Posting your rating...
Pyrat XO Reserve rum

Pyrat XO Rum is produced from nine different Caribbean rums that are blended and then aged up to 15 years in used American sweet oak barrels.

The squat Pyrat XO rum bottle shape is inspired by the typical design of rum bottles kept by pirates and ship captains in the 19th century.

Rate Pyrat XO Reserve

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


924 Pyrat XO Reserve ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 3 years ago by Elanita from Czech Republic with 17 ratings

Very good taste. A little bit orange taste, very smooth. The best is with small square of dark chocolate.

Posted over 5 years ago by deron from United States with 7 ratings

I wonder if they add orange flavoring to this rum. I still like it though and I must say they have the best bottle in the market. It is relatively inexpensive and a good value.

Posted about 6 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 228 ratings

Very special rum. An interesting smokey orange flavour, but with a slightly strange aftertaste. Not my cup of tea.

Posted over 6 years ago by Papa Bear from Canada with 16 ratings

This is a good rum to start with. I love the taste and finish of this rum, over ice and sipped.

Posted over 7 years ago by Mikael Vejdemo-Johansson from Sweden with 5 ratings

Not wanting to use my Zacapa for mixing or experiments, I found the Pyrat XO a cheaper alternative with a lot of the same taste notes and positive connotations. I have kept a bottle at home since I found the rum, and enjoy its effects on my cocktail experiments.

Posted about 1 month ago by Zaplik from Czech Republic with 11 ratings

In nice bottle comes average rum. I read some reviews about this one and wait for that “orange” taste. It was buried under taste of alcohol so deep. It truly disappoints me in this way.

Posted 3 months ago by Ormondefg from Ireland with 7 ratings

The box and bottle are great looking, so I expected the rum to be as well. Quite disappointed in the flavor. Tasted like sugar candy, and not in a good way! Let it sit and breathe in a sifter for 24 hours...still horrible. So I let it breathe for another 48 hours and added an ice cube. Still terrible, so I threw the bottle away. Doesn't taste like rum at all....tastes like a low quality brandy, mixed with a low quality snapps.

Posted about 1 year ago by Lebby from Canada with 20 ratings

This rum is simply average. I expected a lot more flavor and less burn for the price. I wouldn’t quite say disappointed, but certainly not a “wow” either. Drink your friends, don’t buy your own.

Posted over 1 year ago by Dan from United Kingdom with 32 ratings

Smooth, with just the right amount of fire at the end. Will be drinking again.

Posted about 2 years ago by Benedikt from Czech Republic with 3 ratings

I really love this rum and i dont know why it jas such a bad review. Great orange taste and no aftertaste.

Posted about 2 years ago by Anders Hallingstrom from Sweden with 4 ratings

No, this is just not a rum in my liking. Too syntetic and the taste and smell of orange is taking over everything else! It gets a little better as I let it breath for somewhat 15-20 minutes, but its still the worst one I've ever bought. The bottle is lovely thou, so that gets the rate to get up from 2 to 3.

Posted over 2 years ago by Andy from United Kingdom with 136 ratings

There’s no doubt Pyrat is a unique rum. Nose isn’t appealing to me, and hard to distinguish as it’s not a typical rum nose - slightly floral and fruity. Taste is slightly better, I get orange, cinnamon, and a little slice. Not a good finish, short and rubbery. I could envision some liking the uniqueness, but it’s not for me. Might as well give it a try.

Posted over 2 years ago by Snookerman from United Kingdom with 121 ratings

I find this ok, but not worth all the hype. If you want orange, I can think of better rums and drinks; if you want rum, there are way better rums. It's ok, but if I wanted something orange, I think Rumbullion is much more interesting.

Posted over 2 years ago by Ryan from United States with 22 ratings

Pryat was too citrus for me to enjoy neat. Gave it to a friend who liked it as a mixer.

