Posting your rating...
Pyrat XO Reserve rum

Pyrat XO Reserve

Anguilla | Gold | 40.0% ABV

Pyrat XO Rum is produced from nine different Caribbean rums that are blended and then aged up to 15 years in used American sweet oak barrels.

The squat Pyrat XO rum bottle shape is inspired by the typical design of rum bottles kept by pirates and ship captains in the 19th century.

6.1/10
1048 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
17
19
62
73
127
234
289
168
44
15

Rate Pyrat XO Reserve

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

1048 Pyrat XO Reserve ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Linus from Switzerland with 13 ratings

If you like it sweet then this is a good rum for you in my opinion. Pure or with coke.

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by OmegaP from France with 12 ratings

Everything is in the title :)
It's not relly a typical rum. It smell orange (or close fruits) it tast orange (with alcool) not too much but enought to have oly that tast (nothing more).

If you want a sugar cane or old cask tast rum, you are wrong with this one but it's really interesting as unique rum style.

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by Zeck from France with 61 ratings

Ce rhum est très fruité, il déroutera donc les amateurs de rhums vieux traditionnels. L'abricot rôti est très présent dès le nez.

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by shelteredexistence from United States with 49 ratings

I have hesitated for some time to write this review. Initially, I was put off by the overly orange-liqueur nose and early palette of this rum (Pyrat XO is aged partly in barrels used for orange liqueur). But it has grown on me, and I've developed an appreciation for a certain complexity of flavors around that orange foundation. However, the XO does make a big flavor statement, and it's gotta be your taste to enjoy it. Try before you buy.

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by Mitch Gomez from Canada with 17 ratings

I find the orange notes to be a little to artificial for my taste

Ffffff

Posted almost 8 years ago by Dadoftwogirls from United States with 1 rating

It is hard to explain this rum. People either love it, or hate it. I love it in mixed drinks, but would pass straight up. A little pricey. Overall unique to say the least.

Ffffff

Posted almost 8 years ago by Shawn Lein from United States with 34 ratings

Others have noted the orange flavor ruining the rum for them. I just see it as good flavor that's best used with other fruit flavors. Maybe not the best sipper, but the rich, aged flavor makes it a great mixer.

Ffffff

Posted 8 years ago by Distiller Evan from United States with 30 ratings

Orange flavor is unique but a little too strong for my taste buds, more like a southern comfort style spirit. drinks more like a flavored rum. Best drank with OJ and a splash of grenadine with a lime.

Ffffff

Posted 8 years ago by Chris from United States with 27 ratings

I enjoy this rum as I do many...not a standout for me, though

Ffffff

Posted 8 years ago by JIsurfer from United States with 17 ratings

I felt this one was a bit too fake orange tasting for me. That's not to say it didn't mix well with coke, but not good enough to drink straight.

Ffffff

Posted 8 years ago by JJ Geewax from United States with 36 ratings

.