Posting your rating...
Rhum JM VSOP rum

Rhum JM VSOP

Martinique | Aged

6.6/10(67 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
5
19
25
15

Rate Rhum JM VSOP

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

67 Rhum JM VSOP ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Ed from United States with 20 ratings

Very different than most rums. Lighter and drier. You can taste the wood it was aged with. Also flavors of grass and nutmeg before turning quite spicy and actually just a bit too harsh, for me anyway. Still a solid sipping rum.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by ElPato from Norway with 27 ratings

The nose reveals just barely notes of grass, cane juice and caramelised fruit amongst a quite strong presence of oak that is diversified with some clove and ginger.

The palate leaves you wondering for just the split of a second wether it is a Calvados or a cognac brut, but then the unmistakable grassy, sweet cane juice aroma comes through. Quite long aftertaste of spice and oak with hints of caramelised apple.

It is absolutely a decent and “correct” VSOP, but aged agricoles are expensive and this is not for entry level candidates. A friend of mine with a quite well trained palate but little experience with rhum agricole was bewildered as to what he was drinking. If you want to sip an agricole I would try some XO or rare vintages. Or try to make an old fashioned with this one a couple of times, perhaps also a knickerbocker or something, before revisiting it straight.

Ffffff

Posted at The Kon-Tiki almost 2 years ago by Alan from United States with 87 ratings

As others have noted, there is a distinct peppery note in this agricole, and the oak is very upfront. Behind that lies the grassiness of a traditional agricole. Not as balanced as I was expecting, but I certainly wouldn't turn down a 'ti punch vieux made with this juice.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Bart from Belgium with 48 ratings

First time I drink a rhum agricole without this distinct flavour of grass. Quite good, touches of caramel, nuts, woody, really, not bad at all

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 369 ratings

Here we go again with yet another Martiniquan rhum agricole that the cane juice too easily picks up on the wooden flavors. Since this one is a fairly young VSOP, it has less of the wood than the 10 Year Clement that I just rated. This one is also way over priced at $58 and I found it at the next liquor store for a whopping $15 cheaper. Even if I had got the cheaper priced one, this rhum is still not a good buy. It almost reminds me of Ezra Brooks 101, which is a dirt cheap Kentucky bourbon. Stick with the cheaper J M Rhums for your first try. In the end, this rhum is nothing more than an expensive mixer.

Small download

Posted over 2 years ago by 5xo (PREMIUM) from Slovakia with 264 ratings

This particular agricole was salty during nosing, then grass and compost and after careful extraction also cognac barrels.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Jerome from France with 22 ratings

Très sucré pour du agricole mais pas si facile à boire à cause de l alcool beaucoup trop agressif pour moi.
Je le trouve plutôt caramélisé

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Robert Ferron from United Kingdom with 166 ratings

Rum festival cardiff! Decent agricole fresh and tasty. 4 year old

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Michael from United States with 12 ratings

Rhum JM VSOP Agricole
Quick review:

For those who don't know.. R'h'um as opposed to 'R'um, is made using raw sugar cain juice squeezed directly from the freshly cropped plant. Rum on the other hand is made using the molasses extracted from the sugar cain. This makes for a much dryer, Earthier taste.
On the nose- a little funky with grass and dried fruit.

First sip- sooo different than other agricoles I've tried. Spicier than others. Sweet but dry with citrus and pepper. Earthy tones but not overwhelming. Very, very well balanced and nice smooth tingle on the finish. I've read other reviews saying this was harsh and tasted like pure alcohol but I think they're crazy. This is so delicious that im mad at myself for not having this in my bar all along. If you see it. Get it. Thank me later.
Na Zdrowie! 🥃🤙😁

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by TomasM from Czech Republic with 67 ratings

Nice and classic agricole with pleasant aftertaste.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Frederick Lussier from Canada with 124 ratings

Rien de particulier. Rhum correct sans plus. Peu complexe