Posting your rating...
Pyrat XO Reserve rum

Pyrat XO Reserve

Anguilla | Gold

Pyrat XO Rum is produced from nine different Caribbean rums that are blended and then aged up to 15 years in used American sweet oak barrels.

The squat Pyrat XO rum bottle shape is inspired by the typical design of rum bottles kept by pirates and ship captains in the 19th century.

6.1/10
1034 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
17
18
61
73
124
228
288
168
43
14

Rate Pyrat XO Reserve

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


1034 Pyrat XO Reserve ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Christophe from Belgium with 14 ratings

Deze mooie, ietwat oldfashionate piratenfles oogt heel mooi in je collectie en zal zeker meespelen bij de verkoop ervan.
Maar niet alleen het oog wil geprikkeld worden.
Mocht dit mijn eerste kennismaking zijn met rum, zou ik na het ruiken het al opgegeven hebben. Deze blend van verschillende (aangekochte en niet zelf gedistilleerde) rum ruikt bij aanzet niet natuurlijk, het heeft zelfs iets van een chemische verfachtige geur. Maar wanneer je nog eens dieper gaat ruiken en je sluit de ogen vind je toetsen van citrus en overgearomatiseerde sinaassnoepjes terug (heeft er iemand in het geniep wat Cointreau bijgegoten?).
Speciaal, niet waauw, maar toch een derde snif waardig. Het niet kunnen thuisbrengen van deze geur zal na de eerste sip je nog niet op het juiste spoor zetten. Het wat stropige, ronde gevoel ebt heel snel weg wanneer alweer die niet te definiëren artificiele smaak het overneemt. Een sterk gevoel van alcohol zinderd nog een tijdje na. Lekker kan ik het niet echt noemen, maar enorm intrigerend. Wat mij verplicht nog eens te proeven en nog eens. En zo, na enkele dagen en een halve fles verder weet ik niet wat ik met deze voor mij bijna overflavoured rum moet doen. Links laten liggen of toch trachten te doorgronden.
Mooi om in je collectie te hebben onder het mom: 'ik zal je iets laten proeven, dit is ook rum...'. Maar bij nader inzien wil ik mijn vrienden toch liever onderdompelen in 'echte, stoere, meer mannelijke' rums.

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by johnny@olhus.dk from Denmark with 3 ratings

Hyggelig rom med kraftige orange toner!

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by forrest loftis from United States with 13 ratings

Pyrat is a quite drinkable rum but probably best mixed. Can be sipped if cut with water and a lime twist. I don't find the Orange flavor that many speak of. At 19.99 a jug it deserves a 7 and will be in my stock for mixing and the desperation sipper !

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by charbonnet from United States with 3 ratings

Very smooth but with a twist for a finish.

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by Faulsack from Germany with 10 ratings

Orange dominiert in Geruch und Geschmack. Leichte hölzerne Note ist wahrnehmbar.
Süß, Likörartig und mild im Abgang.
Sicherlich gibt es bessere aber er hat was.

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by Case from United Kingdom with 15 ratings

This is an orange rum through and through - like drinking sweet orange marmalade. While this is fun one has to wonder how they arrived at this when the taste is so close to orange liqueur. Neither a clear age nor contents are stated on the label. The most likely explanation is added orange flavoring.

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by Raul Bello from United States with 2 ratings

I tried it as a sipping rum and it tasted more like "aguardiente" than rum. Horrible burn. I actually asked the store to trade it out for me. First time in 40 years I have asked to return liquor. I did not try it as a mixer.

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by OmegaP from France with 12 ratings

Everything is in the title :)
It's not relly a typical rum. It smell orange (or close fruits) it tast orange (with alcool) not too much but enought to have oly that tast (nothing more).

If you want a sugar cane or old cask tast rum, you are wrong with this one but it's really interesting as unique rum style.

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by Zeck from France with 61 ratings

Ce rhum est très fruité, il déroutera donc les amateurs de rhums vieux traditionnels. L'abricot rôti est très présent dès le nez.

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by shelteredexistence from United States with 49 ratings

I have hesitated for some time to write this review. Initially, I was put off by the overly orange-liqueur nose and early palette of this rum (Pyrat XO is aged partly in barrels used for orange liqueur). But it has grown on me, and I've developed an appreciation for a certain complexity of flavors around that orange foundation. However, the XO does make a big flavor statement, and it's gotta be your taste to enjoy it. Try before you buy.

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by Mitch Gomez from Canada with 17 ratings

I find the orange notes to be a little to artificial for my taste