Posting your rating...
Rhum JM VSOP rum

Rhum JM VSOP

Martinique | Aged

6.6/10 (62 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
5
17
25
12

Rate Rhum JM VSOP

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


62 Rhum JM VSOP ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

50a39355eb21c5f19721c18d2629fdc5.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 440 ratings

This is a very unique and interesting rum that is unlike any I've tried before.

Smells and tastes of charred oak and spice (pepper, clove, and cinnamon). Maybe a hint of black cherry. Has a nice bite at 43%abv and would pair well with a cigar.

It seems like a pretty good spirit, but I prefer a little more sweetness. This is dry, almost bourbon like.

A decent tasting rum for sure for people who prefer a bit less sweetness in their rum.

2742a5fa383f6db3c69fd6fc75bce4b7.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 12 months ago by Martin Kennedy from Australia with 198 ratings

43 % abv. Nice amber colour in the glass , on the nose , slight honey sweetness , bits of white fruits and a peppery spice note.
Tastes of smokey grass / earthy flavours.. not that pleasant.. very dry , no notable sweetness , could do with more fruit notes. A young rhum as there's quite a burn in the mouth. Long exit but then the worst part of the whole experience.. I feel like I've been chewing wet grass in a damp cellar... !

Baf73d02967442688b390be66cdfb885.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted at Hale Pele about 1 year ago by Engwild from United States with 153 ratings

For a very old is cheap and it taste like it, it's pretty hot and rough.

D04d022698db53c0fbd6e82c593ca574.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 year ago by eddieo from United States with 92 ratings

A problem I often face with aged agricoles is that they lose a lot of that grassiness and delicious vegetal profile after barreling, and they tend to mellow out just too much for me. This VSOP from Rhum J.M does that just so, and as much as I like their blanc, this just doesn't excite me the same way.

51afa0200fb9cdd4be91809bc306b16c.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by ElPato from Norway with 26 ratings

The nose reveals just barely notes of grass, cane juice and caramelised fruit amongst a quite strong presence of oak that is diversified with some clove and ginger.

The palate leaves you wondering for just the split of a second wether it is a Calvados or a cognac brut, but then the unmistakable grassy, sweet cane juice aroma comes through. Quite long aftertaste of spice and oak with hints of caramelised apple.

It is absolutely a decent and “correct” VSOP, but aged agricoles are expensive and this is not for entry level candidates. A friend of mine with a quite well trained palate but little experience with rhum agricole was bewildered as to what he was drinking. If you want to sip an agricole I would try some XO or rare vintages. Or try to make an old fashioned with this one a couple of times, perhaps also a knickerbocker or something, before revisiting it straight.

019476c071fd9a9e14faec5003bbcec3.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted at The Kon-Tiki over 1 year ago by Alan from United States with 83 ratings

As others have noted, there is a distinct peppery note in this agricole, and the oak is very upfront. Behind that lies the grassiness of a traditional agricole. Not as balanced as I was expecting, but I certainly wouldn't turn down a 'ti punch vieux made with this juice.

0de57ac21f333116cebc3485bb67d97a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Stefan Persson (PREMIUM) from Sweden with 152 ratings

Time for Birka’s rumcruise 2019 at the Baltic Sea. This one was included at Ian Burrell’s “Blindtaste” Master class. It was quite easy to get it right, cause it was the only Agricole included. I think it’s quite alike the XO but with a little less of everything. So it’s maybe an even better Agricole to start with if you want to start a tour in the Agricole world.
Picture: The rums included at the blindtest.

Ff061c497245f19910ea0718e4ffa331.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Bart from Belgium with 48 ratings

First time I drink a rhum agricole without this distinct flavour of grass. Quite good, touches of caramel, nuts, woody, really, not bad at all

61ed3a196a5a4359a40670104e6148e1.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 326 ratings

Here we go again with yet another Martiniquan rhum agricole that the cane juice too easily picks up on the wooden flavors. Since this one is a fairly young VSOP, it has less of the wood than the 10 Year Clement that I just rated. This one is also way over priced at $58 and I found it at the next liquor store for a whopping $15 cheaper. Even if I had got the cheaper priced one, this rhum is still not a good buy. It almost reminds me of Ezra Brooks 101, which is a dirt cheap Kentucky bourbon. Stick with the cheaper J M Rhums for your first try. In the end, this rhum is nothing more than an expensive mixer.

E4762d45f65efc647bc8007fae0fdb9b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by 5xo from Slovakia with 256 ratings

This particular agricole was salty during nosing, then grass and compost and after careful extraction also cognac barrels.

71882482fc34068917681555c2c0a781.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by Jerome from France with 22 ratings

Très sucré pour du agricole mais pas si facile à boire à cause de l alcool beaucoup trop agressif pour moi.
Je le trouve plutôt caramélisé