Posting your rating...
Pyrat XO Reserve rum

Pyrat XO Reserve

Anguilla | Gold

Pyrat XO Rum is produced from nine different Caribbean rums that are blended and then aged up to 15 years in used American sweet oak barrels.

The squat Pyrat XO rum bottle shape is inspired by the typical design of rum bottles kept by pirates and ship captains in the 19th century.

6.2/10 (950 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
15
18
56
66
112
204
261
162
43
13

Rate Pyrat XO Reserve

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


950 Pyrat XO Reserve ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

840b5757aaeb05d667412d9399e544d2.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by Anthony Soleau from United States with 24 ratings

Not a bad rum to mix a more complex cocktail with.

19c2721f92e691c1ea7c0e4fd3d752a3.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Carl from United States with 22 ratings

This is a mixer, not a sipper. Calling this xo is an insult to other runs.

9558ad72a8549ecf13b2d6147e2511f3.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Glenn from United States with 20 ratings

Being a novice to rums and tiki drinks I picked this up due to its price point (on sale for under $20!) and shelf appeal. I looked at reviews before getting this stuff home, mostly from this site and was having second thoughts after reading reviews saying it tasted like oranges and smelled like cleaner.

I tried it neat and didn't find overwhelming orange or cleaner taste or smell, just a hint of orange. Sometime after, I was mixing up some tiki drinks and decided to use this for a aged rum in a Nui Nui. Wonderful. Couple days later, threw it in a Cobra's Fang. Fantastic. I decided to do another tasting but this time side by side with a few other rums for reverence. I could definitely taste a citrus influence this time, perhaps my sinuses were compromised during my first tasting, who knows.

I would not recommend this rum for sipping but in certain situations it seems to do well. If you can get it on sale and are looking for a aged rum to put in citrus drinks, try it stuff out.

052cc4178b0ba2a3683cd7ce3f4edd38.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Greg Jackson from United States with 6 ratings

On an RV trip to Anaheim, stopped into the local liquor store, had a choice between Bacardi (yuk), Appleton estates and Pyrat XO so I decided to be adventurous and got the Pyrat.

I opened up the very cool bottle and poured a drink neat. Didn’t have a huge nose. Took a sip and it was ok. Had some vanilla and some orange hints to it and Was fairly smooth. Next day, needed a drink for the pool so poured a rum and coke. It didn’t really come through in the coke so probably will keep drinking it neat. There are better runs out there but if U can get a good deal on it, try it.

388e0c2591281bbaa7be3ccdb282b09c.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Steven Richardson from United Kingdom with 124 ratings

Its nice. Not quite smooth enough as a sipper for me. I need to try it with a few mixers though.

E5b6af54ca71a4d2fe618e241d1767d6.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Nico from France with 15 ratings

Un rhum agréable en bouche. Pas trop fort, un peu sucré

6636b563bb1760a62d7598d3dab39fba.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Örjan from Sweden with 60 ratings

Lots of citrus in both aroma and taste. Tastes more like a sweet liqueur (Cointreau) than rum

4804f4435057425d6062da8d16b48f33.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Ondřej Výška from Czech Republic with 40 ratings

Zajímavý. Možná moc pomerančů. Buď chutná nebo ne. Věřím, ze si svoje fanousky najde.

93635c301122dda53575950dc2ebb79e.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Lee Riordan from United Kingdom with 19 ratings

I thought this was a smooth rum and after trying this encouraged me to try others.
Really smart bottle too!
Now I'm a bit more experienced, I paid too much on Amazon for this

3a8412a0759467e414669818fb349c3a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Ken from United States with 71 ratings

Good Aged Flavor, Nice Citrus Overtones, Good Value on Sale. Picked this upon sale. Usually good packaging is a sign of not great beverage, I was wrong. Not quite as good as my “9” rums or the RL Seale brands but a good sipping rum. Don Q Bran Anejo goes back in the pantry for special occasions.

Fadaac9dfc999c5ce86069ed507ba558.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Mark from United States with 1 rating

This is an adulterated alcohol product. Other than (possibly) cane sugar being the source of fermentation, it should not be considered rum.