanilla, cacao, coconut... but balanced with wooden notes and some light toasted coffee.
Really persistent.

Ffffff

Posted about 2 years ago by Wilfred J Rum from Spain with 10 ratings

Una maravilla de Ron. Potente, con un dulzor moderado pero presente, no es material para novatos. Perfecto para beber a palo seco y disfrutar de lo que un buen Ron puede proporcionar.

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2649 ratings

I managed to get my hands to a Rhum J.M. 1999 Vintage at the same time as the 1994 Vintage, so what a back-to-back test. It is one of the best Rhum Agricole's out there, and an amazing value. This one is quite strong, so you will get the alcohol burn but only very briefly. It is very flavorful, I would call it a true delight. It will be a strong 9 if you are a fan of Rhum Agricole style. Very close to the hard to find Rhum J.M. 1994.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Celia Miner from United States with 30 ratings

Even letting it rest didn't seem to help it relax. Not our favorite.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Craig from United Kingdom with 35 ratings

Not my favorite but definitely in the top 10, only reason and purely my own taste finds it a bit too strong on the afterburn. Lovely flavours though, a cultured rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Peter from Estonia with 92 ratings

It has been a while since I have seen/tasted this one. In my taste it is nearly 10. Nice and balanced flavour. Especially long and balanced "after taste" is probably the main quality I like about his Rum