Posting your rating...
Pyrat XO Reserve rum

Pyrat XO Reserve

Anguilla | Gold | 40.0% ABV

Pyrat XO Rum is produced from nine different Caribbean rums that are blended and then aged up to 15 years in used American sweet oak barrels.

The squat Pyrat XO rum bottle shape is inspired by the typical design of rum bottles kept by pirates and ship captains in the 19th century.

6.1/10
1054 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
18
20
63
73
128
232
292
168
45
15

Rate Pyrat XO Reserve

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

1054 Pyrat XO Reserve ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Bob from United States with 74 ratings

Didn't really like it. Initial taste reminded me of taking children's orange triamenic cough syrup as a kid. That seems rather specifically bad doesn't it? I want to believe the one reviewer who said it needs to breath to be good, but I'm sure all rum is better after breathing and I don't want to wait 2 hours before sipping 1 glass of rum. Love the bottle and presentation but it's just not good.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by jingis from Slovakia with 20 ratings

Prijemne piticko. Nádherná pomarančová vôňa a taktiež aj chuť.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Kubit from Czech Republic with 32 ratings

Pro mě to je mimozemšťan mezi rumy, citrusy na mě z lahve křičí jak prase, je to snad cejtit na metry. Tento rum si dokážu představit jak popíjím někde u moře i s ledem a je mi horko a chci něco osvěžujícího s alkoholem....pak asi jo, jinak moc ne. Tento rum pít pouze samostatně, tedy neochutnávat jiné rumy během jednoho večera, pak jakože ok....ale tento rum si už pořizovat nebudu.
Nutno dodat že je to určitě originální a zajímavej rum, své fans jistě bude mít.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Adam97060 from United States with 5 ratings

I started my rum adventure here. It was great for a $25 bottle, however, I've since experienced much better rums. I got hints of citrus in this one and not a lot else. Very good for this price, but don't have too high of expectations. Probably wouldn't purchase again.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by bstix85 from United States with 3 ratings

This rum is sold at almost a top shelf price. You are clearly paying for the fancy bottle because the rum inside is not great. In my opinion it had a rubbing alcohol smell and taste.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Shaymus from Canada with 7 ratings

Fruity with nice notes of apricot and a little vanilla. Great in Mai Tai’s.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Schmid from Switzerland with 52 ratings

...label is not the only thing beeing orange on this rum. When I had the pyrat XO for the first time it felt like having an orange in my mouth. Actually not what I do expect of a non spiced or flavored rum😉

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Chris from Canada with 7 ratings

Very nice rum, well priced and kept in freezer for sipping.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Gravy from United Kingdom with 22 ratings

Too sweet, too much citrus, a weird synthetic chemical taste.
I read the review from Chris who said that it needs time, but if I pour a glass, I want to drink it. I don't want to leave it sitting for 2 hours whilst it settles down. Maybe when I go on holiday, I'll get a shot of it and let it sit for a bit, but I can't imagine I would ever go out and buy a bottle.

In summary, if you want a nice sweet rum with more than a little character, don't get this, get a Diplomatice Reserva Exclusiva.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by craig72 from Canada with 42 ratings

I waited a long time to try this. But. This didn't really taste like rum, to me. An artificial orangey flavor lay beneath an astringent-style alcohol-taste that lacked any real character that appealed to my palate, but to each his/her own. Drink what you like, of course, but I'm passing on this, if I ever see it again. Sorry.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by jiri.tutsch from Czech Republic with 24 ratings

Tohle mi doporucili v obchode, kdyz dosel Don Papa. Prodavajici byl asi novacek a nebo jeden (ci oba) z techto rumu neochutnal! Ostrejsi rum, koreni - skorice, kardamon, vanilka.