Posting your rating...
Pyrat XO Reserve rum

Pyrat XO Reserve

Anguilla | Gold

Pyrat XO Rum is produced from nine different Caribbean rums that are blended and then aged up to 15 years in used American sweet oak barrels.

The squat Pyrat XO rum bottle shape is inspired by the typical design of rum bottles kept by pirates and ship captains in the 19th century.

6.1/10(1025 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
17
18
60
72
123
224
286
168
43
14

Rate Pyrat XO Reserve

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

1025 Pyrat XO Reserve ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Martin Kennedy from Australia with 213 ratings

I was really wanting to like this rum but I cant recommend it as a sipper , its too sharp and has a real alcohol bite to it. On a positive note , I dont find the " hand cleaner " smell or the " overpowering smell of oranges " that people keep on about . Has a real short finish and only as a mixer for me , probably wont buy again.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by bstix85 from United States with 3 ratings

This rum is sold at almost a top shelf price. You are clearly paying for the fancy bottle because the rum inside is not great. In my opinion it had a rubbing alcohol smell and taste.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Shaymus from Canada with 6 ratings

Fruity with nice notes of apricot and a little vanilla. Great in Mai Tai’s.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Schmid from Switzerland with 52 ratings

...label is not the only thing beeing orange on this rum. When I had the pyrat XO for the first time it felt like having an orange in my mouth. Actually not what I do expect of a non spiced or flavored rum😉

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Chris from Canada with 7 ratings

Very nice rum, well priced and kept in freezer for sipping.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Gravy from United Kingdom with 22 ratings

Too sweet, too much citrus, a weird synthetic chemical taste.
I read the review from Chris who said that it needs time, but if I pour a glass, I want to drink it. I don't want to leave it sitting for 2 hours whilst it settles down. Maybe when I go on holiday, I'll get a shot of it and let it sit for a bit, but I can't imagine I would ever go out and buy a bottle.

In summary, if you want a nice sweet rum with more than a little character, don't get this, get a Diplomatice Reserva Exclusiva.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by craig72 from Canada with 42 ratings

I waited a long time to try this. But. This didn't really taste like rum, to me. An artificial orangey flavor lay beneath an astringent-style alcohol-taste that lacked any real character that appealed to my palate, but to each his/her own. Drink what you like, of course, but I'm passing on this, if I ever see it again. Sorry.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by jiri.tutsch from Czech Republic with 24 ratings

Tohle mi doporucili v obchode, kdyz dosel Don Papa. Prodavajici byl asi novacek a nebo jeden (ci oba) z techto rumu neochutnal! Ostrejsi rum, koreni - skorice, kardamon, vanilka.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Blarne from Czech Republic with 6 ratings

Po napiti se rozvine ovocna, hlavne pomeranxova chut v prvni chvili ostřejší a korenena. Ale potom se zjemni a zesladne.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by robo_h from Slovakia with 20 ratings

Not bad, not good. Tried this one and it is not my favourite.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by SNAX-EYZ from Canada with 7 ratings

This is an ok sipping rum, but a great rum and coke rum.