Posting your rating...
Pyrat XO Reserve rum

Pyrat XO Reserve

Anguilla | Gold

Pyrat XO Rum is produced from nine different Caribbean rums that are blended and then aged up to 15 years in used American sweet oak barrels.

The squat Pyrat XO rum bottle shape is inspired by the typical design of rum bottles kept by pirates and ship captains in the 19th century.

6.1/10
1031 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
17
18
60
73
124
227
287
168
43
14

Rate Pyrat XO Reserve

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

1031 Pyrat XO Reserve ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Dave from Canada with 9 ratings

While this isn't the best rum I've ever had, it is good enough to drink straight up. So much of this is personal opinion that it's hard to truly rate something that everyone will agree on.
I read another review where the writer commented that it just needed some breathing time and then it was very good. That may be the case, what I’ve always had has been very consistent. Not “great or exceptional” but definitely above average.

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by Faulsack from Germany with 10 ratings

Orange dominiert in Geruch und Geschmack. Leichte hölzerne Note ist wahrnehmbar.
Süß, Likörartig und mild im Abgang.
Sicherlich gibt es bessere aber er hat was.

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by Case from United Kingdom with 15 ratings

This is an orange rum through and through - like drinking sweet orange marmalade. While this is fun one has to wonder how they arrived at this when the taste is so close to orange liqueur. Neither a clear age nor contents are stated on the label. The most likely explanation is added orange flavoring.

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by Raul Bello from United States with 2 ratings

I tried it as a sipping rum and it tasted more like "aguardiente" than rum. Horrible burn. I actually asked the store to trade it out for me. First time in 40 years I have asked to return liquor. I did not try it as a mixer.

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by OmegaP from France with 12 ratings

Everything is in the title :)
It's not relly a typical rum. It smell orange (or close fruits) it tast orange (with alcool) not too much but enought to have oly that tast (nothing more).

If you want a sugar cane or old cask tast rum, you are wrong with this one but it's really interesting as unique rum style.

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by Zeck from France with 61 ratings

Ce rhum est très fruité, il déroutera donc les amateurs de rhums vieux traditionnels. L'abricot rôti est très présent dès le nez.

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by shelteredexistence from United States with 49 ratings

I have hesitated for some time to write this review. Initially, I was put off by the overly orange-liqueur nose and early palette of this rum (Pyrat XO is aged partly in barrels used for orange liqueur). But it has grown on me, and I've developed an appreciation for a certain complexity of flavors around that orange foundation. However, the XO does make a big flavor statement, and it's gotta be your taste to enjoy it. Try before you buy.

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by Mitch Gomez from Canada with 17 ratings

I find the orange notes to be a little to artificial for my taste

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by Dadoftwogirls from United States with 1 rating

It is hard to explain this rum. People either love it, or hate it. I love it in mixed drinks, but would pass straight up. A little pricey. Overall unique to say the least.

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by Shawn Lein from United States with 34 ratings

Others have noted the orange flavor ruining the rum for them. I just see it as good flavor that's best used with other fruit flavors. Maybe not the best sipper, but the rich, aged flavor makes it a great mixer.

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by Distiller Evan from United States with 30 ratings

Orange flavor is unique but a little too strong for my taste buds, more like a southern comfort style spirit. drinks more like a flavored rum. Best drank with OJ and a splash of grenadine with a lime.