Posting your rating...
Rhum JM VSOP rum

Rhum JM VSOP

Martinique | Aged

6.6/10 (66 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
5
18
25
15

Rate Rhum JM VSOP

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


66 Rhum JM VSOP ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Piet from Belgium with 12 ratings

The first flavour is the powerfull of alcohol. in a second time, we discover the candied agrums, cherry & vanilla. A good rhum after a big meals in family.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by IBO from Slovakia with 127 ratings

Veľmi dobrý JM typu agricole. Hrana s konskom,či brandy. Napriek tomu nasladla chuť s príjemným ošetrením dojazdom. Jeden z naj Agricole rumov čo som pil.

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by Rumba from United States with 11 ratings

Grassy, sweet, with slight smokiness. Enjoyable and distinct Rhum Agricole.

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by jfmurcia from Colombia with 60 ratings

This is my first agricole and I found it really interesting. Very different flavors than other rums, I liked that earthy and grassy tastes that are unique from these type of rums. Also liked the smoked and pepper flavors. Definitely worth trying.

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by 69nl43 from France with 14 ratings

Ya quelque chose de particulier dans ce vsop aoc.
Une patte de la maison JM. On y revient avec plaisir malgré le goût surprenant. Bonne cam pour moins de 40.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Martin Kennedy from Australia with 208 ratings

43 % abv. Nice amber colour in the glass , on the nose , slight honey sweetness , bits of white fruits and a peppery spice note.
Tastes of smokey grass / earthy flavours.. not that pleasant.. very dry , no notable sweetness , could do with more fruit notes. A young rhum as there's quite a burn in the mouth. Long exit but then the worst part of the whole experience.. I feel like I've been chewing wet grass in a damp cellar... !

Ffffff

Posted at Hale Pele over 1 year ago by Engwild from United States with 153 ratings

For a very old is cheap and it taste like it, it's pretty hot and rough.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by eddieo from United States with 95 ratings

A problem I often face with aged agricoles is that they lose a lot of that grassiness and delicious vegetal profile after barreling, and they tend to mellow out just too much for me. This VSOP from Rhum J.M does that just so, and as much as I like their blanc, this just doesn't excite me the same way.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by ElPato from Norway with 27 ratings

The nose reveals just barely notes of grass, cane juice and caramelised fruit amongst a quite strong presence of oak that is diversified with some clove and ginger.

The palate leaves you wondering for just the split of a second wether it is a Calvados or a cognac brut, but then the unmistakable grassy, sweet cane juice aroma comes through. Quite long aftertaste of spice and oak with hints of caramelised apple.

It is absolutely a decent and “correct” VSOP, but aged agricoles are expensive and this is not for entry level candidates. A friend of mine with a quite well trained palate but little experience with rhum agricole was bewildered as to what he was drinking. If you want to sip an agricole I would try some XO or rare vintages. Or try to make an old fashioned with this one a couple of times, perhaps also a knickerbocker or something, before revisiting it straight.

Ffffff

Posted at The Kon-Tiki over 1 year ago by Alan from United States with 83 ratings

As others have noted, there is a distinct peppery note in this agricole, and the oak is very upfront. Behind that lies the grassiness of a traditional agricole. Not as balanced as I was expecting, but I certainly wouldn't turn down a 'ti punch vieux made with this juice.

Small 403c5f11 2f48 4dea 8823 9856dfa4a809

Posted over 1 year ago by Stefan Persson (PREMIUM) from Sweden with 164 ratings

Time for Birka’s rumcruise 2019 at the Baltic Sea. This one was included at Ian Burrell’s “Blindtaste” Master class. It was quite easy to get it right, cause it was the only Agricole included. I think it’s quite alike the XO but with a little less of everything. So it’s maybe an even better Agricole to start with if you want to start a tour in the Agricole world.
Picture: The rums included at the blindtest.