Posted over 2 years ago by Keith Brockmiller from United States with 26 ratings

I bought the drink package on my last cruise, and I saw this on the shelf, and had to try it. No internet to read reviews. Turns out it was to expensive for my plan (go figure) so I paid the difference. I could finish it but just barely. It has that same cloying taste I don't like about Jamaican rums. Maybe, as they others said, Orange was the 1st impression. I switched to Ron Zacapa 23, which also wasn't on my plan, but has the flavor I look for.

Posted over 2 years ago by Raquel from United States with 3 ratings

Not a good drink.. too strong, tastes like orange but not pleasant

Posted almost 3 years ago by jolly_roger from Canada with 11 ratings

If you tend to the sweeter not dry side of rums, you will like this. It has tones of vanilla (which some people turn away from) and orange. I love sipping this rum with a cigar. I will always keep it on my rum shelf, and it ads a little extra flare with the unique packaging. It is also reasonably priced.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Michael Roberts from United States with 5 ratings

Nice presentation. Above average aroma and taste. Excellent finish - very smooth. Citrus flavor - especially orange.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Bob from United States with 72 ratings

Didn't really like it. Initial taste reminded me of taking children's orange triamenic cough syrup as a kid. That seems rather specifically bad doesn't it? I want to believe the one reviewer who said it needs to breath to be good, but I'm sure all rum is better after breathing and I don't want to wait 2 hours before sipping 1 glass of rum. Love the bottle and presentation but it's just not good.

Posted about 3 years ago by Kp from Canada with 9 ratings

Too sweet, too much orange, not rum in my opinion.

Posted about 3 years ago by Gerome from United States with 38 ratings

It wasn't nothing impressive that came to mind. It has no body, the taste of citrus orange spices disappear rather quickly. It will probably mix well but not a sipper. It has a strong 👃 but very smooth, no bit after the initial entry. Save your money and get an orange liqueur for less cost, or just get something different.

Posted about 3 years ago by Stuart from Australia with 8 ratings

Purchased this rum primarily because of its awesome presentation. Nice looking bottle in wooden/ glass case looks great on my bar. Unfortunately that's where the love ended! Pulled the cork, poured small amount into brandy glass, swirled and took a deep sniff and whammo! Nostrils assaulted with something akin to alcohol base cleaner. Knowing that smell can be deceptive took a mouthful, swished around mouth and swallowed. Smell had not been deceptive. Thinking that maybe I just needed to give something different a bit of a chance poured a second glass, still didn't rise to the occasion. Decided to checkout some reviews ( maybe it's just me) read that if you give it a couple of hours sitting in the glass it transforms, tried that, still not my cup of tea. Tried with coke but whatever they use to give it that flavour even cuts through the coke! Don't like to be to harsh, everyone has different tastes, but unfortunately this is not to mine. At around $70-$80 a bottle in Australia this rum is destined to be a bar piece only in my home.

Posted over 3 years ago by Claus Kæmpe Andersen from Denmark with 3 ratings

This rum is one of the oldest in my cabinet. Too much orangeflavour makes it the last choice, when my rumcraving accours.

Posted over 3 years ago by 2ephyr from Czech Republic with 41 ratings

Pomerančová, lehce osvěžující vůně, chuť trochu do tropicana. Hřeje, ale neškrábe. O moc víc toho v chuti není, je to relativně nekomplikovaný rum. Ale neberu to jako mínus, v jednoduchosti je někdy síla. A pyrat k nim patří. Můžete si u něj sednout a v klidu si odpočinout, nechat ho chvíli ležet na patře. O moc víc toho sice nenabídne, takže nehledejte skrytá tajemství, ale na odpočinkový večer po náročném dni se svým způsobem hodí víc, než sofistikované kousky. Ta druhá půlka lahve se bude pít taky dobře :)

Posted over 3 years ago by Javaro from Puerto Rico with 2 ratings

Color: Amber
Aroma: Kerosene and triple sec.
Taste: Wow, chemicals, a sweet fake orange, more chemicals.
Aftertaste: Not a good one.
Mixology: Mixed with Coca-cola taste really good. The citrus flavor is a nice touch, like Appleton Estate Special Gold.

For the price ($11 375ml.) and taste did not worth it. Not a sipper and expensive mixer.