Posting your rating...
Pyrat Cask 1623 rum

Pyrat Cask 1623

Anguilla | Aged

8.8/10 (61 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
4
3
7
22
23

Rate Pyrat Cask 1623

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


61 Pyrat Cask 1623 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted about 2 years ago by Stokespeter from United States with 7 ratings

This is a decisive Rum, love or Hate. It’s not really all about price. Many people are willing to spend much more on whiskeys than we see in the rum world. This “Rum” is far superior to Zacapa Centanario XO and probably should be for the price. If all you want is a mixing rum then skip this one. If you want a truly fantastic Rum based flavor experience then this is one for the cabinet. Strong Orange from the Grand Marnier casks, more than expected even but lots of additional flavor beneath it. Caramel, chocolate, fruit, sweet and delicious. I’d buy this every time over Johnny Walker Blue and I am a whiskey fan.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by El Julian from United States with 20 ratings

I love the Cask! I'm not a fan of the price but the drink itself is delicious, especially while smoking a Padron Annivesario 1926 #9

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by Brandon from United States with 18 ratings

Nevermind that the price point for this is Ridiculous with a capital R. The additive orange and almond flavors do not dramatically distinguish it from the XO product, which to me is equally insulting to good rum everywhere. I deem this "not rum."

Ffffff

Posted almost 8 years ago by Mikael Vejdemo-Johansson from Sweden with 5 ratings

Much like the Black Tot, the Cask 1623 is a very special treat, that requires you to face the high price before getting the experience of the drink. It is clearly a much better beverage than most, complex and multi-layered in flavour with an aroma that lingers for minutes.

I would not, however, necessarily buy this for myself.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Jimmy Cliff from United States with 81 ratings

Ok first time I had this nectar of the gods solid 9. This was the case for several bottles. Then came Padron and it went downhill, way downhill. Sorry but I will never indulge again last purchase or two thumbs down.I think this is why you see 9 ratings and 3 ratings. Original and current crap. My review is middle road for original and current

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Jason Berman from United States with 46 ratings

I would never spend this much on a bottle no matter what it is. But while on vacation in the BVI's I got to have a taste of it at a tasting bar. It was smooth but tasted like an orange liquor. It tasted nothing like rum, so what's the point.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Luffsman from Sweden with 26 ratings

Is something different... Very different. The chemical tastesensation I experienced earlier with the Pyrat XO is long gone. A natural kind of citrustaste appears and this is sooooo smooth and sooo sweet. Dark mahogeny in the glas, a smell that is from another world and the taste is beyond anything I might jot down in here, you MUST experience this :-)

Ffffff

Posted about 5 years ago by RumRunner from United States with 37 ratings

Good. A sweeter slightly less orangey taste than the Pyrat XO. The flavors linger in the nose and pallet but there is no way to justify the price. Frankly the XO is every bit as good for a fraction of the price. Nice to try. Once.

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2649 ratings

I was looking for the Pyrat Cask 1623 for well over 3 years since it is a rare bottle here in the US, but finally I found one and what a disappointment. Tried the Cask 1623 before the Pyrat XO and it is slightly better in my mind, but then again the very strong and off putting orange scent is still prevalent on the Cask 1623. Not worth the price in my opinion.

Ffffff

Posted about 5 years ago by moisan from Mauritius with 1 rating

It was intense, complex, sweet flavour, perfect to finish a diner in the Caribbean with a nice cigar...

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Heist from Switzerland with 9 ratings

if you think the pyrat XO reserve is great you would love the pyrat cask. Very long taste after drinking, amazing taste