Posting your rating...
Pyrat XO Reserve rum

Pyrat XO Reserve

Anguilla | Gold

Pyrat XO Rum is produced from nine different Caribbean rums that are blended and then aged up to 15 years in used American sweet oak barrels.

The squat Pyrat XO rum bottle shape is inspired by the typical design of rum bottles kept by pirates and ship captains in the 19th century.

6.2/10 (964 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
15
18
57
66
116
208
264
164
43
13

Rate Pyrat XO Reserve

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


964 Pyrat XO Reserve ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Chris from Austria with 3 ratings

The Pyrat is kind of an intricate treat to enjoy. I opened the bottle, poured it in the tumbler and smelled it. What the....!? What's this tang? Is this alcohol fuel? Nonetheless I sipped it. Ohhhhh dear! How did the cleanser wind up in this awesome rum bottle!? So I left the tumbler alone, read the reviews and couldn't stop wondering about the extremely dissenting opinions. Some say it's god's gift to man, others say they wouldn't feed this dog's piss to their worst enemy.

I'm careful with 1 pointers as there's always the possibility of stumbling across the liquid spawn of hell, but I dead sure was ready to dish out my first 2 point review. On the other hand the very good reviews intrigued me enough to give it time and to let it breathe.

After 30 minutes: 2 out of 10. Very sharp smell, very one-dimensional taste.
After 1 hour: What's this? Is there actual taste under the layer of kerosene? We are getting somewhere: 5/10.
After 2 hours: BAMM! There it is! Cinnamon, vanilla, sherry and of course the dominant flavour of orange. The smell is godly, as is the taste that follows. Rich, mellow, well balanced. I could taste all the flavours I smelled before. This rum is really excellent, as long as you give it time to breath and evolve from terrible to bearable to impeccable. I sipped it as seen on the picture. Straight up, no ice, handwarm. For the price the Pyrat XO is a steal.

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by larry johnson from United States with 26 ratings

very smooth with a hint or vanilla and orange I like it better with diet coke

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Staffan from Sweden with 26 ratings

Orange. It smells orange, taste orange... Very provocative and cocky. I can't say I enjoyed it as it was difficult to empty the glass, but it's kind of interesting still. I wouldn't buy a whole bottle, even for the shock value when having a rum loving friend over, but I'm glad I tasted it. Sadly I don't remember any other flavors then orange since this dominated both nose and palate.
Did I mention orange?

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Nicoakr from France with 99 ratings

Not of my liking. For me it is just an awful spicy orange rum. Not very well balanced.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Perro from Germany with 16 ratings

The orange taste is to predominant and artificial in my opinion, I was expecting much more from this one.

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by Puppet Mstr from Canada with 38 ratings

It beats the bottom shelf swill out there by a couple of points, but the money is better spent elsewhere. You're paying for the packaging.

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by "Samuel Brunello" from United States with 78 ratings

This is rum made by a tequila company, and it comes out like cognac... I don't understand, and unfortunately don't enjoy it. This smells, tastes, and behaves almost exactly like Grand Marnier, but with less sugar and more alcohol bite. I'm alternating between 4 and 5 on this.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by TommyVinegar from Belgium with 46 ratings

It has been said many times already. This tastes like orange. So much so, I simply cannot believe it wasn't artificially added afterwards. Seeing as it's rum we are talking about - and everything is allowed in the world of rum - that's not at all unthinkable. So, if you like Grand Marnier you'll like this rum, but you are probably better off drinking Grand Marnier.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Henrik Krogh from Denmark with 26 ratings

Smagen er sprittet med alt alt for meget appelsin. Eftersmagen er kedelig og kun appelsin.

Ffffff

Posted about 7 years ago by jmp3 from United States with 88 ratings

I liked this rum added a drop of water. Taste hony, orange a good sipping rum

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by Benito B. from Luxembourg with 68 ratings

This one is really nice and has some orange taste! Is really good on the rocks.