Posting your rating...
Pyrat XO Reserve rum

Pyrat XO Reserve

Anguilla | Gold

Pyrat XO Rum is produced from nine different Caribbean rums that are blended and then aged up to 15 years in used American sweet oak barrels.

The squat Pyrat XO rum bottle shape is inspired by the typical design of rum bottles kept by pirates and ship captains in the 19th century.

6.2/10 (953 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
15
18
56
66
113
204
261
164
43
13

Rate Pyrat XO Reserve

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


953 Pyrat XO Reserve ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ee9838836519cd539b0dcbab5771c048.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 6 years ago by N Bishop from United States with 18 ratings

I find this rum to be lighter tasting than most rums. Smooth and interesting enough to warrant buying again, but a bit too expensive for regular purchase. I recommend this one for non-rum people buying a rum for mixed drinks that aren't cola based, as the "rum" flavor isn't overly pronounced. Great bottle and packaging, nice to see companies put the effort into packaging without going over the top (ahem, vodka manufacturers).

10d5fceb9c19e7b2d8ef51faf313fb3a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Max from United States with 8 ratings

If they blend 9 runs to come up with one they might want to add a tenth. Ok to blend with coke but I like to sip and it just dosnt get there.

4b0ab8327dad1f72500d412b3f88dc4e.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Frederick Lussier from Canada with 121 ratings

Vraiment trop aromatisé sur l'orange. Singulier. Un verre, pas plus

45c5b0f3517918fa9091a8438da0f4d5.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by angelo from Italy with 3 ratings

Non è il mio preferito ma fra gli altri mi ha colpito.

Af1b2cb2e18c94a68756bd940d7fd511.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Nielf from Denmark with 127 ratings

Duften er meget syntetisk, og smagen har heller ikke meget at byde på. Appelsinsmagen er alt for overdøvende.

59d4d40af9d49e633aa431317327c4b3.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Bretty from United Kingdom with 1 rating

You should try this with ginger beer. One nice dark and stormy is produced

5a74bc158e0cfd01d78dbc828fce2489.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Chio from United Kingdom with 14 ratings

Not sure what ‘extra’ they put in this. Really not great. Prob best mixed with coke, if only to hide the artificial flavouring added.

3717f43ebab9532fb310157406aa4988.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by kventin from Hungary with 28 ratings

Fuhhh...illat : narancs illóolaj,mandarin,édes fa ,kevés vanília ..íze citrusos ,édeskés, pici narancshéjos kesernye...kapott hideget-meleget ez az ital, pedig szerintem semmi gond nincs vele,csak más mint a többi . Órákig tudnám szagolgatni :)

61ed3a196a5a4359a40670104e6148e1.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 326 ratings

I have never seen such a widespread ratings for rum reviews as this one, so I just had to plunk down only $16 for a full bottle of this one. Yes, it is now going for two thirds of it's suggested retail price and since Anguilla was hit very hard by Hurricane Irma last year, those who love this one had better scoop up the bargains while they can. As for me, I always called it poor man's Gran Marnier and refused to buy it until this very low price was too good to pass up.

Yup! Sure enough, the aroma and taste are pure artificial orange. I can now continue to call it poor man's Gran Marnier. As a sipper, this is just awful. Some can be fooled into thinking that this is a very exotic taste, but not this puppy. Adding ice cubes helps it out a bit. But as we all know to use spiced rums as seasoning for drinks, there is just no telling how much this one could ruin an otherwise good tropical drink with it's artificial flavors. However, it works very well with two parts cold pineapple juice and one part of Pyrat XO.

I also took the advice of Chris from Austria who has the most votes for this rum. He advised us to let it breathe for two hours, but I let it breathe for three hours. Still no hope because I hate the artificial orange flavoring. So I added a whole can of CoCo Rico coconut soda to this two ounces, which saved these couple of ounces of Pyrat from going down the drain even though this combination was not better than with pineapple juice.

One thing about getting stuck owning bottles of rum rated between 2 and 4 is that it forces one's creativity to reach it's full potential. I already mentioned pineapple juice, but that is too obvious and simple. However, this combination worked like I would have never guessed in a million years. It was inspired by the few bottles that I want to get out of my sight and can't wait to get rid of. Try 1 part Pyrat XO, 1 part Malibu Black, and 2 parts Ruby Red grapefruit juice. Trader Vic and Don The Beachcomber would be mighty proud to declare this drink as their own if they were alive today. Adding Bumbu was another experiment that ruined perfection. If it works, don't fix it.

1809c348b0b7981d5daf9be951b4be2b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Petr Muzika from Czech Republic with 11 ratings

Tento rum mě příliš neoslnil. V popředí je jeho hodně agresivní chuť, která pro mě zabíjí ostatní vjemny, které bych zde mohl cítit...

6567cf3f0fee17bbe2ca2551e138c12e.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Yves Taillon from Canada with 5 ratings

This one is really different from everything out there. Very smooth but feels like a blend of rum and orange liquor. None the less interesting when you feel for something more sweet. Not as woody and complex as I would like for 15 years old.