Posting your rating...
Pyrat XO Reserve rum
Pyrat XO Reserve rum

Pyrat XO Reserve

Anguilla | Gold

Pyrat XO Rum is produced from nine different Caribbean rums that are blended and then aged up to 15 years in used American sweet oak barrels.

The squat Pyrat XO rum bottle shape is inspired by the typical design of rum bottles kept by pirates and ship captains in the 19th century.

6.2/10 (937 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
15
17
54
66
110
201
262
157
42
13

Rate Pyrat XO Reserve

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


937 Pyrat XO Reserve ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

C8434a3569533fe98c86dc41e6be2e85.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 5 years ago by Franklin Fraitus from United States with 26 ratings

Did I mention it's flavored with Orange? I purchased a bottle at Total Wine, on the suggestion of a forum member that I trust. While I should have known to do a bit of reading on it first, I simply purchased it. Well, it's the rum version of Cointreau or Grand Marnier liqueur. In my opinion, Pyrat XO is not rum, it's a rum-liqueur. I read the reviews only after purchasing it.

I gave it a 6 rating, not because it's a poor product, it's not. But because it did not mention orange anywhere on the bottle, even though it has an orange ribbon, orange lettering and orange tag. Had I wanted an orange flavored rum, I would have looked for one.

With that in mind, it's very pleasant to sip. It's smooth, flavorful and has a nice little bite to it. As I now see in other reviews, it does need some time in the glass to mellow a touch. Otherwise it has a bit of an
artificial orange-chemical taste at first. This is not a rum to drink straight from the bottle!

Would I purchase it again? Probably not. I prefer a smooth sipping rum (which this is), that actually tastes like rum (which this does not) . However, I have not experimented with it in mixed drinks. So, it might be ideal for certain mixed drinks, but that's not my thing. I like my rum straight up in a whiskey glass.

B47d24ade66a46117fe11b0b00057cc8.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 5 years ago by Chris from Austria with 3 ratings

The Pyrat is kind of an intricate treat to enjoy. I opened the bottle, poured it in the tumbler and smelled it. What the....!? What's this tang? Is this alcohol fuel? Nonetheless I sipped it. Ohhhhh dear! How did the cleanser wind up in this awesome rum bottle!? So I left the tumbler alone, read the reviews and couldn't stop wondering about the extremely dissenting opinions. Some say it's god's gift to man, others say they wouldn't feed this dog's piss to their worst enemy.

I'm careful with 1 pointers as there's always the possibility of stumbling across the liquid spawn of hell, but I dead sure was ready to dish out my first 2 point review. On the other hand the very good reviews intrigued me enough to give it time and to let it breathe.

After 30 minutes: 2 out of 10. Very sharp smell, very one-dimensional taste.
After 1 hour: What's this? Is there actual taste under the layer of kerosene? We are getting somewhere: 5/10.
After 2 hours: BAMM! There it is! Cinnamon, vanilla, sherry and of course the dominant flavour of orange. The smell is godly, as is the taste that follows. Rich, mellow, well balanced. I could taste all the flavours I smelled before. This rum is really excellent, as long as you give it time to breath and evolve from terrible to bearable to impeccable. I sipped it as seen on the picture. Straight up, no ice, handwarm. For the price the Pyrat XO is a steal.

Cc075054848a076bd9d97584f3074f09.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 6 years ago by Gerald from Austria with 21 ratings

So many people like this one , so i have buyed it.
But i never had a disgusting like this one.
smell : Alcohol , synthetic Orange ,cleanser
No joke , my wife has a Cleanser - it´s the same smell as the Pyrat XO.
Sorry , I hate it.

363db30028769f4d84d6f8fa86282bdf.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 6 years ago by Michael from United States with 5 ratings

discovered this on Anguilla in 2006 when I also developed a taste for ti punch and real daiquiri... (not those sickly sweetened frozen concoctions that ought to be served from a Mr. Softee!) once back in the states I discovered it could be found at warehouse store for just under $30! wow, this is a fine versatile rum, good enough to sip on the rock but mostly used in honest cocktails. yes, there's some orange flavor but nowhere as cloying as a flavored rum, just a dominant overtone. but that works for me. a damn nice rum for good all around drinking. (no way is this a 6. my 8 is intentionally a bit high just to move the average up a bit closer to the 7.5 I think it should be.)

03a90a9fb76769443f012d487de74c62.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 6 years ago by Arowbal from United States with 31 ratings

Very very good taste, almost buttery on the tongue, but has a little bit of a bite to it. If it was a little smoother this could be my favorite.

Edit: After drinking this for awhile now it has become my favorite sipping rum. It has just such a good flavor and no after taste.

716132e430cd9eef9be718b1aad28fb1.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Hector from United States with 59 ratings

There's a reason why this so called rum comes in such a nice bottle and such nice box that looks like a book with all kinds of ribbons and stuff, because if it wasn't for that I don't think anyone would buy this crap. Awful taste. Not good at all in my opinion.

Cf90cd4d6b2dd63af7fa70be4757bce3.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 7 years ago by Brandon from United States with 18 ratings

I hate to be insulting, because truthfully if it makes you happy, who am I to say it's bad. But to me, the false additive flavors of every Pyrat product insults the beauty and good name of Rum.

1f4570219d6d2d5eabff5d38f40d627b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Viktor from United States with 16 ratings

I am not sure how this rum is made, but it seems very forced. The aroma is artificial orange, the taste is very orange/chemical. There is some sweetness, maybe trying for some vanilla, but mostly orange followed by a light burn. Not a good sipping drink and I don't know what it would mix in without drowning out the flavors.

3d05c486bc00e7015b95b18181e39f32.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

Fake orange flavor added to cheap, boozy low-end rum. The drink of choice for careless swillers. Drown it with mixers because you must, but don't pretend you're drinking fine rum. It's no better than orange-flavored vodka. Wretched stuff.

42fa4674128b449438eea4a22ddb0a5b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 6 years ago by larry johnson from United States with 26 ratings

very smooth with a hint or vanilla and orange I like it better with diet coke

0bd7e71fb5fffa30dce9583882011c3f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 4 years ago by Chris from United States with 5 ratings

Love the bottle, the cork, and even the color, makes you feel like a pirate when you open it with your teeth. The problem with this rum is the orange flavor. Almost to much for me giving it a fake-ness that destroys the essence of rum. Trying mixed is no better. Maybe it's me but it tasted as though the orange was added after to try and give it more flavor. The bite is also another issue, not smooth at all, but at least the bottle looks cool...