Posting your rating...
Pyrat XO Reserve rum

Pyrat XO Rum is produced from nine different Caribbean rums that are blended and then aged up to 15 years in used American sweet oak barrels.

The squat Pyrat XO rum bottle shape is inspired by the typical design of rum bottles kept by pirates and ship captains in the 19th century.

Rate Pyrat XO Reserve

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


924 Pyrat XO Reserve ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 3 years ago by Elanita from Czech Republic with 17 ratings

Very good taste. A little bit orange taste, very smooth. The best is with small square of dark chocolate.

Posted over 3 years ago by Dennis from United States with 3 ratings

Who needs fresh squeezed orange juice when you have this.

Posted over 3 years ago by Robert from Slovakia with 39 ratings

When I smelled it for the first time I thought - okay, there is something unpleasant coming through, but I still can smell some fine notes in it, let's sip it. However, after the first sip, I was surprised and disappointed all together. There definitely was some taste telling me this is not a cheap rum, and some fruity things were popping on my tongue as well, which was interesting. Unfortunately, a really bad taste, that I really really hate was coming through as well - not sure how to describe it, but there is kind of alcohol you can find in central/eastern Europe, which was formerly called Rum (a very cheap one), that nowadays can not use the name Rum as it has nothing to do with sugar cane at all. This killed it all, and I would rather trick myself with a shot of Morgan or Jerry, than pay some extra cash in pub for a glass of this. I'm sorry, but not my choice!

Posted over 3 years ago by Alan from United States with 83 ratings

The dominance of orange is unmistakable. This is not rum. At best, itʻs a rum liqueur, which is fine if that's what you're looking for.

Posted over 3 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

find me a pirate who drinks this stuff ! The orange notes are very too present. Maybe on the rocks. But not for me.

Posted over 3 years ago by BigMarcus from United States with 8 ratings

Back in 2005, I was mostly a Cognac guy with the occasional ultra premium Tequila and Scotch added for some variety. I was offered this particular rum by a bartender at Cuba Libre near Downtown Dallas to try. It was certainly better than any rum I had ever tried! But I was use to the typical Bacardi, Captain Morgans of the world. It is for all purposes, a nice starter rum if that is all available at the bar. It is sippable , but has bite. Not very complex. I actually believe it makes a nice mixer if anything.

Posted over 3 years ago by Marek from Slovakia with 30 ratings

quite expensive, quite unpleasant, Bacardi with some orange peel soaked in it. never again.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Martin Jelen from Czech Republic with 77 ratings

Very specific combination of so much citrus (in nose and the mouth) and still pretty harsh taste gives personality to this rum and I like that. It is very easy to describe to others yet its not boring to drink.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Per from Denmark with 45 ratings

It is not the Best rum. However not the worst either. It is drinkable, but not more.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Wolfsgeist from United States with 6 ratings

This is my go to Rum. It has a great flavor that doesn't kill drink tasting nor does it taste like it was a syrup. I am new to the Rum game (have done mostly whisky until now) and have only tried a few but I like to have my cheaper go to drink and some good high end drinks. This fits the cheaper go to standard for parties and just a good drink for the house.

Posted about 4 years ago by Daniel Suk from Czech Republic with 3 ratings

I like the uniqueness, the impossible-to-miss taste and smell of orange. It is also a good starter to a nice evening with degustation - it's has a standalone taste.

No regrets, 8/10 :)

Posted about 4 years ago by Patrik from Slovakia with 5 ratings

Sviezi, pomarancovy, menej vyrazny rumik s nadhernou dochutou.

Posted over 4 years ago by Peter from Estonia with 92 ratings

A friend of mine told that this was one of the best Rums he had ever tasted. Im not sure about his current medication or maybe the one he had tasted was from the previous distillery. Basically only flavour I could taste was too much orange.

