Posting your rating...
Rhum JM VSOP rum

Rhum JM VSOP

Martinique | Aged

6.6/10(67 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
5
19
25
15

Rate Rhum JM VSOP

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

67 Rhum JM VSOP ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Ed from United States with 20 ratings

Very different than most rums. Lighter and drier. You can taste the wood it was aged with. Also flavors of grass and nutmeg before turning quite spicy and actually just a bit too harsh, for me anyway. Still a solid sipping rum.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by "Samuel Brunello" from United States with 78 ratings

The pallete doesn't fit in with the aromas or finish, otherwise this would be really nice! On the nose you get cherry cola, with vanilla coming out more as it airs. In the mouth however, it's just wood and grass, with a slightly hot and oily feel. I don't really know how the aromas and taste can differ so drastically, but they clearly find a way! Then on the finish, there are creamy notes of vanilla, marshmallow and raisin. Should I find myself in the mood for agricole, I would happily turn to this bottle. It's just that with so many more frankly more enjoyable non-ag rums out there, I don't see myself ever pining for agricole, which really makes the previous statement moot.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Antonio from Italy with 8 ratings

In Italian and English.

Rum agricolo, invecchiato per 3 anni in botti di rovere ricarbonizzate, che contenevano Bourbone, per poi fare una finitura in barrique nuove di rovere americano. È un buon distillato, garantito anche dalla AOC (Appellation d'origine contrôlée) Martinique, non molto complesso, ma che dovrebbe costare forse un po' meno.

All'olfatto: abbastanza intenso con prevalenti note agrumate ed erbacee tipiche dei Rum agricoli; subito dopo, facendo svampare un po' l'alcool, si avvertono note più morbide di chiodi di garofano e leggera vaniglia.

Al gusto: chiaramente prevalgono da subito le note erbacee ed amarognole tipiche degli agricoli, subito smorzate da una nota più morbida ma leggera di cocco, vaniglia e di legno. Il finale è medio e la bocca resta pulita.

Rum con una complessità media ma di buona fattura, adatto a chi si vuole avvicinare ai Rum agricoli, che per esprimere il massimo delle loro qualità dovrebbero avere un invecchiamento che va dai 3 ai 7 anni al massimo.

Consiglio per tutti: quando annusate un rum (o qualsiasi distillato), prima di inserire il naso e inspirare, effettuate un leggero soffio nel bicchiere e subito dopo provate a sentire i profumi. Questa operazione serve a svampare un po' la potenza dell'alcool che altrimenti vi porterebbe a bruciare nel naso e ad anestetizzare il vostro olfatto.

Provate a berlo prima da solo, poi dopo aver mangiato del cioccolato fondente (dal 70 all'85% max), ed infine dopo aver mangiato una mezza fetta di arancia fresca (compresa buccia è importante) con dello zucchero di canna sopra. ;-)

------------------------------------------------

Agricultural rum, aged for 3 years in reclaimed oak barrels, which contained Bourbone, and then finished in new American oak barrels. It is a good distillate, also guaranteed by the AOC (Appellation d'origine contrôlée) Martinique, not very complex, but that should probably cost a little less.

On the nose: quite intense with prevalent citrus and herbaceous notes typical of the agricultural Rum; immediately afterwards, causing the alcohol to flare a little, there are softer notes of cloves and light vanilla.

On the palate: the herbaceous and bitter notes typical of the agricultural produce immediately prevail, immediately dampened by a softer but light note of coconut, vanilla and wood. The finish is medium and the mouth remains clean.

Rum with a medium complexity but well-made, suitable for those who want to approach the agricultural Rum, which to express the maximum of their quality should have an aging ranging from 3 to 7 years at most.

Advice for everyone: when you smell a rum (or any distillate), before inserting the nose and inhaling, make a slight puff in the glass and immediately afterwards try to smell the perfumes. This operation serves to arouse a bit 'the power of alcohol that otherwise would lead you to burn in the nose and to anesthetize your sense of smell.

Try to drink it first alone, then after eating dark chocolate (70 to 85% max), and finally after eating a half slice of fresh orange (including peel is important) with some brown sugar on top. ;-)

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by piratejabez from United States with 325 ratings

This 43% dram is very gentle on the nose. Maple, candy, cherry, hint of solvent. Mouth - I like it! Rather woody, smooth, and complex. I could just sip this one all night.

This is among my very favorite aged agricoles.

8-, 8

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Golfm from Denmark with 154 ratings

It was not my type of rum. But maybe for other it can be.....

Small img 5797

Posted over 3 years ago by filovo from Czech Republic with 190 ratings

Velmi silný a hrubý rum. Není vůbec mým šálkem kávy. Proto bohužel hodnotím takto subjektivně. Silná alkoholová chuť.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2698 ratings

Pepper overload is what you get from the Rhum J.M. VSOP. It is super dry, like a cognac, but the pepper smell and taste will hit you straight in the face. If you like Rhum Agricole, add 3 points to the score. If you like sweeter rums, go for at least 50 better rums than this one!

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by AlexMo from Russian Federation with 155 ratings

The smell of grass, fresh barrel and varnish.
A lot of bitterness. Nothing remarkable, except for a strong barrel.
It reminds a cognac. I spent a lot of money on this, do not repeat for me if you are looking for a good rum.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Francois from France with 105 ratings

After trying the gold version, I was actually hoping for much more from the VSOP.
It started great though, nice dark color, and very very nice sugar cane smell with some notes of Banana (which I think). But then tasting was a complete other story.
The alcohol is quite strong and the burn too present, so you don't really taste the aromas.
Great start but a disappointed end.

Small img 20201222 145124

Posted almost 4 years ago by Loldelagohelle from France with 177 ratings

Ce rhum est superbe a 22e a la distillerie il est le plus sucre et dur la canne.tres doux beaucoup moins complexe et moins sec que le xo il a pour un 4 ans beaucoup de qualites.si vs aimez les rhums jm et les sucres celui ci est pour vous....note 8.0.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by jimbo_bear from Aruba with 20 ratings

I dont really know what to make of this. I had the opportunity to taste the VSOP and wasn't sure what to make of it. It's has strong afterburn and is a little spice (i quess it's the pepper notes). I was my first agricole rhum, but I didn't have the feeling that I was drinking rum, maybe it's because I'm more used to sweeter rums. I did buy the XO so there will be a 2nd try at agricole rhum.