Posting your rating...
Pyrat XO Reserve rum

Pyrat XO Reserve

Anguilla | Gold | 40.0% ABV

Pyrat XO Rum is produced from nine different Caribbean rums that are blended and then aged up to 15 years in used American sweet oak barrels.

The squat Pyrat XO rum bottle shape is inspired by the typical design of rum bottles kept by pirates and ship captains in the 19th century.

6.1/10
1043 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
17
19
61
74
125
232
289
168
44
14

Rate Pyrat XO Reserve

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

1043 Pyrat XO Reserve ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Christophe from Belgium with 14 ratings

Deze mooie, ietwat oldfashionate piratenfles oogt heel mooi in je collectie en zal zeker meespelen bij de verkoop ervan.
Maar niet alleen het oog wil geprikkeld worden.
Mocht dit mijn eerste kennismaking zijn met rum, zou ik na het ruiken het al opgegeven hebben. Deze blend van verschillende (aangekochte en niet zelf gedistilleerde) rum ruikt bij aanzet niet natuurlijk, het heeft zelfs iets van een chemische verfachtige geur. Maar wanneer je nog eens dieper gaat ruiken en je sluit de ogen vind je toetsen van citrus en overgearomatiseerde sinaassnoepjes terug (heeft er iemand in het geniep wat Cointreau bijgegoten?).
Speciaal, niet waauw, maar toch een derde snif waardig. Het niet kunnen thuisbrengen van deze geur zal na de eerste sip je nog niet op het juiste spoor zetten. Het wat stropige, ronde gevoel ebt heel snel weg wanneer alweer die niet te definiëren artificiele smaak het overneemt. Een sterk gevoel van alcohol zinderd nog een tijdje na. Lekker kan ik het niet echt noemen, maar enorm intrigerend. Wat mij verplicht nog eens te proeven en nog eens. En zo, na enkele dagen en een halve fles verder weet ik niet wat ik met deze voor mij bijna overflavoured rum moet doen. Links laten liggen of toch trachten te doorgronden.
Mooi om in je collectie te hebben onder het mom: 'ik zal je iets laten proeven, dit is ook rum...'. Maar bij nader inzien wil ik mijn vrienden toch liever onderdompelen in 'echte, stoere, meer mannelijke' rums.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Hot_Toddy (PREMIUM) from United States with 13 ratings

I love the bottle. Not my go-to as either a sipper or a mixer as it's tad over-sweetend, but it was definitely a fun purchase.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Marek H. from Slovakia with 49 ratings

The nose is slightly sweet with molasses, slightly smokey with orange notes.Good sipper.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Kazisvet from Slovakia with 26 ratings

V minulosti som tento rum veľmi neobľuboval, ale v poslednej dobe sa k nemu vraciam späť. Príjemná ovocná chuť a vôňa. trošku ostrejší ale to neprekáža.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by attalal9 from Sweden with 17 ratings

Does not appeal to me at all – expected something closer to rum but this is clearly a liqueur.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Hefron from Czech Republic with 77 ratings

Jedněm chutná jiným ne. Za mě velice zajímavý rum, vůně a chuť po pomerančích, vanilce a exotických plodech. Jemně nasládlý ne však příliš. Vhodný i pro začátečníky, kterým zcela jistě zachutná.

Small b8c54eea c285 4951 9338 4a1237c8a2bc

Posted 11 months ago by Ian H (PREMIUM) from United States with 13 ratings

This tastes like a generic cheap liquor with some artificial orange sweetener on top. Not good at all.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Zaplik from Czech Republic with 11 ratings

In nice bottle comes average rum. I read some reviews about this one and wait for that “orange” taste. It was buried under taste of alcohol so deep. It truly disappoints me in this way.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Ormondefg from Ireland with 7 ratings

The box and bottle are great looking, so I expected the rum to be as well. Quite disappointed in the flavor. Tasted like sugar candy, and not in a good way! Let it sit and breathe in a sifter for 24 hours...still horrible. So I let it breathe for another 48 hours and added an ice cube. Still terrible, so I threw the bottle away. Doesn't taste like rum at all....tastes like a low quality brandy, mixed with a low quality snapps.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Lebby from Canada with 20 ratings

This rum is simply average. I expected a lot more flavor and less burn for the price. I wouldn’t quite say disappointed, but certainly not a “wow” either. Drink your friends, don’t buy your own.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Dan from United Kingdom with 47 ratings

Smooth, with just the right amount of fire at the end. Will be drinking again.