Posting your rating...
Pyrat XO Reserve rum

Pyrat XO Reserve

Anguilla | Gold

Pyrat XO Rum is produced from nine different Caribbean rums that are blended and then aged up to 15 years in used American sweet oak barrels.

The squat Pyrat XO rum bottle shape is inspired by the typical design of rum bottles kept by pirates and ship captains in the 19th century.

6.2/10 (952 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
15
18
56
66
112
204
261
164
43
13

Rate Pyrat XO Reserve

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


952 Pyrat XO Reserve ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

019476c071fd9a9e14faec5003bbcec3.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 4 years ago by Alan from United States with 83 ratings

The dominance of orange is unmistakable. This is not rum. At best, itʻs a rum liqueur, which is fine if that's what you're looking for.

5fba184d86ceacdda03816f4ef31b925.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 6 months ago by Ormondefg from Ireland with 7 ratings

The box and bottle are great looking, so I expected the rum to be as well. Quite disappointed in the flavor. Tasted like sugar candy, and not in a good way! Let it sit and breathe in a sifter for 24 hours...still horrible. So I let it breathe for another 48 hours and added an ice cube. Still terrible, so I threw the bottle away. Doesn't taste like rum at all....tastes like a low quality brandy, mixed with a low quality snapps.

Bf1617f4554142a36d022aca3a04408d.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Lebby from Canada with 20 ratings

This rum is simply average. I expected a lot more flavor and less burn for the price. I wouldn’t quite say disappointed, but certainly not a “wow” either. Drink your friends, don’t buy your own.

3ef01d6656022d5c920fd0b5825fe8d0.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Dan from United Kingdom with 38 ratings

Smooth, with just the right amount of fire at the end. Will be drinking again.

21e8c30b00999efd4072bde255a9495e.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Benedikt from Czech Republic with 3 ratings

I really love this rum and i dont know why it jas such a bad review. Great orange taste and no aftertaste.

0dba478c8844ec2dcca8181f6564cb53.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Anders Hallingstrom from Sweden with 4 ratings

No, this is just not a rum in my liking. Too syntetic and the taste and smell of orange is taking over everything else! It gets a little better as I let it breath for somewhat 15-20 minutes, but its still the worst one I've ever bought. The bottle is lovely thou, so that gets the rate to get up from 2 to 3.

728ec5b6ed86280ed3a0db9cb9861cc8.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Andy from United Kingdom with 143 ratings

There’s no doubt Pyrat is a unique rum. Nose isn’t appealing to me, and hard to distinguish as it’s not a typical rum nose - slightly floral and fruity. Taste is slightly better, I get orange, cinnamon, and a little slice. Not a good finish, short and rubbery. I could envision some liking the uniqueness, but it’s not for me. Might as well give it a try.

033bcee20b6b058cb5be71854cf6e100.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Snookerman from United Kingdom with 121 ratings

I find this ok, but not worth all the hype. If you want orange, I can think of better rums and drinks; if you want rum, there are way better rums. It's ok, but if I wanted something orange, I think Rumbullion is much more interesting.

B266681f71b804fc89bcd248d0c3b4f2.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Ryan from United States with 25 ratings

Pryat was too citrus for me to enjoy neat. Gave it to a friend who liked it as a mixer.

B0d9c85bed13f5a167e01d57c098bde9.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Keith Brockmiller from United States with 26 ratings

I bought the drink package on my last cruise, and I saw this on the shelf, and had to try it. No internet to read reviews. Turns out it was to expensive for my plan (go figure) so I paid the difference. I could finish it but just barely. It has that same cloying taste I don't like about Jamaican rums. Maybe, as they others said, Orange was the 1st impression. I switched to Ron Zacapa 23, which also wasn't on my plan, but has the flavor I look for.

D0de005e1293772f585707e1454fbaa1.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Raquel from United States with 3 ratings

Not a good drink.. too strong, tastes like orange but not pleasant