Posting your rating...
Pyrat XO Reserve rum

Pyrat XO Reserve

Anguilla | Gold | 40.0% ABV

Pyrat XO Rum is produced from nine different Caribbean rums that are blended and then aged up to 15 years in used American sweet oak barrels.

The squat Pyrat XO rum bottle shape is inspired by the typical design of rum bottles kept by pirates and ship captains in the 19th century.

6.1/10
1048 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
17
19
62
73
127
234
289
168
44
15

Rate Pyrat XO Reserve

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

1048 Pyrat XO Reserve ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by BigMarcus from United States with 24 ratings

Back in 2005, I was mostly a Cognac guy with the occasional ultra premium Tequila and Scotch added for some variety. I was offered this particular rum by a bartender at Cuba Libre near Downtown Dallas to try. It was certainly better than any rum I had ever tried! But I was use to the typical Bacardi, Captain Morgans of the world. It is for all purposes, a nice starter rum if that is all available at the bar. It is sippable , but has bite. Not very complex. I actually believe it makes a nice mixer if anything.

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by Bill Clemens from United States with 10 ratings

Yes it does come off with an orange taste, but I still like to sip this with ice or even just some frozen soap stones rocks. My friends have come over and tried it and it's changed their minds about Rums.

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by Scott from United States with 16 ratings

Not a bad rum but nowhere as smooth as others. I like it best mixed with tonic and a lime. Good flavor similar to Mount Gay Eclipse but with a bit more orange taste to it. On the rocks it has a bit of a burn but is tolerable. Definitely not in the same league as Plantation Barbados 5 Rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by Dustin Doran from United States with 79 ratings

Love this rum, definitely my favorite everyday drinker. Lover the sweetness, floral and smooth taste. The spice and orange undertones taste amazing as well. Who wouldn't love this interesting flavor?

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by Magic from Netherlands with 15 ratings

this is a nice rum to soak the raisins to make a apple Pie

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by Skulman from United States with 117 ratings

Only gave this a 6 because the flavor has changed over the years. I used to love this stuff when my bottle with only 5 digits starting with a 5 in the batch number was still around. But now all the higher 7 plus digit batch numbers have a strong orange flavor I'm not liking as much. Its a shame too because I think this will chase people away from a nice rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by Todd Dunn from United States with 45 ratings

Not what I look for in a sipping rum, but wont turn it down.

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by muppet from United States with 49 ratings

I am not a big fan of the pyrat's but they do have there place

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by Bonetto from France with 24 ratings

Le goût d'orange n'est pas désagréable. Intéressant même...

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by Trini Yank from Trinidad and Tobago with 41 ratings

Everything you hear about this rum is true, unfortunately. A rich, deep flavoured, beautifully presented, orange liqueur. Definitely not a rum though.

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by Boutique-rhum.com from France with 25 ratings

Very sweet, lot of orange --> liqueur ?