Posting your rating...
Pyrat XO Reserve rum

Pyrat XO Reserve

Anguilla | Gold

Pyrat XO Rum is produced from nine different Caribbean rums that are blended and then aged up to 15 years in used American sweet oak barrels.

The squat Pyrat XO rum bottle shape is inspired by the typical design of rum bottles kept by pirates and ship captains in the 19th century.

6.1/10 (986 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
15
18
57
70
120
214
270
165
43
14

Rate Pyrat XO Reserve

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


986 Pyrat XO Reserve ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Anders from Denmark with 4 ratings

Too sweet , to much orange ! But i recon the Ladies Would like it !

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Mephisto from Germany with 38 ratings

Some citrus and clementine in the nose together with a chemical flavour. A little bit too bitter for me with a short finish only. All in all a synthetic taste, not my favorite.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Sunstreaker from United States with 7 ratings

This is the nastiest rum I have ever had. All burn and no flavor. Yuck, never again.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Elbert Bakker from Netherlands with 12 ratings

Someone, in discussion on whisk(e)y and other aquavits poited out that rums among other spirits such as cognac, brandy, armagnac and calvados also would complement my spirits collection. Bingo, what a surpise.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Pat Bou from Canada with 92 ratings

bon rhum. Me fait pensée a du grand marnier. Ce descend très bien.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Rei from Germany with 101 ratings

nose reveals nice notes of cane and vanilla. Palate has minor burn and is dominated by sweet tones of candied fruits (citrus and orange). This is not a complex rum. Finish continues the sweet aroma profile, the orange flavor hereby asserting the predominat role. So if you are looking for some fruity and not too complex rum this might be an interesting option.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by 5xo from Slovakia with 256 ratings

The taste is nothing special, mostly alcohol, although in the background you notice an interesting orange flavor. Not bad, but it is still a orange liquor instead of rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Andrew B from United States with 1 rating

Have seen this on sale for as little as $15.00. A great presentation and a good rum to use with mixers or all alone. A bit of a syrup taste and some hints of orange.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Carl from United States with 25 ratings

This is a mixer, not a sipper. Calling this xo is an insult to other runs.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Glenn from United States with 20 ratings

Being a novice to rums and tiki drinks I picked this up due to its price point (on sale for under $20!) and shelf appeal. I looked at reviews before getting this stuff home, mostly from this site and was having second thoughts after reading reviews saying it tasted like oranges and smelled like cleaner.

I tried it neat and didn't find overwhelming orange or cleaner taste or smell, just a hint of orange. Sometime after, I was mixing up some tiki drinks and decided to use this for a aged rum in a Nui Nui. Wonderful. Couple days later, threw it in a Cobra's Fang. Fantastic. I decided to do another tasting but this time side by side with a few other rums for reverence. I could definitely taste a citrus influence this time, perhaps my sinuses were compromised during my first tasting, who knows.

I would not recommend this rum for sipping but in certain situations it seems to do well. If you can get it on sale and are looking for a aged rum to put in citrus drinks, try it stuff out.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Greg Jackson from United States with 6 ratings

On an RV trip to Anaheim, stopped into the local liquor store, had a choice between Bacardi (yuk), Appleton estates and Pyrat XO so I decided to be adventurous and got the Pyrat.

I opened up the very cool bottle and poured a drink neat. Didn’t have a huge nose. Took a sip and it was ok. Had some vanilla and some orange hints to it and Was fairly smooth. Next day, needed a drink for the pool so poured a rum and coke. It didn’t really come through in the coke so probably will keep drinking it neat. There are better runs out there but if U can get a good deal on it, try it.