Posting your rating...
Bumbu XO rum

Bumbu XO

Barbados | Aged

Bumbu Rum XO rum is distilled in Panama before spending 18 years in American white oak bourbon barrels, with a further short finish in Andalusian white oak sherry barrels.

7.1/10
141 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
5
25
57
44
7
1

Rate Bumbu XO

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

141 Bumbu XO ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Rogier from Netherlands with 10 ratings

Nice all day sipping rum. No alcohol sharpness. Very smooth. Sweet, but not too sweet. Hints of banana. Spicey, not very long aftertaste.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by EmfiniGee from United States with 21 ratings

The Bumbu XO is much more balanced on the palate then the original. Great value for around $40 for an XO, would recommend to anyone looking to get into sipping rums.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Cowboy Neal from United States with 26 ratings

Completely different than regular Bumbu; solid sipper for the price

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Kevin from United States with 34 ratings

A lovely deep brown color. Very clean subtle nose. Only the slightest alchol burn at the very end. A very good sipping rum.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2810 ratings

Enjoyed a bottle of Bumbu XO while in Tucson AZ. Blacked out bottle versus clear bottle with Bumbu Original. XO comes from Panama based rums whereas Original is Barbados based. XO is much more dryer and has zero banana flavor which the Original has in spades. XO is mainly aged in ex bourbon barrels but finished up in white oak sherry casks. It's the sherry flavor which is offputting for me. Otherwise the XO coukd earn an 8, but the sherry just simply does not fit this flavor profile. No burn at all, which is quite surprising how dry this rum really is.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 477 ratings

I almost liked the Original Bumbu rum, but for me it had far too much banana, so I only gave that a 3. It was an otherwise great rum. I had hoped this would be more like the Original Bumbu without the banana flavor, but it's not that at all. :-(

This is not nearly as sweet (I have a sweet tooth), and to me it felt a bit harsh for an XO. Has notes of oak, but I'm barely tasting the bourbon and sherry it was aged in. Usually, that's ok, as I'm a rum purist, but this lacks a little in flavors. Not too bad, but not great either.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Markmoz (PREMIUM) from Mozambique with 23 ratings

I like this one .. much likes its younger sibling, nice and smooth and not overly sweet

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by CK from United States with 22 ratings

Having tried this after the regular version, the Bumbu XO was a big improvement but still not impressive. A nice sipping rum but it doesnt have a lot going for it. Mild nose, mild flavor, mild mouthfeel. Mostly unremarkable but a solid rum for the price point. Its worth a try as it may be your kind of rum. It wasn't really for me though.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Rhoffer97 from United States with 38 ratings

I think I expected a bit more but none the less it's a very solid rum. Very smooth, very light on the nose, and not much of a lingering after taste. Certainly something I can work into my rotation very easily

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Rsvec from Austria with 80 ratings

Bettee than the other one but still rather mediocre in taste

Small fcbb36ad e924 4b42 b953 e47961bd17b4

Posted 7 months ago by JasJess from Canada with 2 ratings

I really like the original Bumbu Rum. This one has more of an older experienced taste, and added tobacco flavour possibly. Heavier than original. Which rum and tobacco have probably went hand in hand for years. Good pre supper drink with coke.