Posting your rating...
Rhum JM Blanc rum

Rhum JM Blanc

Martinique | Agricole

6.4/10 (40 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
3
4
7
16
7
1

Rate Rhum JM Blanc

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


40 Rhum JM Blanc ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Jasm1 from France with 31 ratings

Découverte agréable que ce rhum agricole parfumé...parfait un Ti punch en début ou en fin de repas ...

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Taster from Switzerland with 113 ratings

Nose: very juicy, sweet sugar cane
Palate: harsh, strong, rough, intense grass

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Trelony from Russian Federation with 38 ratings

I liked this rhum at once. Nice old-school bottle with funny picture. Aroma and taste are very good too. Fresh cane juice with little bit sugar with nothing extra. It fits excellent for regular Ti Punch.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Djgross144 from United States with 37 ratings

This has become my go to for the agricole rum in my mai tai where it works really well. (Combining with Smith and Cross, and Appleton.) Not as grassy as some other agricoles I have tried.. Strong burn. Hard to drink neat.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Smovens from United States with 94 ratings

Rhum agricole that’s very heavy on grass, citrus, herbs, and some faint residual sweetness. Excellent and aggressive agricole without some of the usual petrol/bad alcohol flavor

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by AlexMo from Russian Federation with 147 ratings

Bottle steady and stylish label. Strong and pleasant aroma of yeast, cane juice, currants. The taste is perfect for unaged rum with a strength of 50% sweet, bitter and pleasantly sharp. It is impossible to drink for a long time, but the first impression of aroma and taste, the remaining clarity of mind due to the lack of sugar and wood additives is simply amazing. Plus savings on high alcohol content.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 350 ratings

This is going to the other extreme with me finding out that rhum agricoles need to be kept from aging too long in oak barrels because they absorb too much of the woody flavor and wind up becoming gluten free bourbons.

The aroma is very similar to a cachaca and the taste is lots of pepper on the tongue with no after burn or bitterness. It does not even rank among my best rated cachacas. This one is only good for Ti Punch, but ice cubes do tame it down. Don't even think of sipping it neat. For only $30 US for one liter, it still is not a good buy.

One other good thing about rhum agricole blancs from Martinique and artisinal cachacas from Brazil is that no hangover can be expected. As you can see, I rank them in the same class. However, with the taste of this rhum, I seriously doubt that anyone could drink enough to see if there is actually no hangover the next day. With this one, you are much better off with the taste of Avua Prata Cachaca or Neisson Rhum Agricole Blanc. However, as bad as I now make this one sound, it is still a lot better than anything by Bacardi or Captain Morgan, thus retaining my original ranking of 6.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2659 ratings

Visited the Rhum JM distillery while vacationing in Martinique. Self guided distillery tour ended with an open tasting bar. Rhum JM Blanc 50 was priced at EUR 12 per bottle at the distillery. Very nice and sturdy bottle design with a great old school label. Traditional super dry Rhum Agricole flavors complemented with plenty of grass and a lot of floral notes to the nose and palate. Surprisingly strong burn at the end since its so dry. Rhum Agricole fan boys can easily add 2 points to my score.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by RumGuy from United States with 22 ratings

Awesome nose. Light funk, underripe banana, grassy, lightly herbal.
Sweet at first then quite dry across the tongue, finish has all the vegetal and herby sweet notes.

Overall a very nice unique agricole. Would be awesome in a ti punch or rum old fashioned. You could sip it if you like but I really frel it would shine an a very simple 2 or three ingredient cocktail.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Cory Wid from United States with 87 ratings

The 100 proof packs a good deal more flavor and aroma (I would recommend it over the 80 proof). For those that are new to Agricoles, they are a product of the "French Islands", such as Martinique and Haiti.
They are fermented from freshly pressed cane juice as compared to molasses. The result is green vegetal, mineral, and grassy flavors, and a unique punchiness and pungency... I get fruity flavors and an aroma that almost reminds me of pink starburst.
The signature drink is a Ti Punch (A piece of lime, cane syrup, and rum over ice), which is really quite good with this rum. Also excellent neat, in my opinion.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by TomasM from Czech Republic with 63 ratings

It's classic agricole with pretty strong flavour. Great for ti punch.