Posting your rating...
Bumbu XO rum

Bumbu XO

Barbados | Aged

Bumbu Rum XO rum is distilled in Panama before spending 18 years in American white oak bourbon barrels, with a further short finish in Andalusian white oak sherry barrels.

7.2/10(119 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
4
22
46
38
7
1

Rate Bumbu XO

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

119 Bumbu XO ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Fanny from Belgium with 1 rating

Rhum doux aux arômes sucrés. Note vanille caramel?

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Underdog from United States with 18 ratings

Molasses on the nose. Sweet taste of raisin, vanilla and honey. Light lingering spice on the back of the tongue.
Great sipper.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 390 ratings

Sattes Bernstein im Glas.
In der Nase Karamell, Vanille, Holz aber keine Banane.
Im Gaumen sehr angenehm und ausgewogen, Früchte, Karamell, Holz und Gewürze. Süss aber nicht so süss wie der "kleine" Bumbu.
Im Abgang geschmeidig und mittellang.
Die paar Jahre Reifung mehr hat diesem Rum gutgetan, oder das andere Blending.
G+R F LU19

Rich amber in a glass.
In the nose caramel, vanilla, wood but no banana.
On the palate very pleasant and balanced, fruits, caramel, wood and spices. Sweet but not as sweet as the "little" Bumbu.
In the finish smooth and medium long.
The few years of maturing more has done this rum good, or the other blending.
G+R F LU19

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Andrey from Russian Federation with 5 ratings

Classical Spanish style, must have for all, Aromas of toffee, oak and vanilla, after orange peel, pepper spices with notes of coffee in taste.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Berezin from Czech Republic with 5 ratings

I like its strong flavour, not so sweet. Nice design of bottle also makes it nice.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by rišo from Slovakia with 41 ratings

Výborné popíjanie no od rumu za takú cenu som očakával trochu viac

Ffffff

Posted at Costco Food Court almost 2 years ago by Chet from United States with 193 ratings

Good stuff. Not nearly as sweet as the other Bambu and much more flavorful and full bodied. Great nose smooth in the mouth and excellent finish. Good price point for what u get.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by DonRON from Canada with 11 ratings

Good for mixing but even better on its own on ice.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by David from United States with 1 rating

It was ok. I like the bottle more than anything. Great bar decoration ... decent rum.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 369 ratings

I saw this new addition from Bumbu on the shelves weeks ago. I had to research it first because it's younger sister with the heavy banana flavoring only rated as a 6 by me. That one is from Barbados and is at 75 proof. This one is from Panama and is at 80 proof. This one at first appeared to be dry, but some legs showed up in the snifter later on. It has nowhere near as much added sugar as it's younger sister, Bumbu Original. There is no burn at all, from the aroma in the beginning to the after taste. At being aged up to 18 years in charred bourbon barrels, one would expect a heavy woody taste. Not so in this case, and I suspect the final aging in Andalusian sherry casks has something to do with smoothing out the oak flavors. This is a very good sipping rum, but it's just that I don't much care for sherry in my rum. The sherry flavor is not overpowering like the Papa's Pilars and Abuelos, but is more subdued like the Brugal 1888. It almost deserves a rating of 8 from me.

For some reason, this one just refuses to get properly placed in my rum cabinet. It certainly does not belong pictured up there with my very best.