Posting your rating...
Pyrat XO Reserve rum

Pyrat XO Reserve

Anguilla | Gold

Pyrat XO Rum is produced from nine different Caribbean rums that are blended and then aged up to 15 years in used American sweet oak barrels.

The squat Pyrat XO rum bottle shape is inspired by the typical design of rum bottles kept by pirates and ship captains in the 19th century.

6.2/10 (940 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
15
18
54
66
111
203
260
158
42
13

Rate Pyrat XO Reserve

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


940 Pyrat XO Reserve ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

03120dd7f964534b6ce27c901c84bb41.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Randy from United States with 5 ratings

I quite enjoy sipping Pyrat. It is very smooth, with slight--but not overpowering--citrus notes.

Af1b2cb2e18c94a68756bd940d7fd511.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Nielf from Denmark with 121 ratings

Duften er meget syntetisk, og smagen har heller ikke meget at byde på. Appelsinsmagen er alt for overdøvende.

59d4d40af9d49e633aa431317327c4b3.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Bretty from United Kingdom with 1 rating

You should try this with ginger beer. One nice dark and stormy is produced

5a74bc158e0cfd01d78dbc828fce2489.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Chio from United Kingdom with 14 ratings

Not sure what ‘extra’ they put in this. Really not great. Prob best mixed with coke, if only to hide the artificial flavouring added.

3717f43ebab9532fb310157406aa4988.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by kventin from Hungary with 28 ratings

Fuhhh...illat : narancs illóolaj,mandarin,édes fa ,kevés vanília ..íze citrusos ,édeskés, pici narancshéjos kesernye...kapott hideget-meleget ez az ital, pedig szerintem semmi gond nincs vele,csak más mint a többi . Órákig tudnám szagolgatni :)

61ed3a196a5a4359a40670104e6148e1.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 310 ratings

I have never seen such a widespread ratings for rum reviews as this one, so I just had to plunk down only $16 for a full bottle of this one. Yes, it is now going for two thirds of it's suggested retail price and since Anguilla was hit very hard by Hurricane Irma last year, those who love this one had better scoop up the bargains while they can. As for me, I always called it poor man's Gran Marnier and refused to buy it until this very low price was too good to pass up.

Yup! Sure enough, the aroma and taste are pure artificial orange. I can now continue to call it poor man's Gran Marnier. As a sipper, this is just awful. Some can be fooled into thinking that this is a very exotic taste, but not this puppy. Adding ice cubes helps it out a bit. But as we all know to use spiced rums as seasoning for drinks, there is just no telling how much this one could ruin an otherwise good tropical drink with it's artificial flavors. However, it works very well with two parts cold pineapple juice and one part of Pyrat XO.

I also took the advice of Chris from Austria who has the most votes for this rum. He advised us to let it breathe for two hours, but I let it breathe for three hours. Still no hope because I hate the artificial orange flavoring. So I added a whole can of CoCo Rico coconut soda to this two ounces, which saved these couple of ounces of Pyrat from going down the drain even though this combination was not better than with pineapple juice.

One thing about getting stuck owning bottles of rum rated between 2 and 4 is that it forces one's creativity to reach it's full potential. I already mentioned pineapple juice, but that is too obvious and simple. However, this combination worked like I would have never guessed in a million years. It was inspired by the few bottles that I want to get out of my sight and can't wait to get rid of. Try 1 part Pyrat XO, 1 part Malibu Black, and 2 parts Ruby Red grapefruit juice. Trader Vic and Don The Beachcomber would be mighty proud to declare this drink as their own if they were alive today. Adding Bumbu was another experiment that ruined perfection. If it works, don't fix it.

1809c348b0b7981d5daf9be951b4be2b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Petr Muzika from Czech Republic with 11 ratings

Tento rum mě příliš neoslnil. V popředí je jeho hodně agresivní chuť, která pro mě zabíjí ostatní vjemny, které bych zde mohl cítit...

6567cf3f0fee17bbe2ca2551e138c12e.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Yves Taillon from Canada with 5 ratings

This one is really different from everything out there. Very smooth but feels like a blend of rum and orange liquor. None the less interesting when you feel for something more sweet. Not as woody and complex as I would like for 15 years old.

40825f693679e600635e4740ce686f66.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Chris from United States with 2 ratings

Just your average dark rum, good with a mixer, but always available

078245a64f744113bd02d5bc090b754d.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Alaska Joe from United States with 34 ratings

After reading hordes of reviews and seeing the product in the store forever I decided to give it a try. 9.99 for the 375 bottle, had to go for it. The pour was unusual from the get go. An atypical color and scent right from the bottle. Small sip.... hmmm.. I let it sit 20 minutes and hit it again. Better, mellowed the alcohol taste and gave me a very sweet orange flavor with rum behind it. It was a bit like a rum and Sunkist soda, with a little extra soda. Not bad, but not the flavor profile I expected. I’ll be god damned if I’m gonna let my drink sit out for hours trying to find its sweet spot. I am going to re visit this bottle in a week or two and re-review my findings, but for now it’s a unique rum with a great marketing campaign with mediocre contents.

22bdcbc8af23ccd2b91ceb1a57f9eeb5.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by xCorporalx (PREMIUM) from Germany with 81 ratings

...read a lot of reviews about this one, so I had to buy it.

At first it smelled and tastes terrible...so I let it breathe for about 90 minutes...

Oh man, what a change...180° :)

Tasty and smells so yummy...you should like orange though.

7 to a 7.4...it sucks that you have to wait for so long to enjoy it...but it is worth it.

Tip: let it breathe for at least the 90 minutes and enjoy meanwhile another rum...