Posting your rating...
Pyrat XO Reserve rum

Pyrat XO Rum is produced from nine different Caribbean rums that are blended and then aged up to 15 years in used American sweet oak barrels.

The squat Pyrat XO rum bottle shape is inspired by the typical design of rum bottles kept by pirates and ship captains in the 19th century.

Rate Pyrat XO Reserve

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


924 Pyrat XO Reserve ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 1 year ago by Jack from United States with 27 ratings

Pyrat is ok. Very citrusy and grassy. Not the smoothest but offers a change from other rums.

Posted about 5 years ago by Jonny Olsson from Sweden with 162 ratings

I was disappointed over this rum that I have heard som much about. I also read among others that the taste used to be better in the paste.

Posted about 5 years ago by taz.c from France with 84 ratings

un parfum d'orange rappelant le grand marnier
pas le meilleur des rhum pour une dégustation, mais s'accorde très bien avec un gâteau au chocolat, ou un morceau de chocolat.

Posted about 5 years ago by Mikey from Germany with 6 ratings

... wird auch diesen Rum lieben. Wer nichts mit dieser Frucht anfangen kann, sollte dir Finger davon lassen.

Posted about 5 years ago by Eric Montgomery from United States with 23 ratings

I was surprised to run across this being offered at the "Red Frog Rum Bar" while poolside on a recent Carnival Cruise. What's a rum sot to do? Drink it of course! I was a little surprised by the lightness of this rum. It had a nice easy orange finish with just a tad of anise on the back end. Good Stuff and definitely worth picking up if you're looking for something a little different.

Posted about 5 years ago by hyenik from Czech Republic with 110 ratings

nice pirate´s bottle, strong perfume aroma, more citrus liqueur than rum.
Only expected smoother taste.

Posted about 5 years ago by Cezary from United States with 20 ratings

I bought it for a rum tasting with my friends. My expectations were very high due to its premium packaging, XO promise and the fact it's a part of the Patron Spirits noble portfolio. Well, the rum is a big disappointment, at best. I wouldn't give it more than 5 points. I gave it 7 overall, for nice packaging. It makes a perfect gift for somebody you won't be drinking with.

Posted about 5 years ago by Grand Master Jay from United Kingdom with 80 ratings

This tasted like orange liquor. If you appreciate sipping rum then don't waste your time with this. Far better things to try.

Mixed with cola mkes this drinkable

Posted about 5 years ago by karl from United States with 10 ratings

its very sweet close to a Grand Marnier but for around $ 27
I bought a bottle and it is already half empty, so try it and see for yourself.

Posted about 5 years ago by Bill M from United States with 1 rating

If you sip it right away a bit harsh. I read Chris from Austria's review and let it breathe in glass for 2 hours. Orange, vanilla smell is wonderful. I smell it at least 3 times before sips. Light Orange and vanilla flavor when sipping, very smooth start with a smokey finish with a slight burn which some people do not like but i enjoy. I am a beginner rum drinker and have some rum jumbie which is sweet and over powering, i can mix it with pyrat and the sweetness is lessened, interesting mix. If you want to lighten up the rum mix with one ice cube and some ginger beer and you will be grinning.

Posted about 5 years ago by Linus from Switzerland with 13 ratings

If you like it sweet then this is a good rum for you in my opinion. Pure or with coke.

Posted about 5 years ago by marcus from Germany with 2 ratings

Der Pyrat stammt von einem der besten Tequila Herstellern, Patron und der hat doch schon ganz gut gezeigt wasan an Aromen in so einen Rum stecken kann.
Die Flasche hat einen hohen Wiedererkennungswert und passt sehr gut zum Inhalt. Der Korken und die Etikette. Wirken ebenfalls aufwendig.

Im Glas und auch schon beim öffnen der Flasche verströmen angenehme Noten von Vanille und Orange. Im Grunde über wiegt hier der Duft von Zitrusfrüchten was nicht jedem gefällt.

Im Mund hat der Xo einen kurzen Spritzigen Antritt wird dann aber wieder von den Früchten und der Vanille oder auch butterscotch eingeholt.

Posted about 5 years ago by mistervee from United States with 10 ratings

I'm beginning to doubt my own tastes after reading some of the other reviews, but in this price range, Pyrat is right up there with Pusser's Navy Rum and others in the 8 ratings. Hint of sweetness with good taste and just a bit of lush viscosity. A family fave and a staple in our cabinets.

Posted about 5 years ago by Juno from United States with 51 ratings

Cool Bottle, but the rum was so so. Hints of fruits and flowers, the rum isn't flavorful enough to drink on the rocks or straight up, but goes well with cola.

Posted about 5 years ago by R.Ennell from Canada with 28 ratings

I was nicely surprised by this (Okay, I confess, I originally bought this bottle because I thought it was cute...) intriguing little rum.
At around $50 a bottle it's not exactly "drown in coke" rum, but it's not in the Appleton Estate's Master Blenders territory either, and that's around the $80 mark.
It does though, have a singularity that puts it in a class by itself; It can only be described as something halfway between that syrupy orange/tangerine taste of Grand Marnier and the sharp alcoholic mandarin orange taste of Cointreau.
Add to that a dash of vanilla and, voila, a uniquely different, immensely pleasurable sipping rum.

Posted about 5 years ago by Scott Stephen from France with 11 ratings

I had such found memories of this rum back in 1998-2001. However I finally got my hands on a bottle for Christmas this year (2014) and I was disappointed. The rum has changed, much less smooth than I remember. It is still sippable, but I would almost want to throw some ice in.
Still a nice rum.

Posted about 5 years ago by Cannon Cunningham from Canada with 6 ratings

A decent rum. A little over priced in my neck of the woods.

Posted about 5 years ago by Vesslan 5 from Sweden with 37 ratings

söt

Posted about 5 years ago by Earl from United States with 3 ratings

I try to keep this around as my drinking rum it what I have when I am just wanting a drink or three. Nice Amber color with a smooth finish. Hints of Orange and spice

Posted about 5 years ago by RumBo from United States with 3 ratings

We all know that Pyrat marketing has been phenomenal, but does the rum live up to the renown? That depends.

Many people depend on this rum to be one of their only stocked rums - and what a shame that would be.

This is a niche rum. Part Bacardi, part Grand Marnier, with an odd rush of overwhelming orange nearly rendering the underlying complexity imperceptible, or worse, irrelevant.

Because of its uniqueness and compatibility with citrus juices, stock it in a deep collection for its wonderful oddness - but certainly don't make this a mainstay until you've stocked Flor de Cana and younger Angosturas for cocktails.

Posted about 5 years ago by rgauthier from United States with 4 ratings

i got a deal on this rum and gave it a try. Not bad but I mostly use it for mixed drinks, not straight up. Decent nose but nothing special.

Posted about 5 years ago by joe from United States with 15 ratings

Does havr a strong orange flavor, not unpleasent, finishes with some heat and altogether a nice experience.

Posted about 5 years ago by Surfyguitar from United States with 56 ratings

Pleasant and smooth but with definite orange flavor.

Posted about 5 years ago by bill from United States with 88 ratings

Its very good but honestly, if I am going to spend the money, I would rather spend the extra five and get a bottle of Cruzan Single Barrel. I am hoping try the Pyrat Cask 1623 someday.

Posted over 5 years ago by Lawrence Greb from United States with 7 ratings

Pyrat rum does bite. I find it very rough. Citrus taste and strong..I'll pass...