Posting your rating...
Rhum JM Blanc rum

Rhum JM Blanc

Martinique | Agricole

6.5/10 (32 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
2
3
5
12
7
1

Rate Rhum JM Blanc

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


32 Rhum JM Blanc ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

F813243e61573b68b031ef4029097905.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 2 months ago by Cerro from United Kingdom with 16 ratings

A puzzling rum to be sure, grassy, vegetal and slightly herbal. It's got a special funk to it that I really like. Not really a sipper as it isn't that refined but it adds tons of character to cocktails and not just a ti punch or daiquiri - although it really shines in those too.

292aeb8b6298c3a9615802ed8175cefb.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 year ago by Tikiducks from United States with 54 ratings

This had a strong fragrance, lemon, tar and ammonia. I would not try this again.

6593abd40ffa0f750370602dfd9f867c.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 2 months ago by Taster from Switzerland with 108 ratings

Nose: very juicy, sweet sugar cane
Palate: harsh, strong, rough, intense grass

43563d3dad97da55f41ebe5396562124.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 3 months ago by Trelony from Russian Federation with 34 ratings

I liked this rhum at once. Nice old-school bottle with funny picture. Aroma and taste are very good too. Fresh cane juice with little bit sugar with nothing extra. It fits excellent for regular Ti Punch.

37aac8ab2ed40b3c574a0d675de17850.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 5 months ago by Djgross144 from United States with 34 ratings

This has become my go to for the agricole rum in my mai tai where it works really well. (Combining with Smith and Cross, and Appleton.) Not as grassy as some other agricoles I have tried.. Strong burn. Hard to drink neat.

0af469abfd954e7cd9a81132dc65713f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 11 months ago by Smovens from United States with 91 ratings

Rhum agricole that’s very heavy on grass, citrus, herbs, and some faint residual sweetness. Excellent and aggressive agricole without some of the usual petrol/bad alcohol flavor

D31a05255f24dc5e30498b5da6c0ba9b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 11 months ago by AlexMo from Russian Federation with 138 ratings

Bottle steady and stylish label. Strong and pleasant aroma of yeast, cane juice, currants. The taste is perfect for unaged rum with a strength of 50% sweet, bitter and pleasantly sharp. It is impossible to drink for a long time, but the first impression of aroma and taste, the remaining clarity of mind due to the lack of sugar and wood additives is simply amazing. Plus savings on high alcohol content.

61ed3a196a5a4359a40670104e6148e1.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 326 ratings

This is going to the other extreme with me finding out that rhum agricoles need to be kept from aging too long in oak barrels because they absorb too much of the woody flavor and wind up becoming gluten free bourbons.

The aroma is very similar to a cachaca and the taste is lots of pepper on the tongue with no after burn or bitterness. It does not even rank among my best rated cachacas. This one is only good for Ti Punch, but ice cubes do tame it down. Don't even think of sipping it neat. For only $30 US for one liter, it still is not a good buy.

One other good thing about rhum agricole blancs from Martinique and artisinal cachacas from Brazil is that no hangover can be expected. As you can see, I rank them in the same class. However, with the taste of this rhum, I seriously doubt that anyone could drink enough to see if there is actually no hangover the next day. With this one, you are much better off with the taste of Avua Prata Cachaca or Neisson Rhum Agricole Blanc. However, as bad as I now make this one sound, it is still a lot better than anything by Bacardi or Captain Morgan, thus retaining my original ranking of 6.

F342a5e5c582d3ca729df9959c199761.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Joola69 from United States with 2643 ratings

Visited the Rhum JM distillery while vacationing in Martinique. Self guided distillery tour ended with an open tasting bar. Rhum JM Blanc 50 was priced at EUR 12 per bottle at the distillery. Very nice and sturdy bottle design with a great old school label. Traditional super dry Rhum Agricole flavors complemented with plenty of grass and a lot of floral notes to the nose and palate. Surprisingly strong burn at the end since its so dry. Rhum Agricole fan boys can easily add 2 points to my score.

1923761c8c29790cf1a367a652972be6.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by RumGuy from United States with 22 ratings

Awesome nose. Light funk, underripe banana, grassy, lightly herbal.
Sweet at first then quite dry across the tongue, finish has all the vegetal and herby sweet notes.

Overall a very nice unique agricole. Would be awesome in a ti punch or rum old fashioned. You could sip it if you like but I really frel it would shine an a very simple 2 or three ingredient cocktail.