Posting your rating...
Rhum JM VSOP rum

Rhum JM VSOP

Martinique | Aged

6.6/10 (66 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
5
18
25
15

Rate Rhum JM VSOP

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


66 Rhum JM VSOP ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Frederick Lussier from Canada with 123 ratings

Rien de particulier. Rhum correct sans plus. Peu complexe

Small 8730f4af a452 4df6 a335 caa05c11cd49

Posted 3 months ago by rennerg from United States with 23 ratings

I wouldn’t buy it again but it wasn’t the worst I’ve had. Somewhat personality free. Just tastes like alcohol, I’m having trouble being any mire descriptive than that.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by pgrace (PREMIUM) from United States with 32 ratings

Alot of history with this Rhum. Classic look to the bottle. The VSOP does not disappoint. A grassy cinnamon and clove flavor with a beautiful finish ..
Great for traditional tiki recipes or to sip if you like agricole.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Mark Ogilvie from United States with 16 ratings

What an interesting drink.

The nose of this rum just has a lot going on, and I feel like I get a different collection of smells every time I go for a sniff here. Butterscotch, solvent, vanilla, maybe a bit of cherry, some smoke, maybe cooked apricot or plum, touches of baking spice, it's complicated here. Maybe a bit too much alcohol on the nose, even after letting it breathe a bit.

Immediately on the palate I get toasty warmth, a bit of burn, but not an unpleasant amount, and a really mild, almost imperceptible toffee sweetness that runs right into, like, a banana ester flavor, which itself melts gradually into savory roasting herbs and spices. Toasted clove or allspice, maybe some cinnamon. Imagine a holiday roast. Really quite savory, almost becoming meaty, cut by that alcohol, all with a constant undercurrent of toasty, buttery, peppery, slightly grassy woody-ness. The finish is kind of short and subtle, but, surprisingly, quite fruity! I get almost a nectarine finish. Some kind of stone fruit, for sure.

It's quite dry, overall, and most of the little sweetness there is in the drink runs out pretty early on as its flavors develop.

There's a lot going on, throughout the whole thing. Ultimately, I don't know if its one of my favorite rums, but exploring it has been a really satisfying, and occupying, experience. I really want to rate this a '9,' but there's just something strange about that turn into those roasting spice flavors that doesn't feel as coherent as I'd like.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Davetitus from United States with 8 ratings

Received this as a gift. Very smooth very nice would be happy to have it again

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by mc from United States with 50 ratings

Always nice to have a rum from a unique destination like Martinique. Unfortunately harsh and sharp. Better than others, but unfortunately far from acceptable. Very whiskey like.

Small 68a9712a 14dc 4f35 a9d6 c1ee29fb5d24

Posted 6 months ago by Rogo-zin from United States with 22 ratings

This rum was not what I was expecting. It has a classic rum nose, but the taste is something totally different. It’s bold, but not in a good way. It’s smoky, but not not in a good way. It burns, but not in a good way. I did not like it.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by RHUM FACTORY from France with 32 ratings

Nez : équilibré, jolies notes boisées et vanillées, cela évoque quelques notes pâtissières au café notamment. On retrouve l'odeur du tabac à pipe frais. C'est gourmand et prometteur.

Bouche: le boisé prend le dessus avec le tabac, les notes fruités sont franchement en retrait.

La finale est persistante, puissante avant de s'estomper sur cette agréable note de tabac.
Origine Martinique, AOC.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Therealdk from United States with 5 ratings

At 86 proof it comes on a bit hotter than you would expect. To me it tastes more like a whiskey than a rum. Enjoyable neat, and a couple drops of water don’t hurt.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by LegallySmelf from United States with 28 ratings

This has really rounded out my collection of rums. Without being overpowering, it has a distinctive flavor that shines through a drink. I've got to spend more time sipping it because it's subtle smokiness is different than any other rum I've got on my shelf. It's my top-shelf Mai Tai rum and goddamn a drink made with this is unforgettable.

edit: I find upon completing the bottle that it was agreeable performing centerstage in Ti Punch as well and I am likely to buy another bottle, albeit, may try a few rival brands of aged agricole before returning to this.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Mujuru from United States with 53 ratings

So this was an interesting and different experience as this was my first decent experience with a true Agricole rum (my experience with Barbancourt 8 Year was not pleasant). Going in armed with knowing a bit more about what to expect I found this rum to be interesting. It isn’t going to pull me away from Spanish and Bajan rums but it was a good experience. The nose is Lemons and light caramel and vanilla notes. It gives a sense of refreshment rather than warmth. The palate is oak, lemonade and some spice combination that is difficult to describe...maybe anise (?) . What I did find remarkable was the aftertaste because it wasn’t as much as an aftertaste as it was a lasting experience between the throat and nose which left a distinguished aroma or memory of fresh cut grass in the springtime. That was both unexpected and the best part of this rum. It is not as much a taste as it is an experience of the senses. Interesting.

Nose: 7
Palate: 7
Aftertaste: 8
Smoothness: 6
Versatility: 8
Price: 7

Total: 7.1