Posting your rating...
Bumbu XO rum

Bumbu XO

Barbados | Aged

7.3/10 (72 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
12
25
24
6
1

Rate Bumbu XO

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


72 Bumbu XO ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

554d05a611a2a60eb31346344cb7d170.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by EmfiniGee from United States with 21 ratings

The Bumbu XO is much more balanced on the palate then the original. Great value for around $40 for an XO, would recommend to anyone looking to get into sipping rums.

50a39355eb21c5f19721c18d2629fdc5.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 440 ratings

I almost liked the Original Bumbu rum, but for me it had too much banana, so I only gave that a 3. It was an otherwise great rum. I had hoped this would be more like the Original Bumbu without the banana flavor, but it is not that at all. :-(

This is not nearly as sweet (I have a sweet tooth), and to me it felt a bit harsh for an XO. Has notes of oak, but I'm barely tasting the bourbon and sherry it was aged in. Usually, that's ok, as I'm a rum purist, but this lacks a little in flavors. Not too bad, but not great either.

Ac6920a25e6ba6fdffbf34b300b0e04b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 12 days ago by Guy from Canada with 8 ratings

When I first tried bumbu xo I was a bit disappointed, as I did not find it tasting all that sweet, but as time goes on I find myself warming up to its unique taste...

38fdc1cc00a9074ddaebecec187e9a27.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 7 months ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 191 ratings

Sugar: Estimated at 24 GPL. This is a better rum than the original. The original is more like a liqueur than a rum. This one still has the banana taste and aroma in it but it's in the background. Overall it's a sweet fairly well balanced rum with Banana, oak, a bit of smoke, some caramel and vanilla with a bit of spice. Fairly smooth at first with a bit of a bite on the follow through.

0b441dd47f79396ea37500b0253f7198.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 year ago by Adrian Adame (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 233 ratings

Jeho sladší bratříček mne zaujal mnohém víc... Tak to bylo kdysi, chutě se změnily a musím uznat, že je lepší než sladký bratříček

F342a5e5c582d3ca729df9959c199761.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 year ago by Joola69 from United States with 2643 ratings

Enjoyed a bottle of Bumbu XO while in Tucson AZ. Blacked out bottle versus clear bottle with Bumbu Original. XO comes from Panama based rums whereas Original is Barbados based. XO is much more dryer and has zero banana flavor which the Original has in spades. XO is mainly aged in ex bourbon barrels but finished up in white oak sherry casks. It's the sherry flavor which is offputting for me. Otherwise the XO coukd earn an 8, but the sherry just simply does not fit this flavor profile. No burn at all, which is quite surprising how dry this rum really is.

C58ff00b4e333c72a55a9a40561826cf.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Roger Averill from United States with 31 ratings

Not near as sweet as the orginal Bumbu. More tradtional XO. Little alcohol heavy start but fairly smooth finish. Worth a try

6f76e883b453a59c9c3ecf5f3c079d7e.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 5 hours ago by dragon from Slovenia with 18 ratings

Got this one at the pub I am going out to, so I had to give it a try. Decent rum slightly more expensive at the bar overall made a phunny evening with as it is a rum experience. Still recommend.

69b51eaf099eded639186ffe65d123d4.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 4 days ago by Patricebru (PREMIUM) from France with 31 ratings

Really different from the Bumbu, not so sweet, not so spiced, a better rum at all

Aae97fefbb9b1b7092c3ad4f16b4d19f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 17 days ago by Paniolopete from United States with 6 ratings

Definitely not a flavored rum like the original Bumbu, but more of a real, refined, aged rum meant for sipping or use in your special mixed drinks. Quite a bargain, I feel, for such a barrel-aged sipping rum. plenty of fruitiness, though much more subtle and related to the molasses from which it is fermented, than added flavors or spices like the original. Very nicely done! Bottle says a product of Panama, but other sites list this as of Barbadian molasses origin. Distillation was done in Panama.