Posting your rating...
Bumbu XO rum

Rate Bumbu XO

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


58 Bumbu XO ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 1 year ago by EmfiniGee from United States with 21 ratings

The Bumbu XO is much more balanced on the palate then the original. Great value for around $40 for an XO, would recommend to anyone looking to get into sipping rums.

Posted 5 months ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 190 ratings

Sugar: Estimated at 24 GPL. This is a better rum than the original. The original is more like a liqueur than a rum. This one still has the banana taste and aroma in it but it's in the background. Overall it's a sweet fairly well balanced rum with Banana, oak, a bit of smoke, some caramel and vanilla with a bit of spice. Fairly smooth at first with a bit of a bite on the follow through.

Posted 11 months ago by Adrian Adame (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 220 ratings

Jeho sladší bratříček mne zaujal mnohém víc... Tak to bylo kdysi, chutě se změnily a musím uznat, že je lepší než sladký bratříček

Posted about 1 year ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 424 ratings

I almost liked the Original Bumbu rum, but for me it had too much banana, so I only gave that a 3. It was an otherwise great rum. I had hoped this would be more like the Original Bumbu without the banana flavor, but it is not that at all. :-(

This is not nearly as sweet (I have a sweet tooth), and to me it felt a bit harsh for an XO. Has notes of oak, but I'm barely tasting the bourbon and sherry it was aged in. Usually, that's ok, as I'm a rum purist, but this lacks a little in flavors. Not too bad, but not great either.

Posted about 1 year ago by Roger Averill from United States with 31 ratings

Not near as sweet as the orginal Bumbu. More tradtional XO. Little alcohol heavy start but fairly smooth finish. Worth a try

Posted 2 days ago by Raiderfan1 from Canada with 6 ratings

Not as good as the clear bottle... but not something I would shy away from buying...

Posted 8 days ago by Hotvw1 from Canada with 37 ratings

This one surprised me as it was a little oaky and had some slight hints of caramel but not at all have any hint of spices like the other one.

Posted 11 days ago by Jonathan Quintal from Canada with 43 ratings

Far from the original, no heavy sweet banana taste, easy going down, but still a sweet rum

Posted 18 days ago by David from Germany with 74 ratings

If you like premium rum this one will probably more to your liking than the original Bumbu. It's a "real" rum without added sugar. It's worth to note that both rums don't seem to have anything in common beside the brand name: The OG Bumbu is from Barbados and the XO is from Panama. It in deed tastes like a ~10 year old Panamesian rum.

I think it is a bit overpriced for what it is but it is decent.

Posted 21 days ago by JohnyBazooka from Czech Republic with 46 ratings

V chuti karamel, dřevitost dubu, vanilku, trochu pomerančové kůry, a na závěr trochu pepře a kávu.

Posted 25 days ago by LILTHOR from France with 3 ratings

At €55 a bottle there are better options out there. Lacks character, this is neither a sweet rum nor a particularly dry one. Nothing complex or interesting on the palate or nose. A glass of mediocrity hence the 5

Posted 26 days ago by Kfreeze from Canada with 2 ratings

This guy was less sweet than regular bumbu and went down extra smooth. Great rum for a special ish occasion (because you want to drink it more often haha)

Posted 26 days ago by Andrewofcalgary from Canada with 31 ratings

Was expecting more from my first panamanian, but will probably drink it again.

Posted about 1 month ago by miRcea SAVA from Romania with 16 ratings

It is not very spectacular but it's a serious one. Strong, powerful stroke, coffee and smoke aroma at the beginning. Aftertaste is bananas and a little bit peaches.
The aftertaste doesn't last enough.
A good one!

Posted about 1 month ago by George from Canada with 24 ratings

What made this rum stand out for me was the hints of coffee notes and banana. Very easy drinking rum as a sipper or with ice. Would be an insult to this rum to drink with coke. Smooth finish and much better than the regular bumbu

Posted about 2 months ago by Pollux from Canada with 116 ratings

Bon rhum de dégustation, je crois que j'aime mieux l'original.

Posted 2 months ago by Don from Canada with 130 ratings

I was slightly disappointed but this. It has a dark mahogany colour and a nose that reminds me of eldorado 8. The taste is a bit off with a sweet oak burn. IMHO it is overpriced at $70 at the LCBO but my wife brought it a cross the US border and cost her over $100 with duty.

Posted 2 months ago by RumBeerQuests&Mead from United Kingdom with 22 ratings

Smooth with a capital smoo. Toffee, big hint of vanilla, very light alcohol burn

Posted 2 months ago by Denes from Hungary with 12 ratings

Perfect!👌 More rum, less banana than than the original version!

Posted 3 months ago by Hollister from United States with 4 ratings

I love to sip this rum, wonderful nose, great finish.

Posted 3 months ago by Marty from Czech Republic with 65 ratings

Ok. .

Posted 3 months ago by Rogier from Netherlands with 10 ratings

Nice all day sipping rum. No alcohol sharpness. Very smooth. Sweet, but not too sweet. Hints of banana. Spicey, not very long aftertaste.

Posted 3 months ago by Rinushorn (PREMIUM) from France with 60 ratings

Bumbu est basé d’une recette originale créée par des marins du 16ème et 17ème siècles aux Antilles. Il est fabriqué avec des épices indigènes des Caraïbes.
Je le trouve très éthylé mais doit sans doute se rapprocher de ce que les marins buvaient à l'époque !

Posted 4 months ago by CsampoXL from Czech Republic with 5 ratings

Super jemný a pěkná lahev - ideální dárek. Aroma je na delikátní úrovni rozvíjející sladké tóny v pozadí s dřevitými kombinace příjemná ale ten pocit při povalování na jazyku jako bych pil několik různých druhů je znát jednoduše chutný pro začátečníky jako já