Posting your rating...
Pyrat XO Reserve rum

Pyrat XO Reserve

Anguilla | Gold

Pyrat XO Rum is produced from nine different Caribbean rums that are blended and then aged up to 15 years in used American sweet oak barrels.

The squat Pyrat XO rum bottle shape is inspired by the typical design of rum bottles kept by pirates and ship captains in the 19th century.

6.1/10 (1012 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
17
18
59
71
122
220
280
168
43
14

Rate Pyrat XO Reserve

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

1012 Pyrat XO Reserve ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Bob from United States with 74 ratings

Didn't really like it. Initial taste reminded me of taking children's orange triamenic cough syrup as a kid. That seems rather specifically bad doesn't it? I want to believe the one reviewer who said it needs to breath to be good, but I'm sure all rum is better after breathing and I don't want to wait 2 hours before sipping 1 glass of rum. Love the bottle and presentation but it's just not good.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Logoscripto from Greece with 12 ratings

I read a review of someone here that said that it must breathe. He is absolutely right. At first i was also disappointed with the smell and taste. I felt that it should breathe cause i could smell the alcohol in it. I didn't let it that much as the fellow said but after one hour is perfect.

Small dsc 0175

Posted over 2 years ago by Dimitris from Greece with 79 ratings

Strange rum not like most, you feel very strong orange taste but not nice orange taste something like artificial and overall a mess with little sweetnes.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Jason from United States with 76 ratings

I've read a lot of reviews about this rum and finally decided to try it. It has a nice aroma, and a decent flavor, but there is a little too much orange. It can be a sipper or mixed, but if you sip I hope you like Grand Marnier.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by O'Neill from Czech Republic with 15 ratings

Even though it has a very nice bottle, it is not an extraordinary thing in my opinion. Maybe he is good with a coke, but I'm glad I tried only one glass instead of buying the whole bottle. Pyrat has a very aggressive taste with difficult to specify tones, which seems chemical. It may be worth trying, but rather prefer something else in this segment.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Berger from France with 28 ratings

je ne suis pas convaincu, je n'aime pas du tout le whisky et ce rhum s'en rapproche trop, il sent le whisky et a un arrière goût de whisky très prononcé, j'ai eu du mal.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Rick schoen from United States with 5 ratings

.....................................................

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by JOE Fagiano from Italy with 15 ratings

Really a great solera Rhum!
The density is medium-high, typical from melassa of sugar cane.
The smell is well balaced from the sweet and the alcool, first zip is really great, sweet, vanilla, wood and caramel, but after few second become smooth and you get the expeted alcool effect. Stay in the mouth for longer pleasure.
Price/ Quality 9 stars

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Ian Nebbett from United States with 1 rating

Raw at first. Develops nicely if left to air for several minutes after the pour. Prominent notes of orange & vanilla. Good value at +/- $25.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by JBD from United States with 10 ratings

Not a good rum, very harsh and taste like gas. I might choose it over Barcardi as a mixer, but barely.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by robert75 from Czech Republic with 16 ratings

I read a lot of positive reviews , but I am so disappointed with this rum
The best part of this liquid is bottle. very nice.
Smell and flavour are the same....ethanol + orange, very artificial ... spirit is so sharp.