Posting your rating...
Pyrat XO Reserve rum

Pyrat XO Reserve

Anguilla | Gold

Pyrat XO Rum is produced from nine different Caribbean rums that are blended and then aged up to 15 years in used American sweet oak barrels.

The squat Pyrat XO rum bottle shape is inspired by the typical design of rum bottles kept by pirates and ship captains in the 19th century.

6.1/10(1025 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
17
18
60
72
123
224
286
168
43
14

Rate Pyrat XO Reserve

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

1025 Pyrat XO Reserve ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Martin Kennedy from Australia with 213 ratings

I was really wanting to like this rum but I cant recommend it as a sipper , its too sharp and has a real alcohol bite to it. On a positive note , I dont find the " hand cleaner " smell or the " overpowering smell of oranges " that people keep on about . Has a real short finish and only as a mixer for me , probably wont buy again.

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by Thos from United States with 13 ratings

This is a good rum for people who don't drink rums, it is tasty with no off flavors for the rookies, but it is too sweet and orange-y for the more discriminating palate.

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by johnny@olhus.dk from Denmark with 3 ratings

Hyggelig rom med kraftige orange toner!

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by forrest loftis from United States with 13 ratings

Pyrat is a quite drinkable rum but probably best mixed. Can be sipped if cut with water and a lime twist. I don't find the Orange flavor that many speak of. At 19.99 a jug it deserves a 7 and will be in my stock for mixing and the desperation sipper !

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by charbonnet from United States with 3 ratings

Very smooth but with a twist for a finish.

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by Faulsack from Germany with 10 ratings

Orange dominiert in Geruch und Geschmack. Leichte hölzerne Note ist wahrnehmbar.
Süß, Likörartig und mild im Abgang.
Sicherlich gibt es bessere aber er hat was.

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by Case from United Kingdom with 15 ratings

This is an orange rum through and through - like drinking sweet orange marmalade. While this is fun one has to wonder how they arrived at this when the taste is so close to orange liqueur. Neither a clear age nor contents are stated on the label. The most likely explanation is added orange flavoring.

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by Raul Bello from United States with 2 ratings

I tried it as a sipping rum and it tasted more like "aguardiente" than rum. Horrible burn. I actually asked the store to trade it out for me. First time in 40 years I have asked to return liquor. I did not try it as a mixer.

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by OmegaP from France with 12 ratings

Everything is in the title :)
It's not relly a typical rum. It smell orange (or close fruits) it tast orange (with alcool) not too much but enought to have oly that tast (nothing more).

If you want a sugar cane or old cask tast rum, you are wrong with this one but it's really interesting as unique rum style.

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by Zeck from France with 61 ratings

Ce rhum est très fruité, il déroutera donc les amateurs de rhums vieux traditionnels. L'abricot rôti est très présent dès le nez.

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by shelteredexistence from United States with 49 ratings

I have hesitated for some time to write this review. Initially, I was put off by the overly orange-liqueur nose and early palette of this rum (Pyrat XO is aged partly in barrels used for orange liqueur). But it has grown on me, and I've developed an appreciation for a certain complexity of flavors around that orange foundation. However, the XO does make a big flavor statement, and it's gotta be your taste to enjoy it. Try before you buy.