Posting your rating...
Pyrat XO Reserve rum

Pyrat XO Rum is produced from nine different Caribbean rums that are blended and then aged up to 15 years in used American sweet oak barrels.

The squat Pyrat XO rum bottle shape is inspired by the typical design of rum bottles kept by pirates and ship captains in the 19th century.

Rate Pyrat XO Reserve

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


926 Pyrat XO Reserve ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 1 year ago by Jack from United States with 27 ratings

Pyrat is ok. Very citrusy and grassy. Not the smoothest but offers a change from other rums.

Posted about 5 years ago by Erik Deckers from United States with 8 ratings

I'll admit, I bought it based on the bottle shape. I was intrigued, and thought it was worth a try. (It's an expensive gamble though, in case you hate it.)

I enjoyed it as a sipping rum, although the flavors could be very overwhelming. It went down smooth, and it was sweet, but the vanilla and orange were definitely present.

If nothing else, the smoothness made it easier to drink, and I would get it again.

Posted about 5 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 190 ratings

Sugar: 24 gpl. This rum has a strong flavor similar to the Cognac taste found in Gran Marnier. I didn't like it mixed with coke or anything else and struggled to finish using the bottle, so I gave it away. There are much nicer tasting rums for mixing. The bottle looks nice on the shelf, but you can get a cheaper vase at IKEA.

Posted about 5 years ago by Jens E Buur from Denmark with 11 ratings

The factory have never exist There were never made Rum on this little cayman before, but it is a good (promotion) story.
A little tast of the famos uneatable orange peel from Curacau. Some dont understand it and therefore dont like it. I Doo

Posted about 5 years ago by Cornelius from Germany with 5 ratings

If i want an orange liquor, i would not buy a bottle of rum.
If i want a vanilla liquor, i would not buy a bottle of rum.

So why should i buy these?

One star for nice bottle with its lanyard and the tag.

Posted over 5 years ago by Gene Armond Jr from United States with 7 ratings

Great caramel color, zesty orange flavor, let it breathe for about 15 minutes and add to apple juice over ice. Sit back, relax and enjoy... repeat as necessary!

Posted over 5 years ago by Rival from Canada with 1 rating

Vanilla and orange is quite overpowering, not what I expected at all, better mixed with fruit juice than a sipping rum

Posted over 5 years ago by nomad from United States with 125 ratings

Wow that's a lot of orange! Underneath there is a good rum, but it's covered by the dominating citrus. If you use it as a liqueur/mixer, it is pretty good though.

So this sat for months and the orange has mellowed quite a bit

edited to add sugar test results- 24-29g

Posted over 5 years ago by LD from Italy with 34 ratings

Are you sure that it is a rum ?!? ... seems blended with Grand Marnier. Too much orange flavour. Advised just if you like the "pirate bottle"

Posted over 5 years ago by Charles M from United Kingdom with 126 ratings

If I wanted an orange liqueur I would have bought a bottle of Cointreau. As rum goes, this is masquerading as something it isn't. It's not rum as I would recognise it, so get's a rating of 1. As a spirit, it isn't that bad, it just that I can't consider a rum to taste of oranges.

Posted over 5 years ago by BostonFisher from United States with 12 ratings

Interesting taste heavily influenced by strong flavors of orange. I found it was more like a liqueur and not so much of a great rum. I'm sure you could find a fancy drink it would stand out in as an ingredient but avoid for a rum and coke or a traditional glass of rum on ice - you'll be disappointed.

Posted about 7 years ago by zellrom from France with 24 ratings

Le pire rhum vieux que j'ai jamais eu l'occasion de goûter, non pas qu'il soit agressif ou qu'il brûle la langue mais son "fumet" m'a clairement rebuté. Un nez évoquant le fumier plus que désagréable, je ne pensais pas que l'on puisse élaborer liqueur si imbuvable.
J'aurais bien deux mots à dire au maître de chais.

Posted over 7 years ago by Don Tucker from United States with 194 ratings

I'm a fan of Pyrat XO. I am looker forward to adding a bottle of the more expensive Cash 1623 to my collection. So many rums, so little time... and money. Pyrat XO is a great everyday sipper. It is not too expensive and is usually on the shelf at the PA stores.

Posted over 7 years ago by Scott T from United States with 120 ratings

Not undrinkable orange rum liqueur, but the lingering artificial aftertaste puts me off. For a similar rum that is miles better try Clement Creole Shrubb.

Posted 7 days ago by abel4us from United States with 7 ratings

Mild in come and taste. A little banana up front mellowing to date at the end. Not the nicest finish. Good for mixing, but not at this price.

Posted 8 days ago by SyreVeeks from United States with 4 ratings

not very smooth. Very astringent. Weird finish..

Posted 11 days ago by Yana from Czech Republic with 17 ratings

Příjemné překvapení v téhle nižší cenové kategorii.

Posted 12 days ago by Jimmy Cliff from United States with 32 ratings

It pains me to give this rum a 5 rating, but I would rarely drink it again. This was my favorite rum 15 years ago before they sold to Padron. The old seeded glass bottles I collected, but the current day product is heavily scented and taste of orange like a bit of Padron Citronge mixed in. Will not buy again only with drink at bar if other options Bacardi white or Captain Morgan. Not that there’s anything wrong with those two but mixing only.

Posted 17 days ago by ponnet from Belgium with 2 ratings

Nice bottle,
First taste was ok..
But second was like any other cheaper bottle

Posted 18 days ago by evil-G-nius from United States with 6 ratings

This is one of the first rums I had that was not typical Bacardi. I like the sweetness and the orange spice. Its a little hot but is still drinkable, but it shines in a rum and coke. This is not a smooth sipper but it will get you by in a pinch

Posted 19 days ago by Cjbspender from Germany with 32 ratings

More a liqueur than a rum, the super-sweet Pyrat is good for some mixing but not straight.

Posted 19 days ago by MartinPrum from Czech Republic with 17 ratings

I was looking forward to tasting Pyrat XO, but probably it is not for me - strong orange flavour and nothing else. Maybe for some mixed drinks, maybe interesting for the first time, but not for sipping unadulterated every evening.

Posted 23 days ago by Hotvw1 from Canada with 37 ratings

I just can’t seem to like this one it almost has a spice flavour and I can’t stand spiced rims.

Posted 30 days ago by Indian1 from Czech Republic with 10 ratings

very strong orange taste and alcohol taste. Smell is great. If you like orange taste you must have it.

Posted about 1 month ago by djspark from Australia with 7 ratings

Yep Orangey, quite liked it but yeah had others that are better.
My go to Appleton 12yo