Posting your rating...
Pyrat XO Reserve rum

Pyrat XO Rum is produced from nine different Caribbean rums that are blended and then aged up to 15 years in used American sweet oak barrels.

The squat Pyrat XO rum bottle shape is inspired by the typical design of rum bottles kept by pirates and ship captains in the 19th century.

Rate Pyrat XO Reserve

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


926 Pyrat XO Reserve ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 5 years ago by Chris from Austria with 3 ratings

The Pyrat is kind of an intricate treat to enjoy. I opened the bottle, poured it in the tumbler and smelled it. What the....!? What's this tang? Is this alcohol fuel? Nonetheless I sipped it. Ohhhhh dear! How did the cleanser wind up in this awesome rum bottle!? So I left the tumbler alone, read the reviews and couldn't stop wondering about the extremely dissenting opinions. Some say it's god's gift to man, others say they wouldn't feed this dog's piss to their worst enemy.

I'm careful with 1 pointers as there's always the possibility of stumbling across the liquid spawn of hell, but I dead sure was ready to dish out my first 2 point review. On the other hand the very good reviews intrigued me enough to give it time and to let it breathe.

After 30 minutes: 2 out of 10. Very sharp smell, very one-dimensional taste.
After 1 hour: What's this? Is there actual taste under the layer of kerosene? We are getting somewhere: 5/10.
After 2 hours: BAMM! There it is! Cinnamon, vanilla, sherry and of course the dominant flavour of orange. The smell is godly, as is the taste that follows. Rich, mellow, well balanced. I could taste all the flavours I smelled before. This rum is really excellent, as long as you give it time to breath and evolve from terrible to bearable to impeccable. I sipped it as seen on the picture. Straight up, no ice, handwarm. For the price the Pyrat XO is a steal.

Posted over 5 years ago by bill from United States with 88 ratings

Its very good but honestly, if I am going to spend the money, I would rather spend the extra five and get a bottle of Cruzan Single Barrel. I am hoping try the Pyrat Cask 1623 someday.

Posted over 5 years ago by Lawrence Greb from United States with 7 ratings

Pyrat rum does bite. I find it very rough. Citrus taste and strong..I'll pass...

Posted over 5 years ago by lo from Belgium with 20 ratings

Très chouette rhum pour pas cher et assez différents.

Une odeur et un goût d'agrume avec un retour typique de rhum.

Limite proche d'un grand Marnier avec le caractère caramel d'un rhum classique.

Déroutant mais sympa, maintenant faut pas être gêner par ce côté zeste...

Posted over 5 years ago by Tutor from France with 19 ratings

Assez grande déception pour ce rhum qui a clairement un goût d'orange synthétiques (rappelle les médicaments à l'orange).

Posted over 5 years ago by Eanousa from United States with 54 ratings

This is a smooth and unusual rum for me, the citrus flavor overwhelmed everything, very different to the rum flavors I go for. Would not be surprised if someone gave this to me blind and said it was a orange derived liqueur. The packaging is neat but I probably won't be restocking this till Xmas!

Posted over 5 years ago by AP from Finland with 9 ratings

Also sweetened, but way more badly than Zacapa 23 solera. Bottle is told to be hand made.

Posted over 5 years ago by Brion from United States with 26 ratings

always enjoy this one and can usually find a good sale on it. Bottle was perfect for my pirate Halloween costume.

Posted over 5 years ago by Casi 1896 from Germany with 24 ratings

Sehr fruchtiger Rum. Sehr lecker und mild. Demara Rum... Hoti der Schutzpatron der Barkeeper ;-)

Posted over 5 years ago by Alexandr from Russian Federation with 1 rating

Too much oranges. It looks not natural. I didn't like it. For girls.

Posted over 5 years ago by RumRiley from United States with 1 rating

is this the best rum i have ever had? the answer is no. but for the price ($23.00) its the best rum out there i would drink this over captain morgan or sailor jerry any day of the week. its very smooth with notes of orange, vanilla and some smoke to finish it off .

Posted over 5 years ago by rumroel from Netherlands with 22 ratings

het ruikt naar de shampoo van mij vrouw maar smaakt naar meer

Posted over 5 years ago by David Hollander from Netherlands with 23 ratings

Pyrat XO is een complexe blend van geselecteerde Caribische rums die tot 15 jaar hebben gerijpt in Franse Limousine en zoete Amerikaanse eikenhouten vaten.

Kleur: amber
Geur: zwaar en zoet met hints van marsepijn en vanille
Smaak: bitter-zoet, enigzins fruitig, zeer vol en zwaar
Afdronk: zeer lang

Pyrat XO Reserve is een prachtige Rum, uitermate geschikt is om puur van te genieten.

Posted over 5 years ago by russ from United States with 6 ratings

If you enjoy sweet, cloyish grand marnier cough medicines you will like this, as for me, not so much...tried it in a rumgita and it was ok, but no way could I force it down neat, warm or with ice, best part was the budda belly medallion with the god of drink around the bottle's neck.

Posted over 5 years ago by Jake Mlezina from Czech Republic with 16 ratings

unlike the others, i dont mind the orange and all the shades of the taste there, its rather different from what i have had. Juicy and fruity, its somewhat weird to say when comes to alcohol, at the begining it had strong taste but then fruity flavours appeared and kept it till the end. I would call it sweet. Also strange/unique combination is with coke, not exactly i could directly describe, still eligible for drink shots too.

Posted over 5 years ago by cesar from Switzerland with 24 ratings

odeur d'orange agréable, première bouche gout d'alcool un peu violent pour ensuite laisser place à la douceur et à un gout fin d'orange et d'agrume mais pas chimique de type grand marnier. pour le prix il ne faut pas sen priver.

Posted over 5 years ago by Mario from United States with 18 ratings

Simple, not to exciting just simple everyday rum. Binny's for 19.99

Posted over 5 years ago by Aarvaag from Norway with 32 ratings

Lite rom for pengene. Gir ingen annen opplevelse enn at den smaker appelsin. Fin flaske men ellers ikke noe å hoppe i taket for

Posted over 5 years ago by Chris Williamson from Canada with 81 ratings

a great find. This rum does not disappoint great flavours that make it something to share.

Posted over 5 years ago by Marek from Slovakia with 3 ratings

Really good and nice rum. Smooth and gentle. I love it.

Posted over 5 years ago by Solarus from United States with 1 rating

Hate to disappoint, but as a cognac drinker the last thing I expect after opening a bottle is a strong punch of acetone in my nose. I truly hope that I bought a dud. The initial stink is simply horrid!

Posted over 5 years ago by YMHC from Netherlands with 160 ratings

herkomst: Guyana
abv: 40% (zeer zacht)
presentatie: prachtige 70cl. fles met versiersels.
aroma: eikenhout, citrus fruit, aarde.
smaak: zoet, karamel, vanille, eikenhout, sinaasappel, aarde.
nasmaak: van zoet naar droog, citrus, karamel. Houd lang aan.

Al met al een volgens mij prima ,maar aparte, rum. Aanrader om eens te proberen.

Edit:
24 gr/liter suiker, punt minder.

Posted over 5 years ago by El Julian from United States with 20 ratings

I know people say it's "sweet" but for me it's very smooth and I enjoy it either straight up or with coke.

Posted over 5 years ago by Kurt Van Laar from United States with 2 ratings

A good sipping rum not so good in the kitchen it works with creps

Posted over 5 years ago by Ben from United States with 3 ratings

i like this rum neat and chilled, it reminds me of Grand Marnier and Cointreau cordials. To me this is a light bodied rum with mild flavoring and a smooth after taste not to be paired with a cigar.