Posting your rating...
Zaya Grande Reserva 16-Year rum

Zaya Grande Reserva 16-Year

Trinidad and Tobago | Aged

6.6/10 (40 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
2
6
4
13
12
1

Rate Zaya Grande Reserva 16-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


40 Zaya Grande Reserva 16-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

90e94b727941adf60f05b9882cdefbf1.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Shaymus from Canada with 5 ratings

Excellent flavour, pairs very nice with cane cola. Smooth with subtle notes of Carmel and vanilla. Smooth finish as well. Reminds me a bit of the original smoothness of the first Zaya, before the distillery moved, but something else I can’t put my finger on yet...more testing required!

F1cea3399f9df2402e7f3a179c2e0a39.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Erik Marum from United States with 29 ratings

Saw this in my local liqour store and the green label stood out on the Zaya bottle. 16 yr??? Decided to give it a try. I am very impressed. A lot of forward apple and vanilla flavors. Very complex profile. It is a 16yr blend, but this is a very nice, smooth rum that is great on the rocks. The finish is not as long and strong as the Zaya 12 yr, which is my favorite characteristic of the Zaya 12 yr. But this one is also much smoother... practically no burn. The finish is still relatively long and the apple and vanilla flavors linger. Overall at $23 USD (in Miami) this is a great value. I'll be buying more.

C8434a3569533fe98c86dc41e6be2e85.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 month ago by Franklin Fraitus from United States with 26 ratings

The bad: Initially, the smell is strong, with a touch of vanilla scented cleaner or disinfectant, which seems to dissipate a little after a few minutes. The good: However the taste is quite good and pleasant. I rated it a 6 due to the sharp initial impression, but the taste is a solid 7. I'd be happy to drink this straight after letting the glass breathe for a bit. The price is good, so I'll probably purchase it again.

I don't find it "sickly sweet" as some others here do. I do find the taste seems like it has vanilla in it, which I really like.

292aeb8b6298c3a9615802ed8175cefb.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 year ago by Tikiducks from United States with 54 ratings

This is a very nice rum, good carmel toffee aromas. A go to for me now.

D91e69600611db45af250d0e06dbd587.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 year ago by Howard from United States with 9 ratings

First, I'm fairly liberal. I figure I'm not the final word when it comes to judging what others will like. But the Zaya Grande Reserva 16 Year deserves to be called out. First, make sure it's the new green necked/labeled iteration that we are talking about and second, it's NOT A 16 YEAR OLD RUM! It is a solera rum. They are being quite cute by putting the "16 Years" in a much larger font than the tiny print of the warning, "A blend of Rums aged up to".

It seems that the move from Guatemala has resulted in a continued loss of positive character in this sad Rum.

Don't get me wrong. I agree, a solera rum can definitely be a good rum. But it's insulting to other correctly labeled rums to hide behind a tricky label.

That said, the Zaya Grande Reserva I tasted was sickly sweet and overpriced even for $26. But, if you are someone who mixes all the flavors at the Slurpee machine and would pay $26 for that, I apologize.

Bb42a4ca16db40f77d397163fb73a148.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 year ago by James from United States with 17 ratings

The older version (Zaya 12) was a sugar bomb too, but this one is even sweeter. Like liquid candy.
I jumped on it because of a significant price reduction... now I know why.

554d05a611a2a60eb31346344cb7d170.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by EmfiniGee from United States with 21 ratings

Very sweet, easy to drink and good value at under $30

F342a5e5c582d3ca729df9959c199761.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Joola69 from United States with 2643 ratings

Zaya Grande Reserva 16 year old rum is a great starter rum for your rum collection. Reasonably priced at $28 per bottle and now easily available in most liquor stores. Original Zaya 12y was pretty good, but now the new version struggles to earn a 7 since it's very overpowering sweet flavor profile. Zaya 16y is definitely on the sweeter side also, plenty of vanilla and butterscotch for sure but it has a very nice flavor profile and hardly any burn. Buy this bottle and compare it to Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva, and the massive difference is obvious. Then go to your liquor and buy Diplomatico going onwards.

17244066c59ae18b934a356f130e728c.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 19 days ago by Docsarvis (PREMIUM) from United States with 72 ratings

This 16 year old lacks the nuances of the 12 year old. Smooth? Absolutely. A nice rum. The 12 year old has less wood and more subtle flavors. The great thing about reviewing is you can dwell on the fine points! Both 12 and 16 are very good rums. I prefer the 12, especially neat. The 16 is a FINE looking woman. The 12 is a fine looking woman carrying a GREAT bottle of rum!

E4762d45f65efc647bc8007fae0fdb9b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 20 days ago by 5xo from Slovakia with 256 ratings

It still has that artificial nose to it like the 12, only with more substantial body.