Posting your rating...
Bumbu XO rum

Bumbu XO

Barbados | Aged

Bumbu Rum XO rum is distilled in Panama before spending 18 years in American white oak bourbon barrels, with a further short finish in Andalusian white oak sherry barrels.

7.2/10(119 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
4
22
46
38
7
1

Rate Bumbu XO

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

119 Bumbu XO ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by PirateCzochracz from Poland with 2 ratings

Najpierw czujesz alkohol, potem trochę dębu, lekka słodycz, krótki finisz. Do picia mocnoalkoholowy, do drinków jest mało aromatyczny. Drink Cuba Libre jest słaby. Ładna butelka no i to chyba byłoby tyle. Nie wart swojej ceny. Podobny trochę do Botucal Exclusiva Reserva - tak samo krótki finisz i duży alkohol.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by EmfiniGee from United States with 21 ratings

The Bumbu XO is much more balanced on the palate then the original. Great value for around $40 for an XO, would recommend to anyone looking to get into sipping rums.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Cowboy Neal from United States with 17 ratings

Completely different than regular Bumbu; solid sipper for the price

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Kevin from United States with 32 ratings

A lovely deep brown color. Very clean subtle nose. Only the slightest alchol burn at the very end. A very good sipping rum.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2697 ratings

Enjoyed a bottle of Bumbu XO while in Tucson AZ. Blacked out bottle versus clear bottle with Bumbu Original. XO comes from Panama based rums whereas Original is Barbados based. XO is much more dryer and has zero banana flavor which the Original has in spades. XO is mainly aged in ex bourbon barrels but finished up in white oak sherry casks. It's the sherry flavor which is offputting for me. Otherwise the XO coukd earn an 8, but the sherry just simply does not fit this flavor profile. No burn at all, which is quite surprising how dry this rum really is.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 466 ratings

I almost liked the Original Bumbu rum, but for me it had far too much banana, so I only gave that a 3. It was an otherwise great rum. I had hoped this would be more like the Original Bumbu without the banana flavor, but it's not that at all. :-(

This is not nearly as sweet (I have a sweet tooth), and to me it felt a bit harsh for an XO. Has notes of oak, but I'm barely tasting the bourbon and sherry it was aged in. Usually, that's ok, as I'm a rum purist, but this lacks a little in flavors. Not too bad, but not great either.

Small fcbb36ad e924 4b42 b953 e47961bd17b4

Posted 2 months ago by JasJess from Canada with 2 ratings

I really like the original Bumbu Rum. This one has more of an older experienced taste, and added tobacco flavour possibly. Heavier than original. Which rum and tobacco have probably went hand in hand for years. Good pre supper drink with coke.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by O'Neill from Czech Republic with 15 ratings

I was expecting something lighter but this rum is truly strong with harder alcohol aroma. Scent is gentle but after first sip you get proper rum punch. I will not recommend this as a gift, but for rum enthusiast is suitable. I'm not a pro, but it reminds me Matusalem Grand Reserva. And I appreciate stylish pirate looking bottle aswell.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by El Cap from United States with 62 ratings

Something about these bottles always made me think it was foolishness.
I had tried Their regular bottling too and it was ridiculously sweet.
Then one day I saw this one on a great sale, like $9 off per bottle, so I picked it up.
It’s really good! Not great, but good!
Still, not gonna buy it again at the $40+ price point, but will do so if I ever see a good sale again.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Jörgen from Sweden with 28 ratings

Really different than Bumbu original, way more deep, balanced and raw.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by AntonioPatriarca from United States with 7 ratings

I have to admit that I am a sucker for unique packaging and this bottle looks exactly like what you think rum should look like. I tried it on the rocks and then with an ounce or two of coke. I liked it both ways. For a mid-priced rum it was quite nice. I have not tried drinking straight from the bottle yet, but today is Talk Like A Pirate Day, so I may have to try that tonight.