Posting your rating...
Pyrat XO Reserve rum

Pyrat XO Reserve

Anguilla | Gold

Pyrat XO Rum is produced from nine different Caribbean rums that are blended and then aged up to 15 years in used American sweet oak barrels.

The squat Pyrat XO rum bottle shape is inspired by the typical design of rum bottles kept by pirates and ship captains in the 19th century.

6.2/10 (952 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
15
18
56
66
112
204
261
164
43
13

Rate Pyrat XO Reserve

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


952 Pyrat XO Reserve ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ee9838836519cd539b0dcbab5771c048.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 6 years ago by N Bishop from United States with 18 ratings

I find this rum to be lighter tasting than most rums. Smooth and interesting enough to warrant buying again, but a bit too expensive for regular purchase. I recommend this one for non-rum people buying a rum for mixed drinks that aren't cola based, as the "rum" flavor isn't overly pronounced. Great bottle and packaging, nice to see companies put the effort into packaging without going over the top (ahem, vodka manufacturers).

D1ed8a9e71adc2b356cfc4e020e0dd0f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 5 years ago by Drew Stephens from United States with 19 ratings

If you tend a bit towards the sweeter side, but reject things like Zaya or Ron Zacapa, Pyrat XO is for you. It's sweet, but only a bit. What's more striking are the strong vanilla and somewhat less intense orange flavors. Both make for an enjoyable sipping rum.

C0f998c66f19a1143cb6e85ca5a6dc17.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Staffan from Sweden with 26 ratings

Orange. It smells orange, taste orange... Very provocative and cocky. I can't say I enjoyed it as it was difficult to empty the glass, but it's kind of interesting still. I wouldn't buy a whole bottle, even for the shock value when having a rum loving friend over, but I'm glad I tasted it. Sadly I don't remember any other flavors then orange since this dominated both nose and palate.
Did I mention orange?

6c34036f6175742fe5825338405a2ce4.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Nicoakr from France with 99 ratings

Not of my liking. For me it is just an awful spicy orange rum. Not very well balanced.

B59767f0ea7ecf09b0a24c5d201caf2e.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 5 years ago by Perro from Germany with 16 ratings

The orange taste is to predominant and artificial in my opinion, I was expecting much more from this one.

7e27fb38eade778773c28d51984d950a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 3 years ago by Puppet Mstr from Canada with 38 ratings

It beats the bottom shelf swill out there by a couple of points, but the money is better spent elsewhere. You're paying for the packaging.

6370b8944982039a52e5fddb492629f5.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 3 years ago by "Samuel Brunello" from United States with 78 ratings

This is rum made by a tequila company, and it comes out like cognac... I don't understand, and unfortunately don't enjoy it. This smells, tastes, and behaves almost exactly like Grand Marnier, but with less sugar and more alcohol bite. I'm alternating between 4 and 5 on this.

Cae633a88e70546ada030427e7e35091.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by TommyVinegar from Belgium with 46 ratings

It has been said many times already. This tastes like orange. So much so, I simply cannot believe it wasn't artificially added afterwards. Seeing as it's rum we are talking about - and everything is allowed in the world of rum - that's not at all unthinkable. So, if you like Grand Marnier you'll like this rum, but you are probably better off drinking Grand Marnier.

6e72a00b7ea667fdd1dddafac5174347.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 5 years ago by Henrik Krogh from Denmark with 26 ratings

Smagen er sprittet med alt alt for meget appelsin. Eftersmagen er kedelig og kun appelsin.

40439403d5eb9c7a13b561e084ee52cc.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 7 years ago by jmp3 from United States with 88 ratings

I liked this rum added a drop of water. Taste hony, orange a good sipping rum

7a27c50fd37aaa3fdd4fc41924e4ebaa.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 7 years ago by Benito B. from Luxembourg with 68 ratings

This one is really nice and has some orange taste! Is really good on the rocks.