Posting your rating...
Rhum JM VSOP rum

Rhum JM VSOP

Martinique | Aged

6.6/10 (62 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
5
17
25
12

Rate Rhum JM VSOP

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


62 Rhum JM VSOP ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

50a39355eb21c5f19721c18d2629fdc5.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 440 ratings

This is a very unique and interesting rum that is unlike any I've tried before.

Smells and tastes of charred oak and spice (pepper, clove, and cinnamon). Maybe a hint of black cherry. Has a nice bite at 43%abv and would pair well with a cigar.

It seems like a pretty good spirit, but I prefer a little more sweetness. This is dry, almost bourbon like.

A decent tasting rum for sure for people who prefer a bit less sweetness in their rum.

444db4e829fa650e01afab86587049b2.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 2 months ago by mc from United States with 41 ratings

Always nice to have a rum from a unique destination like Martinique. Unfortunately harsh and sharp. Better than others, but unfortunately far from acceptable. Very whiskey like.

C36065b815970fe3cb3f13719b27cdcb.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 3 months ago by Rogo-zin from United States with 15 ratings

This rum was not what I was expecting. It has a classic rum nose, but the taste is something totally different. It’s bold, but not in a good way. It’s smoky, but not not in a good way. It burns, but not in a good way. I did not like it.

06e13be983778e8fcdf766e9dc404d0e.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 4 months ago by RHUM FACTORY from France with 32 ratings

Nez : équilibré, jolies notes boisées et vanillées, cela évoque quelques notes pâtissières au café notamment. On retrouve l'odeur du tabac à pipe frais. C'est gourmand et prometteur.

Bouche: le boisé prend le dessus avec le tabac, les notes fruités sont franchement en retrait.

La finale est persistante, puissante avant de s'estomper sur cette agréable note de tabac.
Origine Martinique, AOC.

098c7827d72c72a9276be6f3ced82436.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 4 months ago by Therealdk from United States with 5 ratings

At 86 proof it comes on a bit hotter than you would expect. To me it tastes more like a whiskey than a rum. Enjoyable neat, and a couple drops of water don’t hurt.

43d9ff7e21c42aacbda755d03e4a263d.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 5 months ago by LegallySmelf from United States with 23 ratings

This has really rounded out my collection of rums. Without being overpowering, it has a distinctive flavor that shines through a drink. I've got to spend more time sipping it because it's subtle smokiness is different than any other rum I've got on my shelf. It's my top-shelf Mai Tai rum and goddamn a drink made with this is unforgettable.

7d13c3c61e9f8efe00deae69f130c064.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 7 months ago by Mujuru from United States with 48 ratings

So this was an interesting and different experience as this was my first decent experience with a true Agricole rum (my experience with Barbancourt was not pleasant). Going in armed with knowing a bit more about what to expect I found this rum to be interesting. It isn’t going to pull me away from Spanish and Bajan rums but it was a good experience. The nose is Lemons and light caramel and vanilla notes. It gives a sense of refreshment rather than warmth. The palate is oak, lemonade and some spice combination that is difficult to describe...maybe anise (?) . What I did find remarkable was the aftertaste because it wasn’t as much as an aftertaste as it was a lasting experience between the throat and nose which left a distinguished aroma or memory of fresh cut grass in the springtime. That was both unexpected and the best part of this rum. It is not as much a taste as it is an experience of the senses. Interesting.

Nose: 7
Palate: 7
Aftertaste: 8
Smoothness: 6
Versatility: 8
Price: 7

Total: 7.1

Ed4c7a03f1a99ffaae9752821de35ff6.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 8 months ago by IBO from Slovakia with 97 ratings

Veľmi dobrý JM typu agricole. Hrana s konskom,či brandy. Napriek tomu nasladla chuť s príjemným ošetrením dojazdom. Jeden z naj Agricole rumov čo som pil.

944c2669d20b6378f1a65880c0e128b1.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 8 months ago by Rumba from United States with 11 ratings

Grassy, sweet, with slight smokiness. Enjoyable and distinct Rhum Agricole.

8b61f1fa20de202fcddc7ca80e516bb9.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 8 months ago by jfmurcia from Jamaica with 55 ratings

This is my first agricole and I found it really interesting. Very different flavors than other rums, I liked that earthy and grassy tastes that are unique from these type of rums. Also liked the smoked and pepper flavors. Definitely worth trying.

786b76b5e5bebab4854969d46993d3f6.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 8 months ago by 69nl43 from France with 14 ratings

Ya quelque chose de particulier dans ce vsop aoc.
Une patte de la maison JM. On y revient avec plaisir malgré le goût surprenant. Bonne cam pour moins de 40.