Posting your rating...
Pyrat XO Reserve rum

Pyrat XO Rum is produced from nine different Caribbean rums that are blended and then aged up to 15 years in used American sweet oak barrels.

The squat Pyrat XO rum bottle shape is inspired by the typical design of rum bottles kept by pirates and ship captains in the 19th century.

Rate Pyrat XO Reserve

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


925 Pyrat XO Reserve ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 7 years ago by Brandon from United States with 18 ratings

I hate to be insulting, because truthfully if it makes you happy, who am I to say it's bad. But to me, the false additive flavors of every Pyrat product insults the beauty and good name of Rum.

Posted 29 days ago by pghiran from Romania with 4 ratings

Bought it out of sheer curiosity after reading the reviews here. It's a half-decent rum but don't give any credit to comment saying it suddenly becomes good after aeration. It tastes like an $25 rum with after the cork has rotted in the bottle. The strong cork taste is not a delightful one and when combined with the strong alcohol hit, you're left wondering if it's even good in a cocktail. Gonna be keeping this in my fridge along with a bottle of coke so I have some half-decent Cuba Libres when I have guests and don't want to serve a $10 rum.

Posted about 1 month ago by Chris from Netherlands with 60 ratings

Starts off awfull, gets better when you forget the glass and drink it later 😅

Posted about 1 month ago by Docsarvis (PREMIUM) from United States with 27 ratings

At first I wasn't sure about this. I do like the orange overtones. Some vanilla oak and coffee notes. Even a faint cocoa in there. Pretty smooth. A little thin though. It doesn't have the depth or complexity of many rums. Balance is just ok. Finish is quite good and reasonably long. Finish is better neat than on ice. Overall I was pleasantly surprised. More aging would likely add depth and balance this rum really needs. It is a little different. Glad I waited until my 3rd and 4th taste. It definitely grows on you.

Posted about 1 month ago by eulalio torices from Spain with 23 ratings

Lo cierto es q después d escuchar las cosas tan malas q se decían sobre éste ron me ha sorprendido para bien, éso si, ni es de los mejores y su precio es desorbitado teniendo en cuenta su calidad

Posted about 1 month ago by tare97 from Canada with 5 ratings

Is this orange liqueur or rum? I'm not sure. Decent enough flavour profile if you are looking for orange. Colour is a nice orange like tint. Ornage lettering for the label. Oh and an orange ribbon tied around the neck to boot!

Posted about 1 month ago by Girl Driver from United States with 2 ratings

Simply stated, I don't like it much but it's not the worst I've tasted. I took someone's advice and let it "breath" for 2 hours. Yes, it was "easier" going down, but I don't always have that luxury. Bottom line, I like my rum to taste like rum, not oranges. This might appeal to some tastes, but not mine.

Posted about 1 month ago by Michael Cottrill from United Kingdom with 11 ratings

Love it. Sweet stuff..............................

Posted about 1 month ago by George from Canada with 24 ratings

Decent rum... on the sweeter side but disappears quickly. Good with ice and after dinner.

Posted about 2 months ago by Pollux from Canada with 116 ratings

Rhum à déguster avec une glace ou avec acompagnement.

Posted about 2 months ago by Daniel.delvalle from United States with 19 ratings

This rum reminds me a lot of Old Monk only a little bit lighter. it is excellent on the rocks with a slice of pineapple orange with it.

Posted about 2 months ago by breaker7110 from Belgium with 2 ratings

Good one, very smooth and feels like butter. Has to be discovered

Posted about 2 months ago by filipec from Czech Republic with 33 ratings

taste - 7/10
sweetness - 8/10
price/value rating - 8/10

Posted about 2 months ago by Adreinke (PREMIUM) from United States with 17 ratings

This rum has some good flavor with a hint of orange but can seem bitter to the untested palate. Not a beginner rum if you expect the sweeter side.

Posted 2 months ago by Johnny from United States with 2 ratings

I love this rum. This rum is a sipping rum. It goes good with a cigar. If you like cognac, then you would love this rum. It has a hint of orange and vanilla on your palate. I put the bottle in the refrigerator and drink it cold. It taste good when it is cold and in a shot glass. No need for ice. I take a shot every evening. I also give a shot to buddha and he loves it.

Johnny

Posted at El Grullense 2 months ago by DaiwaGuy from United States with 1 rating

My favorite rum is Arundel from Callwood distillery on Tortola in the BVI. Pyrat is my go to since Callwood doesn't export. Deep taste, looooooooong finish. I was elated when I tasted how close it is to Arundel, and have been buying for 20 years.

Posted 2 months ago by nbouse13 from United States with 6 ratings

Tried this at a bar with limit runs available, and surprisingly ended up sipping on 3 glasses. Solid choice.

Posted 3 months ago by Juanlaginia from United States with 37 ratings

Great presentation / bottle, good for cocktails, not so smooth with slight orange hint.

Posted 3 months ago by Marty from Czech Republic with 65 ratings

Litle bit sweet, orange taste. .

Posted 3 months ago by Liquid.Drimz from France with 4 ratings

Beurk beurk beurk, pas grand chose à rajouter, passez votre chemin

Posted 3 months ago by Jagged from Slovakia with 13 ratings

Pre mňa sklamanie. Jeden z najznámejších rumov. Chcel som ho skúsiť, no bolo to sklamanie. Vôňa je po pomarančoch ale prebíja ju alkoholový zápach. Ten časom zoslabol. Chuť je taktiež po pomarančoch ale ako keby chemicka - umelá. Pre mňa jeden z najhorších rumov ake som zatial skúsil (10 druhov).

Posted 3 months ago by plastre from Slovakia with 12 ratings

Hmm I just dont like it. Tastes like artificial orange... somehow unnaturally.

Posted 4 months ago by Christian Boldt from Denmark with 21 ratings

Lækker blød og afrundet Rom men let sødme hænger flot i glasset

Posted 4 months ago by Alkin from Latvia with 28 ratings

Price is quite low for XO, smell alcohol and taste gives too much of an orange.

Posted 4 months ago by randycous (PREMIUM) from United States with 14 ratings

Nice flavor in a mixed drink, but not on my list for sipping.