Posted over 4 years ago by jim burnds from United States with 29 ratings

Needs time to breathe. The store clerk told me Bacardi is taking over this company.Packaging is effective and eye catching with the miniature wooden barrel. It was marked down to $24 from $34 in order to eliminate the inventory. I found it to be quite smooth, perhaps a bit on the sweet side.

Posted over 4 years ago by thujone25 from Ukraine with 3 ratings

Very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very and very good rum

Posted over 4 years ago by D from Slovakia with 3 ratings

This one I like the most, smooth, sweet, full of taste. Amazing rum, hope to find a similar one.

Posted over 4 years ago by Ludo Marley from Netherlands with 41 ratings

Pyrat Rum XO is een heerlijke donkere rum met een prachtig, uitgebalanceerd smakenpalet die zowel verfijnd als complex is. Bij Pyrat is kwaliteit niet een keuze maar is het de standaard, elke fles van dit prachtige product word met de hand gevuld en met de hand gelabeld bij de brouwerij in Anguilla.

De rum is zijdezacht en drinkt heerlijk weg en wordt omringd door zalige aroma’s van vanille, kaneel en bruine suiker. Complex en elegant tegelijk, een aanrader voor elke rumdrinker!

Posted over 4 years ago by RoyBM from United States with 5 ratings

Not sure why people are giving this such high marks.
First off, the smell will make you cringe. Smells of alcohol, and more burning alcohol, with a very minor vanilla or nutmeg smell.
Tasting it is even worse. It burns your tongue and the inside of your mouth. I can't taste anything but the charred wood and burning alcohol going down. Even burns and leaves a nasty bitter after taste. If you burp, it all comes back.
This is supposed to have orange or citrus flavor in it according to other reviews. Some say it was overwhelming citrus, but I can't taste anything orange or citrus in this crap.
I even let it breathe like it was suggested in another post. No difference.
I try my hardest to be honest when I review stuff. This is $25 wasted and the biggest buying remorse ever. Wish I could get my money back or at least a partial refund.
Steer clear at all cost.

Posted over 4 years ago by Jerry de la Hoya from United States with 24 ratings

I don't expect greatness from Patron in general, but drinkability at a decent price is expected. Not so. This is a sad excuse for a rum. It tastes more like a lightly spiced triple-sec than anything else... I may experiment with it thusly in mixed drinks to make use of the rest of it. I'll try revisiting it at some point with low expectations, but somehow I'm still not hopeful. At least the bottle is nice?

Posted over 4 years ago by Ole Bodenhoff from Denmark with 46 ratings

En god anderledes rom, med en smag og duft af appelsin. Kan kan godt lide at den er anderledes og helt sin egen.

Posted over 4 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 424 ratings

I did a blind taste test between this and the Pyrat Cask 1623, neither of which I had tried before. One smelled like an orange rum, the other like an orange liquor. This was the orange rum. This tasted better to me.

Posted over 4 years ago by Ce from US with 1 rating

How did this even get a 6? Like every fine sailor I will drink just about anything. Oh, but not Pyrat. Horrible, horrible, horrible. Patron makes this? No wonder. Try again tomorrow.
I'm shivering in my timbers just thinking about it. (I prefer Pyrat xo over board) This pyrat should walk the plank.

Posted over 4 years ago by Tikihead from United States with 23 ratings

I'm glad I only spent $8 for a 375 mL. I don't get all the hype and will align myself with those who think this stuff should more appropriately fill my Zippo. I will agree it gets better as it sits, but why should you have wait?

Posted almost 5 years ago by Jörn Rohleder from Finland with 23 ratings

What is this supposed to be? It burns, smells like alcohol and the orange flavor is dreadful

Posted almost 5 years ago by André B. Christensen from Denmark with 27 ratings

Meget dårligt er der skrevet og sagt om denne rom, så jeg måtte da se om der var noget om det. Bevares appelsinen kan man ikke slippe af med. Men den adskiller sig fra alle andre rom, hvilket jeg mener er go' ting.