Posting your rating...
Pyrat Cask 1623 rum

Rate Pyrat Cask 1623

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


60 Pyrat Cask 1623 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 5 years ago by El Julian from United States with 20 ratings

I love the Cask! I'm not a fan of the price but the drink itself is delicious, especially while smoking a Padron Annivesario 1926 #9

Posted about 7 years ago by Brandon from United States with 18 ratings

Nevermind that the price point for this is Ridiculous with a capital R. The additive orange and almond flavors do not dramatically distinguish it from the XO product, which to me is equally insulting to good rum everywhere. I deem this "not rum."

Posted over 3 years ago by Jason Berman from United States with 44 ratings

I would never spend this much on a bottle no matter what it is. But while on vacation in the BVI's I got to have a taste of it at a tasting bar. It was smooth but tasted like an orange liquor. It tasted nothing like rum, so what's the point.

Posted about 4 years ago by Luffsman from Sweden with 26 ratings

Is something different... Very different. The chemical tastesensation I experienced earlier with the Pyrat XO is long gone. A natural kind of citrustaste appears and this is sooooo smooth and sooo sweet. Dark mahogeny in the glas, a smell that is from another world and the taste is beyond anything I might jot down in here, you MUST experience this :-)

Posted almost 5 years ago by RumRunner from United States with 37 ratings

Good. A sweeter slightly less orangey taste than the Pyrat XO. The flavors linger in the nose and pallet but there is no way to justify the price. Frankly the XO is every bit as good for a fraction of the price. Nice to try. Once.

Posted over 7 years ago by Mikael Vejdemo-Johansson from Sweden with 5 ratings

Much like the Black Tot, the Cask 1623 is a very special treat, that requires you to face the high price before getting the experience of the drink. It is clearly a much better beverage than most, complex and multi-layered in flavour with an aroma that lingers for minutes.

I would not, however, necessarily buy this for myself.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

I was looking for the Pyrat Cask 1623 for well over 3 years since it is a rare bottle here in the US, but finally I found one and what a disappointment. Tried the Cask 1623 before the Pyrat XO and it is slightly better in my mind, but then again the very strong and off putting orange scent is still prevalent on the Cask 1623. Not worth the price in my opinion.

Posted almost 5 years ago by moisan from Mauritius with 1 rating

It was intense, complex, sweet flavour, perfect to finish a diner in the Caribbean with a nice cigar...

Posted about 5 years ago by Heist from Switzerland with 9 ratings

if you think the pyrat XO reserve is great you would love the pyrat cask. Very long taste after drinking, amazing taste

Posted over 5 years ago by Rummaster from Switzerland with 2 ratings

It's compared to the Pyrat XO the perfect balance of the orange flavour. It is very smooth and oily to sip and the age of up to 40 years makes this rum to a very long lasting joy.

It's quite an expensive price for a rum where you don't know exactly the percentage of rum that really has been aged for 40 years of this bottle. One would assume that with the growing demand of rum, the percentage of long aged rum will decrease and younger aged rums will take over.

Posted over 5 years ago by Chris from Canada with 21 ratings

love it. A great treat. Love to sip and watch the sun go down.

Posted over 5 years ago by Thomas Tom from Denmark with 13 ratings

This is (at the moment) the best rum I have tasted.
It has it all: rich flavors, long aftertaste and enough sugar to satisfy my sweet taste.
It is also the most expensive rum i have bought - and for the price I should not give it a 10 but an 8 maybe.
It has the same orange flavor as the Pyrat XO Rum. But is much richer, witch you should expect at 5 times the price.
overpriced? maby - excelent yes!

Posted over 7 years ago by Nick from United States with 54 ratings

I received this as a gift from a vendor. I only will have a sip on occasion to make it last longer. (ok a few fingers) It's a tasty rum but wayyy over priced. I certainly would not buy this for myself.

Posted 14 days ago by evil-G-nius from United States with 6 ratings

I got this bottle for a gift and I was so happy. It is super sweet but very smooth compared to the regular Pyrat. This is an excellent sipper but for the price point, it is not an every day sipper as this is an expensive bottle. A little too expensive if you ask me which is why this is not a 10 for me

Posted 2 months ago by Johnny from United States with 2 ratings

This rum is soooo smooth.....I thought the pyrat xo was good but this tops it..….….I had this with a cohiba cigar. With pyrat ..rum...make sure you drink it cold.....The pyrat rum tastes real good when they are cold and straight...no need for ice......wow...is what I can say......Forget the price ….this rum is worth it......and make sure you give Buddha a shot too...… They have a small story in the islands...you give buddha a shot.....and he brings you good luck and happiness.....and smiles upon you....He is the travelling saint of Happiness..and good fortune. The bottle comes with a buddha medallion.

Johnny

Posted 3 months ago by Alaska Joe from United States with 33 ratings

Date night with the little lady and I find pyrat cask 1623 on the menu. Surprised I ordered a shot. Curious for sure, I was kind of excited. Upping arrival, the color and aroma were outstanding. Deep amber with an orange/ester overload. Interestingly, the taste didn’t match the smell, as it was a rich smooth sweet grand marnier flavor, with a Medium long chocolate Carmel finish. Super interesting but rather sweet. I’m glad I had a chance to try this rare and controversial elixir, sorry it’s basically extinct, I wonder what the price of a bottle will be 10 years from now. Tonight, 30 bucks for a shot, totally satisfied. FYI, those that say the Pyrat XO is basically the same thing are way off. This smooth and layered rum is in a taste profile all it’s own.... believe it or not.

Posted 6 months ago by Albertabound from Canada with 4 ratings

Very smooth but also very expensive. Complex flavour great for a treat every once and awhile.

Posted 9 months ago by M.R.J. from Finland with 203 ratings

I mean...This is not rum. It is a spiced rum. Sweet, orange liqueur.

Posted at Madera 11 months ago by Pinmann from United States with 14 ratings

Has a pleasant orange note to it. Good straight or on the rocks.

Posted 12 months ago by Schmid from Switzerland with 52 ratings

Fast jeder kennt den Pyrat XO, doch dieser Rum hier kann nicht damit verglichen werden. Der XO ist für mich eine Zuckerbrühe mit Orangengeschmack. Beim Pyrat 1623 handelt es sich jedoch um einen richtig guten Rum!

Posted about 1 year ago by Wiz from United States with 1 rating

Just the smoothest sipping liquor, of any type, I have ever tasted. Alas T it’s price I am unable to afford it. I tried a shot at a thumb bar at the cost of $65/shot

Posted about 1 year ago by ConwayCowx from United Kingdom with 4 ratings

Excellent sipping rum, worth the price. One to sip in the sunshine

Posted over 1 year ago by DucksFan16 from United States with 52 ratings

very interesting smell, in a good way, pear and Apple. The smell is soft and refined not harsh at all very smooth smell, almost smells citrusy as well. One of the most complex and smooth Rum's I've ever had, rivals that of El Dorado 21. However, unlike El Dorado 21, I get more fruit flavors like the Apple and Pear as mentioned before. El Dorado 21 tastes more like brown sugar and sweet where as this one is more smooth and complex overall I believe. As I drink more, it's amazing how smooth this is, I could drink a whole glass of this very easily. I love it! This may be the best rum I've ever had, certainly on par with El Dorado 21, but maybe even better. They are just completely different so it's hard to pick between the two. Using the RumHowler 100 point scale, it is easily 95+, probably 97+

Posted over 1 year ago by SNAX-EYZ from Canada with 7 ratings

It has great favor, smooth taste and amazing finish. If you can still find this rum it is recommended that you try it. It is one of my top Sipping Rums.