Posting your rating...
Red Leg Spiced rum

Red Leg Spiced

Caribbean | Spiced

6.8/10
138 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
4
6
7
26
33
39
10
10

Rate Red Leg Spiced

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

138 Red Leg Spiced ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Phil Northcott from United Kingdom with 16 ratings

This little gem is far too easy to sip away at....yes its high in the vanilla and ginger flavours and yes it is only 37% but this stuff tastes great and I personally did not find it too sweet. if you must mix it try cherry cola over ice and a sprig of mint for a refreshing summer mix.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Claire from United Kingdom with 3 ratings

Easy drinking but a little sweet, which I like but sickly after a few.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Phil Johnson from United Kingdom with 5 ratings

Very smooth lot of spice with a nice hint of vanilla one of my favourite’s

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Chris Edwards from United Kingdom with 20 ratings

A really tasty spiced rum, and highly recommended. Great for sipping, and good with ginger ale.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by William Ferguson from United Kingdom with 15 ratings

Smooth rum and well balanced, get tropical fruits and spices coming through. However the prominent flavour is vanilla. Sweet but not as sweet as other spiced rums I have tasted.
I find rums I drink follow my mood a bit and if looking for a spiced and slightly sweet rum, almost liqueur like
well you won't go far wrong with this one.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by James from United Kingdom with 4 ratings

Everything about this rum is top quality, the sweetness and the amazing aromas. Drink it on its own and it's soo easy to drink, with ice it's just even more smooth and cool. Try with some ginger coke for a easy party drink that everyone will love. All for £15.....Perfect.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by LDuggs from United Kingdom with 2 ratings

Superb value. Sweet vanilla flavours, my "go to" spiced.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 410 ratings

Sehr helles Bernstein im Glas.
Sofort spring einem die Vanille in die Nase, gefolgt von Karamell und leichten Holznoten. Auch Aromen von frischen Früchten, Bananen, Gewürzen und Ingwer sind mit dabei.
Im Gaumen zwickt einem der Ingwer und die Alkohol Schärfe gehörig in die Zunge, dabei wurde sie doch von der Vanille gestreichelt.
Im Abgang recht kurz und unwirklich.
Sicherlich ein netter Rum für Liebhaber dieser Art. Mit natürlichen Aromen und nicht so süss.

Very light amber in the glass.
Immediately, the vanilla will pop into your nose, followed by caramel and light wood notes. Also aromas of fresh fruits, bananas, spices and ginger are included.
On the palate, one of the ginger and the alcohol sharpness pinches in the tongue, while they was stroked by the vanilla.
In the finish quite short and unreal.
Certainly a nice rum for lovers of this kind. With natural flavors and not so sweet.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2746 ratings

Tried the Red Leg Spiced rum on a very rainy Sunday evening and it did not bring me a Caribbean vibe. Very light brown color, definitely some artificial coloring being used. Artificial flavors over power the nose. Cinnamon overload when tasting it. Long burn at the end, and its only 37.5%, so better to skip this one.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Snookerman from United Kingdom with 129 ratings

I'd put this almost on a par with Rebellion. Whereas that one is very sweet, this one is medium-sweet with a big ginger kick. This one is tangy, that one is warming. They are both high up on the list of good quality, reasonably priced rums (roughly £20 or less). This is easily drunk neat or on the rocks, but it also goes well with coke as that will sweeten it a bit and the ginger will still come through very nicely.

After ginger, the main flavours are mixed-spice and a subtle hint of vanilla. There's also a hint of something citrusy, maybe orange. Blimey, what's with people going about heavy vanilla? If you want heavy vanilla try Admiral J, Rolling Calf or Pink Pigeon. Ginger is several times stronger than vanilla here. If it's an anything bomb (which it isn't), it's a ginger bomb.

I'd say it was much more interesting than the rather dull Sailor Jerry and the even duller Foursquare, but Rebellion has the edge on it if you like sweet spiced rums. Elements 8 has more depth and complexity and a better base, but it's a lot more expensive; Chairman's Reserved Spice is better but also less of a session rum than this in that this is light and that is very rich.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Cuvelierl from Belgium with 28 ratings

Spiced rum is always a hit or miss for me. In case of red leg we have an almost Bull's-eye. I love the branding and the subtle vanilla and ginger taste of this rum. Even if your preference goes to other styles of rum I can definitely recommend adding this one to your collection