Posting your rating...
Bumbu XO rum

Bumbu XO

Barbados | Aged

7.3/10 (82 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
14
31
26
7
1

Rate Bumbu XO

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


82 Bumbu XO ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by je_farley from United States with 107 ratings

Nothing stand out about this rum, it is nice but does not stand out.

Nose is one dimensional with a touch of bite. On the tongue this is drier without the super sweetness of some rooms which would be nice as a sipper but again, very limited palate with nothing to recommend it as a sipper.

Mixing it was nice but again nothing special. For the price of this rum you would expect more. Liked it but will not carry it forward as several less expensive rums mix better and I do not see this as a sipper or blending.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by EmfiniGee from United States with 21 ratings

The Bumbu XO is much more balanced on the palate then the original. Great value for around $40 for an XO, would recommend to anyone looking to get into sipping rums.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 440 ratings

I almost liked the Original Bumbu rum, but for me it had too much banana, so I only gave that a 3. It was an otherwise great rum. I had hoped this would be more like the Original Bumbu without the banana flavor, but it is not that at all. :-(

This is not nearly as sweet (I have a sweet tooth), and to me it felt a bit harsh for an XO. Has notes of oak, but I'm barely tasting the bourbon and sherry it was aged in. Usually, that's ok, as I'm a rum purist, but this lacks a little in flavors. Not too bad, but not great either.

Ffffff

Posted 4 days ago by Jörgen from Sweden with 28 ratings

Really different than Bumbu original, way more deep, balanced and raw.

Ffffff

Posted 5 days ago by AntonioPatriarca from United States with 5 ratings

I have to admit that I am a sucker for unique packaging and this bottle looks exactly like what you think rum should look like. I tried it on the rocks and then with an ounce or two of coke. I liked it both ways. For a mid-priced rum it was quite nice. I have not tried drinking straight from the bottle yet, but today is Talk Like A Pirate Day, so I may have to try that tonight.

Ffffff

Posted at TikiCat about 1 month ago by NinjaHippo from United States with 18 ratings

Bottle looks like a gimmick but delicious rum inside! OK, I still don't like the presentation, but I really enjoyed Bumbu XO and went through this rather quickly both sipping and mixing into cocktails. You can do a little better but you can also do a lot worse at this price point. I haven't yet tried Bumbu original but I will soon...well done!

Ffffff

Posted about 2 months ago by Guy from Canada with 9 ratings

When I first tried bumbu xo I was a bit disappointed, as I did not find it tasting all that sweet, but as time goes on I find myself warming up to its unique taste...

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Paniolopete from United States with 6 ratings

Definitely not a flavored rum like the original Bumbu, but more of a real, refined, aged rum meant for sipping or use in your special mixed drinks. Quite a bargain, I feel, for such a barrel-aged sipping rum. plenty of fruitiness, though much more subtle and related to the molasses from which it is fermented, than added flavors or spices like the original. Very nicely done! Bottle says a product of Panama, but other sites list this as of Barbadian molasses origin. Distillation was done in Panama.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 194 ratings

Sugar: Estimated at 24 GPL. This is a better rum than the original. The original is more like a liqueur than a rum. This one still has the banana taste and aroma in it but it's in the background. Overall it's a sweet fairly well balanced rum with Banana, oak, a bit of smoke, some caramel and vanilla with a bit of spice. Fairly smooth at first with a bit of a bite on the follow through.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Adrian Adame (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 277 ratings

Jeho sladší bratříček mne zaujal mnohém víc... Tak to bylo kdysi, chutě se změnily a musím uznat, že je lepší než sladký bratříček

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Joola69 from United States with 2649 ratings

Enjoyed a bottle of Bumbu XO while in Tucson AZ. Blacked out bottle versus clear bottle with Bumbu Original. XO comes from Panama based rums whereas Original is Barbados based. XO is much more dryer and has zero banana flavor which the Original has in spades. XO is mainly aged in ex bourbon barrels but finished up in white oak sherry casks. It's the sherry flavor which is offputting for me. Otherwise the XO coukd earn an 8, but the sherry just simply does not fit this flavor profile. No burn at all, which is quite surprising how dry this rum really is.